Sing Buri (province)
oloelacela Sing Buri Province is in Central Thailand.
Land of Heroes and Courageous People, the Reclining Buddha Image, Famous Fish of Mae La, and the Trading Area of the Central Region
Sing Buri was a great city in Thai history for the heroic act of the villagers of Bang Rachan in battle. Located on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River, about 142 km from Bangkok, it has an area of around 841 sq km. Geographically, it is a basin where three rivers: Chao Phraya, Noi, and Lop Buri, flow through. Somdet Khrom Phraya Damrong Rajanuphab described the city that âSing Buri is an ancient and large city with a fortress, a royal palace, and Wat Maha That. One important thing is the reclining Chakkrasi Buddha image which is larger than the others in Thailand. It is an imitation of the Indian Buddha image, like the one at a cave in Yala province. Sing Buri was called by different names: the city of Singha Rachathirat or the city of Singha Racha. The city sits by âChakkrasiâ the large river, 200 Sen (Thai measurement equivalent to 40 m) away from the Chao Phraya River. Since the Chakkrasi River has been shallow, the city of Sing Buri has become a mysterious city.â The city of Sing Buri was established as Sing Buri province in 1895 during the reign of King Rama V.
Among the charms of Sing Buri, many roads in the town of Sing Buri are named after the heroes of the Bang Rachan village, such as Nai Thaen, Nai Dok, Nai In, Nai Mueang, Khun San, etc. Besides, there are a great number of Buddhist temples, both of the old and new ages.
Presently, it is divided into six administrative districts; namely, Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri, Amphoe In Buri, Amphoe Bang Rachan, Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan, Amphoe Phrom Buri, and Amphoe Tha Chang.
Distances from Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri to Other Districts
- Amphoe Bang Rachan 10 km
- Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan 16 km
- Amphoe Phrom Buri 16 km
- Amphoe In Buri 17 km
- Amphoe Tha Chang 18 km
- North - borders Chai Nat and Nakhon Sawan.
- South - borders Ang Thong.
- East - borders Lop Buri.
- West - borders Chai Nat and Suphan Buri.
Distances from Sing Buri to Nearby Provinces
- Lop Buri 33 km
- Ang Thong 40 km
- Chai Nat 53 km
- Nakhon Sawan 101 km
- Sing Buri - the provincial capital
From Bangkok, there are two routes:
Route I: Take Highway 1 (Phahonyothin Road) and, at Km 52, switch to Highway 32 (Asian Highway), past Amphoe Bang Pa-in in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. Then, change to Highway 309, past Ang Thong to the town of Sing Buri, a total distance of 135 km.
Route II: Take Highway 1 (Phahonyothin Road), past Amphoe Wang Noi in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Amphoe Nong Khae in Sara Buri, and Lop Buri. From Lop Buri, take Highway 311, past Amphoe Tha Wung and drive towards Sing Buri, a total distance of 179 km.
The Transport Company Limited on Kamphaeng Phet 2 Road operates an air-conditioned bus service from Bangkok to Sing Buri every day. For more information, call Tel. 0 2936 2852-66, or visit www.transport.co.th. Furthermore, a private operator âSo Wiriya Tour Company Limitedâ offers a daily bus service. For more details, call Tel. 0 2512 2565, or contact the Sing Buri office at Tel. 0 3651 1259.
Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri
The Provincial Court and City Hall of Sing Buri are located on Wilai Chit Road, Tambon Nai Mueang, in the Municipality of Mueang Sing Buri on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. The court was built in Ro So 129 (1910), and the City Hall in Ro So 130 (1911), during the reign of King Rama V. They are one-storey brick buildings in the European style. Apart from their beauty, the buildings are of great architectural value. The Fine Arts Department registered the buildings as national ancient monuments on 25 January 1990.
Wat Sawang Arom is located in Ban Bang Mon, Tambon Ton Pho, in the Municipality of Mueang Sing Buri, about 2 km from the old City Hall toward the Chao Phraya River. The temple is a centre of arts concerning education, construction of the Ubosot (ordination hall), Wihan (image hall), Sala (pavilion), and particularly the sculpture of Buddha images, which has been passed down from the Ban Chang Lo School in Thon Buri district. Within the temple compound, the Nang Yai Museum has collected more than 300 perfect and playable âNang Yaiâ great shadow puppets. Phrakhru Singhamuni, the past abbot, gathered some of the figures from the late Ayutthaya period. The others were given by Khru Pia, leader of a shadow play troupe who is well-versed in supervising and voicing the great shadow puppet play and has continued to pass down such performing art. For a show, the Nang Yai puppets are divided into 4 sets: The Great Battle (a battle against the Demon King - - Ravana), The Mongkut â But Lop Battle, The Naga Noose, and The Wirun Chambang Battle. Here, there is a demonstration of a Nang Yai play. The museum is open on Monday to Friday from 9.00 a.m. â 4.00 p.m., and on Saturday and Sunday from 8.30 a.m. â 5.00 p.m. For those interested in the show, contact in advance at Tel. 08 1851 6205, 08 1802 6085. To get there: Take Highway 308 (Sing Buri â Ang Thong, the old route) to Km 94, about 3 km from the town of Sing Buri.
Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi Worawihan is a royal temple in the third class. It is located in Tambon Chakkrasi. Presumably, the temple was built before the Ayutthaya Kingdom. Inside the Wihan (image hall), a large reclining Buddha image is enshrined. This beautiful Sukhothai-styled Buddha image is 47.42 m long, facing the north. The Buddha imageâs head points to the east. Furthermore, there are two other Buddha images: Phra Kan which is a gilded stone image and Phra Kaeo which is a cast image sitting crossed legged in the so-called âdiamond throneâ posture. The two sacred images have beautiful features. They were built in the reign of King Rama V to be the principal image at a ceremony for civil servants to swear an oath of allegiance to the king. In front of the hall, there are cannon-ball trees which are important in Buddhism. For more information, call Tel. 0 3652 0251, 0 3654 3415. To get there: By car: From Amphoe Mueang, follow Highway 3032 (Sing Buri â Suphan Buri) for around 4 km. By bus: Take the Sing Buri â Ban Don Pru bus No. 648, the Suphan Buri â Khok Samrong bus No. 462, or the mini-bus from the bus terminal in Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri and get off in front of the temple.
Wat Na Phrathat is located in Ban Phra Non Chakkrasi, Tambon Chakkrasi, around 1.5 km from Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi. Initially, the villagers called the temple âWat Hua Mueang.â In the reign of King Rama IV, it was renamed âWat Na Phrathat.â The area around this place was assumed to have been the old town of Sing Buri. The important thing of the temple is Phra Prang (corn-shaped pagoda) which is around 8 Wa (Thai measurement: 1 Wa equivalent to 78.7 inches) high. The pagoda has figures of demons holding batons and garudas over the relic chamber. The early Ayutthayan style of architecture was later added to the pagoda in the form of Choranam brick niches built on its four sides. Up from the laterite base, bricks were formed into prang-style indented corners with brick antefixes. To the east of the pagoda is Phra Wihan Luang (grand image hall), and to the west lies the Ubosot (ordination hall) with many round-shaped pagodas. These features are the architecture of the late Ayutthaya period. The Fine Arts Department registered the temple as an ancient monument on 8 March 1935. To get there: By car: Take Highway 3032 (Sing Buri â Suphan Buri). At Km 4, take a turn into the lane of the Provincial Prison of Sing Buri for around 1 km. By bus: Take a bus on the same route to Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi.
Wat Prachotikaram is located in Tambon Bang Krabue, around 5 km from the town of Sing Buri, on Highway 311 (Sing Buri â Chai Nat, the old route). It is an ancient temple. Two large Sukhothai-styled images of Buddha in the posture of persuading relatives not to quarrel are enshrined here. Luangpho Sap is 6 Wa (Thai measurement: 1 Wa equivalent to 78.7 inches) and 7 Nio (Thai measurement: 1 Nio equivalent to 0.82 inches) high. Luangpho Sin is 3 Wa, 3 Sok (Thai measurement: 1 Sok equivalent to 19.68 inches), and 5 Nio high. Both have beautiful features and are worshipped by the general public.
Wat Kradangnga Buppharam is located at Mu 6, Tambon Bang Krabue, a short distance from Wat Prachotikaram. The Ubosot (ordination hall) here is beautiful and unique in a modern style. It stands on the base of an old preaching hall. An ancient bell-shaped Chedi (pagoda) is like that of the early Ayutthaya period. This is considered the most complete pagoda among those of the same age, and was registered as a national ancient monument. Furthermore, in front of the pagoda, an ancient Ubosot with clay roof tiles has beautiful woodcarving door panels. To get there: Take Highway 311 (Sing Buri â Chai Nat, the old route) to Km 6, around 7 km from Amphoe Mueang.
Amphoe Phrom Buri
Wat Kudi Thong is located at Mu 3, Tambon Bang Nam Chiao, around 400 m from the town of Sing Buri, on Highway 32 between Km 125-126. Within the temple compound, there is the Mondop (square building) resembling the twelve-indented corner pagoda, built in 1900 by Luangpho Panya Uttamaphichai the abbot. At the top of the Mondop, the Lord Buddhaâs relics are enshrined. Inside, the Lord Buddhaâs metal footprint is worshipped. Also, on the temple grounds lies the Thai Phuan Arts and Culture Centre. Collected here are daily utensils, clothes, ornaments, tools for farming, fishing, and animal trapping, as well as ancient water-based vehicles. For admission, contact the abbot of Wat Kudi Thong who is in charge of the museum. The museum is open daily from 8.00 a.m. â 7.00 p.m.
Burmese Mounds and Camp are located in Ban Chedi Hak, Mu 1, Tambon Ban Paeng, around 16 km from the town of Sing Buri, on Highway 32 at Km 129. This ancient community features long mounds similar to an L-shape, around 5-15 m long and 3 m wide. It was presumed that the mounds were built in the Ayutthaya period in around 1584 when the Burmese army set up a camp at the mouth of the Bang Phutsa River for gathering troops to strike the Ayutthaya Kingdom. This area is considered a historic place. Nowadays, it is a park for recreation for the general public.
Wat Amphawan is located in Tambon Phrom Buri, on Highway 36 at Km 130. This temple is renowned for insight meditation practice. Phra Ratchasutthiyanmongkhon (Luangpho Charan Thitathammo) is the abbot. To get there By bus From Bangkok, take the Bangkok â Sing Buri bus or the Bangkok â Amphoe Wat Sing bus. Get off at the entrance to the temple and take a taxi motorcycle. From the town of Sing Buri, take the Sing Buri â Wat Trachu mini-bus at the bus terminal in town and get off in front of the temple.
Wat Phra Prang Muni is located in Tambon Muang Mu, opposite the Agricultural College of Sing Buri, on Highway 32 between Km 134-135 (the route to Amphoe Phrom Buri). Here, the Phra Prang (corn-shaped pagoda) is prominently high. Next to the pagoda is the Wihan (image hall) of Luangpho Yen, the sacred stucco image of Buddha from the Ayutthaya period. Beside the Wihan lies a holy well which had been an ancient amulet cache from which soil was dug to fill the Wihanâs area. Inside the Ubosot, (ordination hall) mural paintings by Pheng who was a Laotian, depicting stories about hell and heaven, are second to none in beauty. They were painted around 1919.
Amphoe Tha Chang
Wat Phikun Thong is located in Tambon Wihan Khao, around 16 km from the town of Sing Buri and around 9 km from Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi Worawihan. Villagers call it âWat Luangpho Phaeâ (Phra Thep Singhaburachan). Within the temple compound, the Luangpho Phae Museum displays the history of Luangpho Phae, the revered Buddhist monk, and his eight requisites from the past to the present. On the other side, there is Thailandâs largest Buddha image in the posture of giving a blessing, called âPhra Phutthasuwanmongkhon Mahamuni or Luangpho Yai,â with a lap width of 11 Wa, 2 Sok, and 7 Nio, and a height of 21 Wa, 1 Khuep (Thai measurement equivalent to 10 inches), and 3 Nio. The reinforced concrete interior was decorated with 24 carat gold mosaics. The large Wihan (image hall) is surrounded by a gallery where Buddha images in different postures representing each day in a week and a large image of Phra Sangkatchai (Kaccayana or Happy Buddha) are enshrined. There is also a Dharma park and other beautiful structures among tranquil and shady surroundings. To get there: Take Highway 3032. See the direction sign to Wat Phikun Thong between Km 7-8 and follow Highway 3008 for around 8 km.
Wat Champa Thong is located in Tambon Pho Prachak. This is the place where the royal boat used during HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhornâs cruise along the Noi River has been kept. The name of this paddle boat or Ruea Mat Keng is Champa Thong Sing Buri. Furthermore, there is a large reclining Rattanakosin-styled Buddha image. To get there: Take Highway 3454, and, between Km 22-23, turn left for around 800 m.
Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan
Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Monument and Khai Bang Rachan Park are 15 km from the town of Sing Buri, on Highway 3032. They cover an area of around 115 rai, and feature an arboretum garden. Sculptures of 11 heroic leaders of Khai Bang Rachan or the Bang Rachan Camp, which were cast by the Fine Arts Department, appear magnificently in the garden. His Majesty the King presided over the opening ceremony of the monument on 29 July 1976. The Bang Rachan Camp is a place of great historical importance. This land recorded the events of bravery and sacrifice made by the Thai heroes on the third lunar month of the year of the rooster in 1765. The villagers of Ban Bang Rachan united to fight against the tremendous Burmese army and could endure eight Burmese attacks for five months before being conquered on Monday, the second day of the waning moon in the eighth lunar month in 1766. This is considered an important monument. The present Bang Rachan Camp is an imitation of the ancient camp. Within the Khai Bang Rachan Park, lies the Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Historical Centre which has three exhibition rooms. Room I displays the stories of Khai Bang Rachan, ancient utensils, the Maenam Noi kiln site, and the great shadow play. Room II exhibits the heritage of Sing Buri. Room III presents the way of life of the people of Sing Buri and precious things of Sing Buri. The centre is open daily from 8.00 a.m. â 5.00 p.m. For more information, call Tel. 0 3659 7126. To get there: Take the Suphan Buri â Sing Buri bus from the bus terminal in Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri.
Wat Pho Kao Ton or Wat Mai Daeng is located at Mu 8, Tambon Bang Rachan, opposite the Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Monument, around 15 km from the town of Sing Buri on Highway 3032. It was the stronghold of the villagers of Bang Rachan to resist against the Burmese troops who came to strike the capital of Ayutthaya in 1765. Villagers call it âWat Mai Daengâ since there are many redwoods on the temple grounds. Redwood is a hardwood. They are respected as sacred woods and no one dares to cut them down. Within the temple compound, there is the âPhra Achan Thammachot Wihan,â the hall with four porches. Phra Achan Thammachot was among the important leaders of the Bang Rachan villagers. Next to the hall, lies a pond called âSa Nam Phra Achan Thammachot,â teeming with fish. The fish is respected as sacred fish; the villagers, therefore, do not catch the fish for food. Besides, the spiritual shrine of heroes of Khai Bang Rachan is close to the fence. At the front, there is an imitation of the Bang Rachan Camp. The Fine Arts Department registered the temple as an ancient monument in 1955.
Amphoe Bang Rachan
Wat Phra Prang (Channasut) is located at Mu 7, Ban Khok Mo, Tambon Choeng Klat. Within the temple compound, there is the Phra Prang (corn-shaped pagoda) in the early Ayutthaya style of art of the 15th â 16th century. It was presumed that the pagoda was built in the reign of King Narai the Great (1656-1688). This corn-shaped brick pagoda is around 15 m high, having a short base and a hallow chamber. On the walls of the chamber, once there were mural paintings which now leave no trace. At the back, there is an ancient Wihan (image hall) in the Ayutthaya style of art, with a lion-figured wood-carved gable and eaves brackets. There is a mountain and replica of the Lord Buddhaâs footprint on its top. Furