Ubon Ratchathani (province)
Ubon Ratchathani Province is in Isaan.
Ubon Ratchathani (อุบลราชธานี) is the provincial capital of Ubon Ratchathani Province.
Located on the bank of the Mun River, Ubon Ratchathani is a large city whose history dates back to two centuries ago. Legend says Thao Kham Phong, Thao Thit Phrom and Thao Kam, descendants of Phra Wo and Phra Ta, escaped from King Siribunsan of Vientiane into the Siamese Kingdom during the reign of King Taksin the Great. They later built a new city at Dong U Phueng, close to the Mun River. In 1780, King Taksin the Great named the city “Ubon Ratchathani” and appointed Thao Kham Phong to be “Phra Pathum Wongsa” as the first ruler. The city was governed by four rulers until 1882 when it was led by a governor.
Ubon Ratchathani is in the lower region of Northeastern Thailand, 629 km from Bangkok. The province features plateaux and mountain ranges with the Mun River running through the middle. Sandstone cliffs by the Mekong River serve as a natural border between Thailand and Lao PDR.
The province comprises 25 amphoe:- Buntharik; Det Udom; Don Mot Daeng; Khemarat; Khong Chiam; Khueang Nai; Kut Khaopun; Lao Suea Kok; Muang Sam Sip; Mueang Ubon Ratchathani; Na Chaluai; Na Tan; Na Yia; Nam Khun; Nam Yuen; Phibun Mangsahan; Pho Sai; Samrong; Sawang Wirawong; Si Mueang Mai; Sirindhorn; Tan Sum; Thung Si Udom; Trakan Phuet Phon; Warin Chamrap.
Distances from Amphoe Mueang to Other Amphoes
- Amphoe Warin Chamrap 2 km
- Amphoe Sawang Wirawong 23 km
- Amphoe Lao Suea Kok 27 km
- Amphoe Samrong 28 km
- Amphoe Tan Sum 32 km
- Amphoe Muang Sam Sip 34 km
- Amphoe Don Mot Daeng 35 km
- Amphoe Na Yia 35 km
- Amphoe Khueang Nai 38 km
- Amphoe Det Udom 45 km
- Amphoe Phibun Mangsahan 45 km
- Amphoe Trakan Phuet Phon 50 km
- Amphoe Nam Khun 60 km
- Amphoe Thung Si Udom 74 km
- Amphoe Kut Khaopun 76 km
- Amphoe Sirindhorn 80 km
- Amphoe Si Mueang Mai 83 km
- Amphoe Buntharik 87 km
- Amphoe Na Tan 93 km
- Amphoe Pho Sai 99 km
- Amphoe Na Chaluai 100 km
- Amphoe Khemarat 108 km
- Amphoe Khong Chiam 110 km
- Amphoe Nam Yuen 110 km
- Ubon Ratchathani - the provincial capital
- North: Amnat Charoen Province.
- South: Cambodia with the Dongrek Range as the border.
- East: Lao PDR.
- West: Yasothon and Si Sa Ket Provinces.
Motorists can head north via Highway 1 to Saraburi and turn right into Highway 2 (Mitraphap Road), and use Highway 24 (Chok Chai - Det Udom) to Ubon Ratchathani. Another route is Highway 226 from Nakhon Ratchasima, via Buri Ram, Si Sa Ket, to Ubon Ratchathani.
Ordinary buses and air-conditioned coaches leave the Northeastern Bus Terminal in Bangkok (Mo Chit 2) daily. For more information, call Tel. 0 2936 2852-66. In Ubon Ratchathani, call Tel. 0 4524 1831, or visit www.transport.co.th. Private-owned bus service providers include Cherdchai Tour (Tel. 0 2936 0611), Mongkol Tour (Tel. 0 2936 3638-9), Nakhon Chai Air (Tel. 0 2936 3900), and Siri Ratanaphol (Tel. 0 2936 0278).
Express and rapid trains regularly leave Bangkok Railway Station (Hua Lamphong) and Bang Sue Station. Moreover, there are ordinary train services from Nakhon Ratchasima, and Surin as well. For more information, call the State Railway of Thailand at Tel. 1690, 0 2220 4334, 0 2220 4444 or visit www.railway.co.th.
Thai Airways International flies daily flights between Bangkok and Ubon Ratchathani. For more information, call Tel. 1566, 0 2280 0060, 0 2628 2000 or call the THAI office in Ubon Ratchathani at Tel. 0 4531 3340-3, or visit www.thaiairways.com. Thai Air Asia also has service between Bangkok and Ubon Ratchathani. Call Tel. 0 2515 9999 or visit www.airasia.com for further information.
Amphoe Mueang Ubon Ratchathani
Thung Si Mueang (ทุ่งศรีเมือง) A field in the heart of the city, in front of the city hall, is a beautifully landscaped public park. Formerly the ruler’s rice paddy fields; it was turned into a public park and venue for festivals during the reign of King Rama V. The field has four gates; namely, Ubon Det Pracharak, Ubon Sak Prachaban, Ubon Kan Prachanit, and Ubon Kit Prachakon. It houses an imitation of a carved candle sculpture, health park, and playground. The park is open from 5.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m. Moreover, its attractions include:
- City Pillar Shrine (ศาลหลักเมือง) Located at the southern corner of the field, the sacred pillar was built in 1972. The shrine is open between 5.00 a.m. to 7.00 p.m.
- Monument of Phra Pathum Worarat Suriyawong or Chao Kham Phong (อนุสาวรีย์พระปทุมวรราชสุริยวงศ์ หรือ เจ้าคำผง) Phra Pathum Worarat Suriyawong is the founder of Ubon Ratchathani during 1778-1795.
- Sculpture of Somdet Phra Maha Wirawong or Tisso Uan (ปฏิมากรรมสมเด็จพระมหาวีรวงศ์ หรือ ติสโส อ้วน), a famous monk who was well known in Sutra and Vipassana.
- Monument of Goodness (อนุสาวรีย์แห่งความดี) The monument was built by WWII PoWs to honour the generosity and goodness of the people of Ubon Ratchathani.
- Sculpture of Harmony and Progress (ปฏิมากรรมร่วมใจก้าวไปข้างหน้า) The sculpture represents the harmony of 4 countries; namely, Thailand, Lao PDR., Cambodia, and Vietnam.
- Wat Thung Si Mueang (วัดทุ่งศรีเมือง) Located on Luang Road in the Amphoe Mueang Municipality, the temple was built since the reign of King Rama III. Phra Ariyawongsachan Yanawimon Ubon Sangkhapamok (Sui), Ecclesiastical Chief Officer of Ubon Ratchathani at that time was the founder. As he studied in Wat Saket, Bangkok, he brought a replica of the Buddha’s footprint from Wat Saket to Ubon Ratchathani. Now, the Buddha’s footprint is housed in the Ubosot which mirrors art blending between the early Rattanakosin era and that of Vientiane. Inside, murals from the era of King Rama II decorate all the walls.
Another important building in the temple is the Ho Trai - the Hall of Tipitaka scriptures. The wooden hall was built in the pond to protect the Tipitaka from insects.The four-room hall houses wooden scripture cabinets which are beautiful lacquer work decorated with gold leaf. It has blending art styles; namely, Thai-style partitioned wooden walls with carving of zodiac animals and floral motifs at the bottom, Burmese-style tiered roof with traditional Thai roof decorations, and Laotian sculpture on the gables. Such decoration makes it a very beautiful hall.
Wat Si Ubon Rattanaram or Wat Si Thong (วัดศรีอุบลรัตนาราม หรือ วัดศรีทอง) Located south of the city hall, on Uparat Road, the temple was built since 1855. The Ubosot, built in an imitation of Wat Benchamabophit’s Ubosot in Bangkok, houses a sacred Buddha image known as “Phra Kaeo Butsarakham”. The Buddha image, in the attitude of subduing Mara, is carved from topaz into the Chiang Saen style.
Legend says Phra Woraratchaphakdi and descendants of Phra Ta; namely, Thao Kham Phong, Thao Thit Phrom and Thao Kam who founded the city, brought the Buddha image from Vientiane. The image was first kept at Ban Don Mot Daeng and then moved to Wat Si Ubon later.
When Siam remained ruled by an absolute monarchy, the Buddha image was used to preside over the Oath of Allegiance ceremony. Now, the Buddha image is considered a sacred icon of Ubon Ratchathani. Each year, in the Songkran Festival, people will parade the Buddha image around for the people to pay respect and bathe. The temple is open from 4.30 a.m. to 10.00 p.m.
National Museum, Ubon Ratchathani (พิพิธภัณฑสถานแห่งชาติ อุบลราชธานี) Located at the intersection between Khuean Thani Road and Uparat Road, the single-storey hip roof building built since 1918 once served as the city hall before it was handed to the Fine Arts Department. The museum features local exhibitions; namely, geography, history of the city’s establishment, archaeological finds art objects, local handicrafts, folk games, and belongings of former rulers. The museum is open daily, except on Monday, Tuesday, and national holidays, from 9.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. Admission is 10 baht for adults and 5 baht for children. For more information, call Tel. 0 4525 1015, 0 4525 5071.
The Golden Jubilee Art and Cultural Centre (ศูนย์ศิลปวัฒนธรรมกาญจนาภิเษก) The 7-storey building in contemporary Isan architecture was built to commemorate the Golden Jubilee Celebrations of His Majesty’s Accession to the Throne. H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn presided over the opening ceremony on 11 December, 2001. It also houses the Ubon Nithat Cultural Hall which serves as a local learning and folk wisdom centre. There is also a convention centre, theatre and many facilities. For more information, call Tel. 0 4535 2031, 0 4526 2901-2.
Wat Chaeng (วัดแจ้ง) The temple is located on Sapphasit Road. According to legend, the temple was built by Prince Nu Kham in 1888, in the reign of King Rama V. The Ubosot, which was completed 24 years later, is famed for its beautiful architecture and rare woodcarving. Being 6 metres wide, 15 metres long and 10 metres high, the low-rise Ubosot formerly had a wooden roof which was later replaced by tiles. It is decorated with crocodile stucco at the front staircase and wooden gable carved in a lotus pattern. Its gable’s edges, or Hang Hong, are special with a delicate pattern of Naga. As a precious historical site, the Ubosot is well preserved in its original condition. It has won a Certificate of Honour from H.R.H. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn in the ‘Architect 87’ Exhibition.
Wat Maha Wanaram (วัดมหาวนาราม) Located on Sapphasit Road, the temple is also called Wat Pa Yai. Built simultaneously with the establishment of Ubon Ratchathani, it was firstly only a ‘Samnak Song’ – monastic residence - for Vipassana monks. In the era of the second ruler, Thao Thit Phrom, it was upgraded to be a temple and considered the signature temple of the second ruler.
The temple was renamed Wat Pa Luang Manichot, but the villagers called it Wat Nong Traphang, after the nearby pond. It was renamed again into Wat Maha Wanaram until now.
According to a stone inscription found behind the principal Buddha statue, Phrachao Yai In Paeng, it was built in 1807. Phra Maha Ratchakhru Si Satthatham Wongsa was the first abbot. The stucco Buddha statue, in the attitude of subduing Mara, was built in the Laotian style. A celebration is held annually on every full moon day of April to honour the Buddha image.
Wat Burapharam (วัดบูรพาราม) Located on Burapha Nai Road, the temple once served as a residence for famous meditation monks; namely, Achan Si Thachayaseno, Achan Man Phurithatto, Achan Li Thammatharo, Achan Sao Kantasilo, and Achan Sing Khantayakhamo. Today, the temple houses life-like stone figures of these monks.
Wat Supattanaram Worawihan (วัดสุปัฏนารามวรวิหาร) Located on Somdet Road, this is the first Dhammayutika temple of the province. The temple was built in 1850 and completed in 1853. King Rama IV named this temple “Supattanaram” which means good location. The temple has a special Ubosot designed by a royal highway engineer Luang Sathit Nimankan (Chuan Supiyaphan). The Ubosot - 20 metres wide, 34 metres long and 22 metres high - has three different characters. It has a Thai-style roof, western style hall and Khmer-style basement. Phra Sapphanyuchao, the principal Buddha image in the subduing Mara attitude, is placed here.
Hat Wat Tai (หาดวัดใต้) The beach situated in the middle of the Mun River is in Amphoe Mueang Municipality. During the dry season, its white sandy beach is a favourite place for holiday-makers to enjoy the easy atmosphere and greenery. Floating restaurants are also available. It is best to visit the beach from January to May. Ban Kan Lueang Archaelogical Site (แหล่งโบราณคดีบ้านก้านเหลือง) Situated in Wat Ban Kan Lueang, Tambon Makham Yai, it is an archaeological site which can be dated back to 2,800-2,500 years ago or the Iron Age. In 1996, the Fine Arts Department found a number of artefacts such as beads, pottery, bronze bells, iron axes and chaff.
Wat Sa Prasan Suk or Wat Ban Na Mueang (วัดสระประสานสุข หรือ วัดบ้านนาเมือง) Located at Ban Na Mueang, the temple houses a special Ubosot in the shape of the Suphannahong Royal Barge decorated with mosaic. The abbot, Achan Bunmi, is widely honoured among the people of Ubon Ratchathani as well as those from nearby provinces.
To get there from Highway 231, head for Amphoe Trakan Phuet Phon and turn right into Highway 2050 toward the airport. The temple is on the left.
Wat Phrathat Nong Bua (วัดพระธาตุหนองบัว) Located on Thammawithi Road, the temple houses a Bodh Gaya-style pagoda. The only one in the region, the pagoda was built among lush timber forest to mark the 25th century of Buddhism in the year 1957. The square-base pagoda, 17 metres wide and 56 metres high, houses the Lord Buddha’s relic inside. The pagoda has four doors; moreover, it is surrounded by another four small pagodas situated at the four corners of the boundary wall.
To get there the temple is 3 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani. Motorists can use Chayangkun Road bound for Amnat Charoen. The temple is 500 metres off the main road.
Hat Khu Duea (หาดคูเดื่อ) The beach by the Mun River is 12 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani via Highway 24. Lots of restaurants on the raft are available.
Ban Pa-ao (บ้านปะอาว) The ancient village is situated in Tambon Nong Khon, 18 km from downtown via Highway 23. It is 3 km off the highway at Km. 273. Since two centuries ago, the villagers actually immigrated from Vientiane during the reign of King Siri Bunsan and settled here. The village is famed for its brass work in an ancient style. A brass product centre and silk products are available.
Amphoe Warin Chamrap
Wat Nong Pa Phong (วัดหนองป่าพง) The temple is situated in a lush forest of Tambon Non Phueng. The tranquility allows monks to study and practice Vipassana meditation. In 1954, Luangpu Cha (Phra Phothiyan Thera) founded a Samnak Song – monastic residence - before it was later upgraded to be a temple. Attractions in the temple include the Phra Phothiyan Thera Museum that displays the eight requisites and wax model of Luangpu Cha, as well as brassware and Buddha images. It is open between 8.00 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. The location of the Si Phothiyan Pagoda is the cremating place of Luangpu Cha.
To get there motorists can use Highway 231 bound for Det Udom, turn right at Km. 13 and keep going for another 2 km. For more information, call Tel. 0 4526 7563.
Wat Pa Nana Chat (วัดป่านานาชาติ) The temple is located in Ban Bung Wai, 14 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani via Highway 226. It shares the entrance with Wat Pa Mongkhon. Wat Pa Nana Chat is the 19th branch of Wat Nong Pa Phong. Numerous foreign monks study and practice Vipassana meditation here; most of them can speak Thai fluently and pray in Pali. Strict practices of the monks here make the temple quite honourable among Buddhists.
Amphoe Phibun Mangsahan
Wat Phukhao Kaeo (วัดภูเขาแก้ว) Situated on the hill by Highway 217, approximately 44 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani and 1 km from Amphoe Phibun Mangsahan, the temple has a very beautiful Ubosot which is delicately decorated with a tiered roof covered with terracotta tiles and supporting a golden spire in the middle. The gables are ornately adorned with traditional frame ornaments and stucco reliefs. Inside is the high-relief regarding important Phrathats – relic-containing pagodas - of Thailand.
Kaeng Saphue (แก่งสะพือ) The rapids in the Mun River is a place to relax and enjoy the currents and wave sound. ‘Saphue’ derives from the word ‘Samphuet’ in Suai ethnic language which means large serpent.
February to May is the best period to visit, as tourists can witness the beautiful rocks that are not visible in the rainy season. Their Majesties the King and the Queen made a visit here twice. There are pavilions and stalls selling local products. The beautiful rapids are 45 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani, via Highway 217.
Sirindhorn Dam (เขื่อนสิรินธร) Called Khuean Dom Noi by the locals, the rockfill dam with a clay core was constructed across the Lam Dom Noi, a tributary of the Mun River. The hydroelectric dam is 42 metres high and 940 metres long. It also supports irrigation in the area. By the reservoir, Sirindhorn Park is a beautiful place with colourful garden, sculptures, fountains, and guesthouses. For more information, call Tel. 0 4536 6081-3 ext. 2708.
To get there motorists can use Highway 217, turn right at Km. 71 and keep going for another 500 metres. The dam is 70 km from Amphoe Mueang
- Chong Mek (ช่องเม็ก) The permanent Thai-Lao border pass is 90 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani, via Highway 217. The pass is a land bridge to Champasak Province, an important tourist destination in the south of Lao PDR. Besides state offices, the pass is a large border market with duty-free shops in Lao PDR. The significant tourist attractions in Champasak include Pakse, Prasat Wat Phu, Si Phan Don where the Mekong River spreads 7 km wide and creates thousands of islands. The most interesting places are the Li Phi and Khon Pha Pheng Waterfalls.
A foreigner will require a passport to enter Lao PDR. via Chong Mek. For more information, call the Ubon Ratchathani Provincial Office at Tel. 0 4525 5505, 0 4525 4218, Immigration Office at Tel. 0 4548 5107. A three day/two night package to Lao PDR. is available from tour operators in downtown Ubon Ratchathani.
Kaeng Tana National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติแก่งตะนะ) Covering an area of some 50,000 rai in Amphoe Sirindhorn and Khong Chiam, the park features plateaux and undulating hills with deciduous dipterocarp forest and grassland. Established on 13 July, 1981, the park’s headquarters is located by Tana Rapids, the Mun River.
To get there there are two routes to get there. Motorists can use Highway 217 and then 2173. Another route is Highway 2222, via Amphoe Khong Chiam and cross the Mun River for another 12 km. The park has many attractions; namely,
- Don Tana (ดอนตะนะ) An island in the middle of the Mun River of only 450 metres wide and 700 metres long. Two hanging bridges allow tourists to reach and enjoy its beach at the northern corner under the shady dry evergreen forest. Local fishery can be seen around the island in the morning and evening.
- Kaeng Tana (แก่งตะนะ) The largest rapids of the Mun River. In the middle of the rapids, there is a huge sandstone boulder splitting the river into two streams, and a concrete block built during the French Colonial Era to identify a channel for cruising. Submerged caves make the rapids an ideal habitat for fish. November – June is the appropriate period for visiting.
- Hanging Bridges (สะพานแขวน) The hanging bridges, made from iron and slings, link both sides of the river with Don Tana and allow tourists to enjoy the scenery and nature trail on the island easily.
- Tham Phra or Tham Phu Ma Nai (ถ้ำพระหรือถ้ำภูหมาไน) Situated 1 k from the national park’s headquarters, the cave is 45 metres wide and 10 metres deep. A stone inscription and Lingam base or ‘Yoni’ from the
7th-8th Century, or during the reign of King Mahendravarman (Prince Chitrasen), were found. Now the original stone inscription is kept in the National Museum, Ubon Ratchathani.
- Lan Pha Phueng (ลานผาผึ้ง) The sandstone terrace is situated next to a towering cliff where tourists can enjoy the sunrise view and landscape of Lao PDR. It is 1.5 km. from the park’s headquarters. It can be accessed by car or study trail along the the Mun River.
- Namtok Rak Sai Nature Trail (เส้นทางศึกษาธรรมชาติน้ำตกรากไทร) The trail lines along the cliff by the Mun River, 500 metres from the park’s headquarters. It runs by the cliff for 1 km. through various kinds of flora, such as lichen, moss, and fern, Tham Phra and Namtok Rak Sai. It is another good short-trip trail.
- Namtok Tat Ton (น้ำตกตาดโตน) The waterfall is situated on Highway 2173, off Highway 217 by 5 km. Originating from Tat Ton Creek, the beautiful fall runs through a rock terrace before plunging into a pool which allows tourists to enjoy swimming among the lush forest and flowers. From June to October is the best period to admire its beauty.
In the park, guesthouses for tourists are available. For more information, call the National Park, Wildlife and Plant Conservation Department at Tel. 0 2562 0760 or Kaeng Tana National Park at Tel. 0 4524 9802, 0 4244 2002.
Amphoe Khueang Nai
Annamese Lion Pulpit at Ban Chi Thuan (ธรรมาสน์สิงห์ศิลปะญวนที่บ้านชีทวน) The Buddhist pulpit is placed at Wat Sinuan Saeng Sawang Arom, Ban Chi Thuan, Tambon Chi Thuan. The concrete pulpit itself is quite unique with a lion sculpture carrying the pulpit with decorative stucco, multi-layer wooden roof, and painting in the Annamese style. Estimated to have been built in 1925 by Annamese craftsmen, the pulpit is considered a precious piece of local art.
To get there the village is 26 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani. Motorists can use Highway 23 and then 2412. The village is 5 km off the main road, on the left.
Wat Thung Si Wilai (วัดทุ่งศรีวิไล) Located in Ban Chi Thuan, the temple houses Luangpho Wiset, the principal Buddha image carved from laterite seated beneath the Naga’s hood. The sacred Buddha image from the Dvaravati period is 55 cm wide and 90 cm high and considered a sacred icon for the village. The temple is surrounded by several enclosures of Sima stones that mark the temple’s consecrated boundary.
To get there the temple shares its entrance with Wat Sinuan Saeng Sawang Arom.
Amphoe Khong Chiam
Wat Tham Kuha Sawan (วัดถ้ำคูหาสวรรค์) Situated in Tambon Ban Dan, off Highway 2222, the temple was built since 1978 by Luangpu Khamkhaning Chulamani to be a place for meditation practice where he also resided. Today, Luangpu has passed away but his body, which is not rotten, is well kept in a glass coffin and considered a sacred item. The temple offers nice scenery of the Mekong River and Lao PDR.
Maenam Song Si (แม่น้ำสองสี) At the mouth of the Mun River, Ban Woen Buek, just a 5-minute drive from Amphoe Khong Chiam, is an amazing point. The Mun River runs into the Mekong, so we can see two rivers, in two different colours – ‘Song Si’ means two colours - blending together. The Mekong River will be reddish brown while the Mun River is rather blue. Tourists can see such the colour difference from Wat Khong Chiam and Ban Huai Mak. April is the best time to see this. A boat cruise service to explore the rivers, Kaeng Tana, Ban Woen Buek and Pha Taem, as well as shopping in Lao PDR. is available.
Pha Taem National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติผาแต้ม) Established on 31 December, 1991, the park covers a total area of 140 sq km in Amphoe Khong Chiam, Amphoe Si Mueang Mai and Amphoe Pho Sai. The park’s boundary is next to Lao PDR., with the Mekong River forming the border. The park features plateaux, undulating hills, and towering cliffs with strange sandstone formations scattered around. The park is covered mostly by deciduous dipterocarp forest and wild flowers can be found on the rock terrace.
To get there Pha Taem National Park is 18 km. from Khong Chiam. From Amphoe Khong Chiam, motorists can use Highway 2134, then 2112. Turn right at Km. 8 and continue for another 5 km. to Pha Taem. Its attractions include:
- Sao Chaliang (เสาเฉลียง) The stone towers are situated approximately 1 km. before Pha Taem. Carved by wind and water for millions of years, the mushroom-like stone towers are scattered around the area containing shell fossils, sand and gravels in their texture. Geologists assumed that over million years ago this area was once a sea. Their name ‘Sao Chaliang’ derives from a dialect word ‘Saliang’ which means ‘stone tower’. A nature trail is available but a guide is required.
- Pha Taem and Pha Kham (ผาแต้มและผาขาม) The towering cliffs house groups of pre-historical paintings which date back to 4,000-3,000 years ago. A 500-metre long trail from the top of the cliff leads to the ancient paintings which line 180 metres. There are over 300 paintings in five categories including animals, geometrical motifs, rice farmers, hands, and ‘Tum’ or typical fish trap used widely by the Mekong’s fishermen. On the other side of the Mekong River is the picturesque view of Lao PDR. Tourists can enjoy an earlier sunrise view in Thailand just as at Ban Woen Buek, close to the two-coloured river.
- Namtok Soi Sawan (น้ำตกสร้อยสวรรค์) The waterfall is situated on Highway 2112, turn right at Km. 20 and drive for another 5 km. A further walk of 500 metres from the parking area will lead to the waterfall. Two streams, Huai Soi and Huai Phai, combine and plunge 20 metres down to the pond below, making the waterfall look like a necklace – ‘Soi’ in Thai. Around the fall is a great variety of plants and wild flowers which bloom in October to December, making it the best time to visit.
- Namtok Thung Na Mueang (น้ำตกทุ่งนาเมือง) Situated on Highway 2112, 13 km from Namtok Soi Sawan by a right turn at Ban Na Pho Klang for another 10 km, the medium-sized waterfall cascades down a 25-metre cliff through flowerbeds which are in full bloom between October to December.
- Namtok Saeng Chan or Namtok Ru (น้ำตกแสงจันทร์หรือ น้ำตกรู) The fall is 1 km. prior to Namtok Thung Na Mueang. Motorists have to turn right at Ban Thung Na Mueang and the waterfall is 2 km away. The tiny fall is special as the stream falls through a hole – ‘Ru’ – down to the pond below. At noon, sunshine through the hole makes the waterfall look like a ray of moonshine – ‘Saeng Chan’.
- Dong Na Tham Forest (ป่าดงนาทาม) Situated on Phu Na Tham, 36 km from the park’s headquarters, the forest allows tourists to enjoy the nature, flora, mountain and the Mekong River. Its attractions include rock terraces, Phlan Tham Hai, Sao Chaliang Khu, mountain pines (Pinus merkusii), Namtok Huai Phok, Pha Chana Dai, Pha Kampan, Pha Hin Taek, Namtok Kwang Ton, Hin Yok, and Phu Chom Kom. From September to November is the best time to enjoy the nature around while flowers are in full bloom, as well as waterfalls and fogs over the Mekong River. From January to March is the best time to see the forest change its hue, with trees shedding their leaves, and to cruise in the Mekong from Ban Pak La to Khan Tha Kwian. There are three nature trails which tourists can experience all year round. They include Pha Taem - Namtok Soi Sawan Route, Thung Na Mueang - Pha Chana Dai Route, and Tham Patihan - Pha Chana Dai Route. For more information, call the Na Pho Klang Sub-district Administration Organization at Tel. 0 4524 9002.
- Wat Phu Anon (วัดภูอานนท์) Located north of Ban Sasom, 10 km off Highway 2112 from Ban Na Pho Klang, the temple has interesting attractions including a rock terrace with large footprints, nature-made stone jar, and cave painting. It is a nice place for a short trip.
Pha Taem National Park does not provide accommodation for tourists. Those who want to stay overnight are required to bring their own camping gear. A camping ground is available. For more information, mail to Pha Taem National Park at P.O. Box 5, Tambon Huai Phai, Amphoe Khong Chiam, Ubon Ratchathani 34220 or call Tel. 0 4524 9780.
Amphoe Si Mueang Mai Phu Lon (ภูหล่น) The mountain is in Tambon Song Yang, 20 km north of Amphoe Si Mueang Mai. It has a cave where the late famous monk Phra Achan Man Phurithatto practiced his Vipassana. The shady environment makes it a nice place to relax or practicing meditation.
Namtok Huai Sai Yai or Kaeng I Khiao (น้ำตกห้วยทรายใหญ่ หรือ แก่งอีเขียว) The waterfall is in the Buntharik - Khao Yot Mon Wildlife Sanctuary. Motorists can head north on Highway 2369 for 26 km to Ban Huai Sai, turn right at Km. 29, and keep going for another 6 km. The waterfall runs over the rock terrace among a shady environment. Tourists can enjoy the fall from September to December.
Phu Chong - Na Yoi National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติภูจอง-นายอย) The park covers a total area of 686 sq km in Amphoe Buntharik, Amphoe Na Chaluai, and Amphoe Nam Yuen. Its boundary connects to Lao PDR. and Cambodia in the area called the Emerald Triangle. With a lush jungle of the Dongrek Range, the park was established on 1 June, 1987. The park’s headquarters is located at Ban Kaeng Rueang, Amphoe Na Chaluai, 150 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani. Its attractions include.
Namtok Huai Luang or Namtok Bak Teo (น้ำตกห้วยหลวง หรือ น้ำตกบักเตว) The waterfall is situated 3 km from the park’s headquarters and accessible by car. Plunging for three steps from the elevation of 30 metres, the waterfall has a small pool with a white beach and turquoise colour water that allows tourists to enjoy from September to February. There is a trail leading to Namtok Chum Chim or Namtok Pra-on La-o downstream.
- Phlan Yao Rock Garden (สวนหินพลานยาว) Rocks in different formations are scattered around the area.
- Pha Phueng Viewpoint (จุดชมทิวทัศน์ผาผึ้ง) The viewpoint is just next to the rock garden. From there, tourists can enjoy the scenery of the Lao and Cambodian border. Its small cave houses beautiful rocks and a large beehive.
- Namtok Koeng Mae Phong (น้ำตกเกิ้งแม่พอง) The waterfall is 9 km south of Namtok Huai Luang along the nature trail. It originates from the Lam Dom Noi Stream.
- Kaeng Sila Thip (แก่งศิลาทิพย์) The large rapids is 3 km from the park’s headquarters. Huai Luang Stream runs over a rock terrace and turns fierce in the rapids. In the middle of the stream, stream power has created lots of holes on the rock surface in different sizes and depths called “Kumphalak.”
- Phlan Kong Kwian (พลาญกงเกวียน) The vast rock terrace with rock shelters at the front is home to wild flowers and plants. In previous days, travellers could seek shelter from this place. Thus, it is called Phlan Kong Kwian which literally means cart terrace.
- Phu Hin Dang (ภูหินด่าง) The cliff-top viewpoint allows tourists to witness the forest scenery of Lao PDR. and Cambodia. Its cliff is especially painted with natural bright hues. Geologists explain that dry weather millions of years ago catalyzed the mineral residues in the seawater and resulted this way. Tourists can enjoy a misty view during winter. The viewpoint can be reached via Highway 2248, 15 km from Amphoe Na Chaluai. Turn left at Ban Huai Kha into Highway 2254, through Ban Nong Mek to Sae Lamduan. The viewpoint is another 2 km away on foot.
To get there the park can be accessed via two routes.
- Motorists can travel from Ubon Ratchathani - Det Udom - Nam Yuen - Na Chaluai and turn right 10 km before reaching Na Chaluai. The park is 8 km away. The total distance is 140 km.
- Ubon Ratchathani - Det Udom – Buntharik - Na Chaluai. Turn left after passing Na Chaluai for 10 km, the park is 8 km away.
Phu Chong - Na Yoi National Park provides guesthouses and camping ground, but no camping gear for rent. For more information, call the National Park, Wildlife and Plant Conservation Department at Tel. 0 2562 0760.
Namtok Kaeng Lamduan (น้ำตกแก่งลำดวน) The fall is situated in the compound of the Ubon Ratchathani Wildlife Reservation Promotion and Development Station. The waterfall runs over a rock terrace and through the shady forest of Lamduan trees. Tourists can enjoy swimming and explore the nature trail that leads to caves and rapids. To get there, use Highway 2248 and turn right at Ban Nong Bon, 14 km from Amphoe Nam Yuen. The fall is 2.6 km away.
Amphoe Thung Si Udom
Prasat Ban Ben (ปราสาทบ้านเบญจ์) Located at Ban Nong Om, Tambon Nong Om, the Khmer sanctuary is a religious site comprising three brick Prangs on separated laterite bases. The Fine Arts Department excavated the site in 1990 and found lintels featuring 9 directional guardian angels and the God Indra on his Erawan heavenly elephant. According to its architectural plan and lintels, the ruins date back to the 10th Century A.D. To get there, Prasat Ban Ben is 63 km from downtown Ubon Ratchathani. Motorists can use Highway 2192 and turn into Highway 2214 before reaching Amphoe Thung Si Udom.
Flower Festival (งานเทศกาลไม้ดอกไม้ประดับ) Held every February at Thung Kham Nam Saep Stadium, Amphoe Warin Chamrap, the festival features floral floats, decorative and flowering plant contests and fair.
Kaeng Saphue Songkran Festival (งานประเพณีมหาสงกรานต์แก่งสะพือ) Held every April in Amphoe Phibun Mangsahan, the festival comprises a beauty contest, fair, local sports, and local music contest.
Candle Festival (งานแห่เทียนพรรษา) The province’s largest festival is held annually at Thung Si Mueang to mark the beginning of the Buddhist Lent. The celebration comprises carved candle contests and parades from different temples to form a procession. The procession starts from Wat Si Ubon Rattanaram to Thung Si Mueang, the venue for performances and showcase of the delicately carved candles.
Illuminated Boat Procession (งานประเพณีไหลเรือไฟ) Held every October to mark the end of the Buddhist Lent, boats from different temples will illuminate the river near the Rattanakosin Bicentennial Bridge.
Traditional Boat Races (งานแข่งขันเรือยาวประเพณี) Several boat racing tournaments are held annually in October after the end of the Buddhist Lent. The Mueang Ubon Ratchathani Municipality’s tournament is held near the Rattanakosin Bicentennial Bridge. Tambon Phibun Mangsahan Municipality’s tournament is held near the Mun River Bridge, and Wat Pho Tak’s tournament is held in front of the temple.
Local Products and Souvenirs
Ubon Ratchathani’s local products include hand-woven cotton, Khit pillow, loincloth, silk, brassware, and basketry. These products are available at souvenir shops on Khuean Thani Road, or markets in the downtown area.
Mu Yo or preserved pork, Chinese sausage, Isan sausage, and Khem Mak Nat or black-eared catfish or iridescent shark-catfish in saline water with chopped pineapple, all are available in downtown. Various preserved and ready-to-eat food such as dried fish, dried frog’s skin, and steamed bun with bamboo shoot stuff, are available at Kaeng Saphue, the main attraction of Phibun Mangsahan.
Local Product Shops
- Khuean Thani (เขื่อนธานี) 258/2 Khuean Thani Road, Tambon Nai Mueang, Tel. 0 4526 0393.
- Kham Pun (คำปุน) Pha Daeng Road, in front of Im-Em Restaurant, Tel. 0 4525 4830, 0 4526 34….
- Camp Fai (แค้มป์ฝ้าย) Thep Yothi Road, Tel. 0 4524 4028, 0 4524 1821.
- Chor. Wattana (ช.วัฒนา) 269 Suriyat 89 Road, Tel. 0 4524 2202.
- Dok Kaew (ดอกแก้ว) 56/1 Si Narong Road, Tel. 0 4526 0149.
- Dao Thong Mu Yo (ดาวทองหมูยอ) Si Narong Road, Tel. 0 4525 5131, 08 9948 8426.
- Den Kaew (เด่นแก้ว) 42-44 Luang Road, Tel. 0 4525 4440.
- Tong Nueng (ตองหนึ่ง) 72-74 Phalo Chai Road, Tel. 0 4526 1552.
- Nongyao Mu Yo (นงเยาว์หมูยอ) 197 Si Narong Road, Tel. 0 4524 2632.
- Fai Ken (ฝ้ายเข็น) Chayangkun Road, close to the Khwaeng Kan Thang Intersection, Tel. 0 4528 3111,
0 4528 3701.
- Phanchart (พันชาติ) Ratchabut Road, Tel. 0 4524 3433, 0 4520 9186-7, Pha Daeng Road, Tel. 0 4526 5751.
- May Be (เมย์บี) 124 Si Narong Road, Tel. 0 4525 4452.
- Mae Hai Mu Yo (แม่ฮายหมูยอ) Si Narong Road, Tel. 0 4525 4763, 0 4524 1618.
- Wattanasin Khrueang Ngoen (วัฒนศิลป์เครื่องเงิน) Ratchabut Road, Tel. 0 4526 1301, 0 4525 5661.
- Si Narong Mu Yo (ศรีณรงค์หมูยอ) 167 Si Narong Road, Tel. 0 4524 2613.
- Community Product Centre (ศูนย์สินค้าเศรษฐกิจชุมชน) 7 Chaeng Sanit Road, Tel. 0 4525 0248-9.
- Nuan Prang Sausages (ไส้กรอกนวลปรางค์) Phalo Chai Road, Tel. 0 4525 5356, 0 4525 4388.
- Ubon Mu Yo (อุบลหมูยอ) Khuean Thani Road, Tel. 0 4525 4951, 0 4526 0168.
Recommended Tour Programmes
- Visit and discuss Dhamma at Wat Pa Nana Chat.
- Visit Ban Pa-ao and see brassware production and silk weaving.
- Pay homage to Phra Borommathat Chedi Si Maha Pho.
- Visit the National Museum, Ubon Ratchathani.
- Visit the hall of the Tipitaka and murals in Wat Thung Si Mueang.
- Pay homage to Phra Kaeo Butsarakham, the sacred icon of Ubon Ratchathani.
- Return to Bangkok.
Day 1 : Visit Phu Chong - Na Yoi National Park in Amphoe Na Chaluai. Enjoy Namtok Huai Luang and a picnic lunch by the waterfall. Experience the nature at Kaeng Kalao and Kaeng Sam Phan Pi. Stay overnight in the park’s guesthouse or tent.
Day 2 : Visit Phu Hin Dang to see a terrace of strange rocks. Enjoy the scenery of Lao PDR. and Cambodia from Phu Hin Dang Cliff. Have a picnic lunch and return to Bangkok.
Amphoe Mueang Ubon Ratchathani
- Krung Thong (กรุงทอง) 152 Si Narong Road. Tel. 0 4525 4200, 0 4524 1609 Fax: 0 4524 2308. 116 rooms: 400-1,200 Baht..
- Chatsuri Mansion (ฉัตรสุรีย์แมนชั่น) 70 Chongkon Nithan Road, Tambon Nai Mueang Tel. 0 4520 9211-3 Fax: 0 4520 9214. 65 rooms: 400 Baht.
- Tokyo (โตเกียว) 360 Uparat Road. Tel. 0 4524 1739, 0 4524 1262, 0 4526 3140 Fax: 0 4524 1262. 64 rooms: 450-800 Baht..
- Tho Saeng (ทอแสง) 251 Phalochai Road. Tel. 0 4524 5531-9 Fax: 0 4524 4814 . 76 rooms: 1,100-2,700 Baht..
- New Nakhoon Luang (นิวนครหลวง) 84-88 Yuthaphan Road. Tel. 0 4525 4768-9, 0 4525 4615 Fax: 0 4525 5720. 60 rooms: 170-320 Baht.
- Nevada Grand (เนวาด้า แกรนด์) 434 Chayangkun Road. Tel. 0 4528 0999, 0 6877 3332 Fax: 0 4528 3424. 150 rooms: 1,000-2,000 Baht. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Nevada Inn (เนวาด้า อินน์) 436/1 Chayangkun Road. Tel. 0 4531 3351-6. 64 rooms: 650-800 Baht..
- Bodin (บดินทร์) 32 Phalochai Road. Tel. 0 4525 0500, 0 4524 3000 Fax: 0 4524 4038. 110 rooms: 280-450 Baht..
- Pathumrat (ปทุมรัตน์) 337 Chayangkun Road. Tel. 0 4524 1501-11 Fax: 0 4524 2311. 177 rooms: 1,000-6,000 Baht..
- PV Tower (พีวี ทาวเวอร์) Surasak Road. Tel. 0 4524 4703-4. 80 rooms: 220-500 Baht..
- Montana (มอนทาน่า) 179/1-4 Uparat Road.Tel. 0 4526 1748-49 Fax: 0 4526 1750. 40 rooms: 450-600 Baht.. E-mail : Montana.email@example.com
- Racha (ราชา) 19 Chayangkun Road. Tel. 0 4525 5293, 0 4525 4155. 59 rooms: 280-400 Baht.
- Ratchathani (ราชธานี) 297 Khueanthani Road. Tel. 0 4524 4388-90 Fax: 0 4524 3561. 80 rooms: 330-850 Baht..
- Rueangrangsi Mansion Park (เรืองรังษี แมนชั่น ปาร์ค) 15 Ratchathani Road 3. Tel. 0 4524 4746. 42 rooms: 400 Baht., 3,000- 3,800 Baht./month
- Lai Thong (ลายทอง) 50 Phichit Rangsan Road. Tel. 0 4526 4271 Fax: 0 4526 4270. 124 rooms: 1,300-3,000 Baht.. www.laithong.net
- Sikamon (ศรีกมล) 26 Ubonsak Road. Tel. 0 4524 3793, 0 4524 1136, 0 4524 3792. 42 rooms: 450-600 Baht.
- Si Isan 1 (ศรีอีสาน 1) 62 Ratchabut. Tel. 0 4525 4204, 0 4526 1011. Fax: 0 4526 1015. 33 rooms: 650-1,400 Baht.. www.sriisanhotel.com
- Si Isan 2 (ศรีอีสาน 2) 60 Ratchabut. Tel. 0 4524 1577, 0 4525 4544. 36 rooms: 200-400 Baht..
- The Golden Jubilee Art and Cultural Centre (ศูนย์ศิลปวัฒนธรรมกาญจนาภิเษก มหาวิทยาลัยราชภัฏอุบลราชธานี) Chaeng Sanit Road. Tel. 0 4535 2031 Fax: 0 4526 2903. 38 rooms 750-1,250 Baht..
- Suriyat (สุริยาตร์) 302 Suriyat Road. Tel. 0 4524 1144. 46 rooms: 200-450 Baht..
- Ubon Hotel (อุบลโฮเต็ล) 2 Ubonkit Road. Tel. 0 4524 1045-6, 0 4526 2688. 126 rooms: 280-700 Baht..
Amphoe Warin Chamrap
- Charoensuk (เจริญสุข) Sathitwimankan (in front of the post office) Tel. 0 4532 1694. 15 rooms: 200-300 Baht..
- Malakam Resort (มาลาคำ Resort) Warin Chamrap – Si Sa Ket Road,.Km.16. Tel. 0 1660 7965. 30 Rooms: 300-400 Baht..
- Ubonburi Resort (อุบลบุรี Resort) 1 Simongkon Road. Tel. 0 4526 6777. 110 rooms: 1,140-2,500 Baht.. www.ubonburihotel.com
Amphoe Khong Chiam
- Khong Chiam Marina Resort (โขงเจียม มารีน่า Resort) 77 Mu 1. Tel. 0 4535 1011 Fax: 0 4535 1145. 26 rooms: 500-1,000 Baht..
- Thosaeng Khong-Chiam Riverside Resort (ทอแสง-โขงเจียม ริเวอร์ไซด์ Resort) 68 Mu 7 Ban Huaimak Tai. Tel. 0 4535 1174-6, 0 4535 1178 Fax: 0 4535 1162. 54 rooms : 2,500-9,500 Baht.. www.tohsang.com
- Ban Rimkhong Resort (บ้านริมโขง Resort) 37 Mu 1, Keao Pradit Road. Tel. 0 4535 1101 7 rooms : 1,000 Baht.
- Ban Khiangnam (บ้านเคียงน้ำ) 82/1 Mu 1 Tambon Khong Chiam, Keao Pradit Road. Tel. 0 4535 1374 Fax:0 4535 1375. 18 rooms : 600-1,500 Baht.
- Mongkon Guesthouse (มงคล เกสต์เฮ้าส์) 595 Keao Pradit Road, Tel. 0 4535 1352, 08 1718 3182, 08 1967 8578. 30 rooms : 350-800 Baht.
- Araya Resort (อารยา Resort) 500 Mu 1, Phukamchai Road. Tel. 0 4535 1191, 0 1264 8606, 0 9624 4004. 44 rooms : 500-1,400 Baht.
- Apple Guesthouse (แอปเปิ้ล เกสต์เฮ้าส์) 267 Keao Pradit Road, in front of the post office. Tel. 0 4535 1160 15 rooms : 150-300 Baht.
- Kaengsaphue Riveerside (แก่งสะพือ ริเวอร์ไซด์) 117 Mu 6, Tambon Phosi. Tel. 0 4520 4318, 0 4544 1859 Fax: 0 4544 1829 91 rooms : 600-780 Baht.
- Phibunkit 1 (พิบูลกิจ 1) 65/1-3 Phibun Road, Tel. 0 4544 1201, 0 4520 4872 Fax: 0 4544 1041. 37 rooms : 200-400 Baht.
- Sanamchai Guesthouse (สนามชัยเกสท์เฮาส์) 239 Mu 9, Tambon Phosai. Tel. 0 4544 1289 20 rooms : 150-300 Baht.
- Sirindhorn Dam (เขื่อนสิรินธร) 30 Mu11 Tambon Nikhom Lamdom Noi Tel. 0 4536 6085. 30 rooms: 800-2,000 Baht.
Amphoe Det Udom
- Thatsuda Resort (ธัชสุดา รีสอร์ท) 222 Mu 5, Tambon Phonngam. Tel. 0 4536 1491 7 rooms : 300-450 Baht.
- Songkhon Resort (สองคอน รีสอร์ท) 60/6 Ban Pakkalang, Tambon Songkhon. Tel. 0 4526 0408 9 rooms : 300-400 Baht.
- Krailat Resort (ไกรลาศ รีสอร์ท) 97 Mu13, Tambon Khemarat . Tel. 0 4549 2203. 13 rooms : 300- 400 Baht.
Amphoe TrakanPhuet Phon
- Phiphat Resort (พิพัฒน์ รีสอร์ท) 226 Mu7, Tambon Khulu. Tel. 0 4548 2123. 28 rooms : 200-500 Baht.
Amphoe Mueang Ubon Ratchathani
- Golffer House (กอล์ฟเฟอร์ เฮาส์) 457-459 Phichit Rangsan Road. Tel. 0 4526 1196.
- Khanom Nom Noei (ขนมนมเนย) 130-132 Upalisan Road. Tel. 0 4526 3183.
- Khai Di (ขายดี) 360 Sanpasit Road. Tel. 0 4524 2017, 0 4525 4350-1.
- Santi Porridge (ข้าวต้มสันติ) 9-13 Chawala Nok Road. Tel. 0 4526 2533.
- Krua Aim-em (ครัวอิ่มเอม) 29 Phadaeng Road, Tel. 0 4526 3025.
- Khun The (คุณเต่) Nakhonban Road, back of Ubon Kindergarten Tel. 0 4524 2278.
- Chiaoki (เจียวกี่) Khuean Thani Road, opposite the museum. Tel. 0 4525 4017, 0 4525 6242.
- Thawiphon (ทวีผล) 478/1-2 Phormrat Road. Tel. 0 4524 5000-3.
- Po. Ao. Lappet (ป.อ.ลาบเป็ด) Ban Tha Bo, Liang Mueang Road. Tel. 08 1848 1532, 08 1834 2249.
- Pla Thong (ปลาทอง) 142/1-4 Khuean Thani Road. Tel. 0 4524 2394.
- Ploen (เพลิน) in Patumtat Hotel, Chayangkun Road. Tel. 0 4524 1501 ต่อ 300.
- Phonyangkam (โพนยางคำ) Soi Upattham 15. Tel. 0 4531 2561.
- Rachathani (ราชธานี) 297 Khuean Thani Road. Tel. 0 4524 3584
- Ti Chok Amnuai Porridge (ร้านข้าวต้มตี๋โชคอำนวย) 377-379 Sanpasit Road, Tambon Nai Mueang.Tel. 0 4524 1809
- Lappet Ban Hao (ลาบเป็ดบ้านเฮา) 58/1 Chaeng Sanit Road. Tel. 0 4531 4214
- Liang Huat Heng 1 (เลี่ยงฮวดเฮง 1) 260 Khuean Thani Road. Tel. 0 4525 4279.
- Liang Huat Heng 2 (เลี่ยงฮวดเฮง 2) 255/1 Sinarong Road. Tel. 0 4524 1063.
- Smile Restaurant (สมายส์เรสเตอรองส์) 200/1 Si Narong Road, Tambon Nai Mueang. Tel. 0 4526 2407-8.
- Sakhon (สาคร) 64-70 Phadaeng Road. Tel. 0 4524 1101.
- Samchai Kafae (สามชัยกาแฟ) 56-58 Phadaeng Road, ( in front of Provincial Royal Court). Tel. 0 4524 0241.
- Hongfa (หงษ์ฟ้า) 448 Thep Yothi Road. Tel. 0 4526 3546.
- Muenthip (หมื่นทิพย์) 91 Phichit Rangsan Road. Tel. 0 4524 5488.
- Santi Phochana (สันติโภชนา) Chawala Nok Road. Tel. 0 4526 2533.
- Indochina (อินโดจีน) Sanphasit Road, near Wat Chang. Tel. 0 4524 5585.
- S.P. House (เอส.พี.เฮาส์) 76-78 Rachabut Road. Tel. 0 4525 4278, 0 4526 1121.
Amphoe Phibun Mangsahan
- Wanthani Phochana (วันทนีย์โภชนา) 65/1-3 Phibun Road, Tambon Phibun Mangsahan
Amphoe Khong Chiam
- Tuk Tik Tam Mua (ตุ๊กติ๊กตำมั่ว) 7 Mu1 Tambon Khong Chiam. Tel. 0 4535 1030, 08 1730 6811, 08 9627 3792
- Mae Nam Song si (แม่น้ำสองสี) 346 Mu1 Rim Khong Road, Tel. 0 4535 1070, 0 7871 4340
- Rim Khong (ริมโขง) 37 Mu1, Klaeo Pradit Road. Tel. 0 4535 1101.
- Ruean Phae Ahan Nampun (เรือนแพอาหารน้ำปูน) (Phae Chonladam แพชลลดา) Rim Khong Road. Tel. 0 4535 1135 Fax: 0 4535 1111.
- Araya (อารยา) 200 Rim Khong Road, Tel. 0 4535 1015, 08 9624 4004.
- Kokkham (กกขาม) 1 Mu 4, Liang Muaeng Road. Tel. 0 4526 8214, 08 1879 2325.
- Khuean Sirindhorn (เขื่อนสิรินธร) 30 Mu 11 Tambon Nikhom Lamdom Noi, Tel. 0 4536 6085.
- Ran Ahan Hat Salueng (ร้านอาหารหาดสลึง) Tel. 08 7875 1976, 08 4832 3638.
- Suan Ahan Songkhon (สวนอาหารสองคอน) Ban Pakkalang, Tambon Songkhon. Tel. 0 4526 0408, 08 7256 1696.
- Sakda Tour (ศักดาการท่องเที่ยว) 150/1 Kantharalak Road. Tel. 0 4532 1518, 0 4532 1937, 0 4532 3048, Fax: 0 4532 3047. www.sakdatour.com
- Surachai Tour (สุรชัยการท่องเที่ยว) 511/1-4 Chayangkun Road, Tel. 0 4531 4488, 0 4531 2518, Fax: 0 4531 7220.
- Provincial Public Relations Office Tel. 0 4524 4875
- Provincial Administration Office Tel. 0 4525 5505, 0 4525 4218
- Sanphasitthiprasong Hospital Tel. 0 4524 4470
- Rachawet Hospital Tel. 0 4528 0048
- Ubonrak Hospital Tel. 0 4526 6300
- Central Memorial Hospital Tel. 0 4525 4721
- Bus Terminal Tel. 0 4531 2773
- Highway Police Tel. 1193
- Tourist Police Tel. 1155
This page was last edited at 11:05, on 26 October 2008 by Wikitravel user Texugo. Based on work by bornDistinction, Wikitravel user(s) Morph and Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel.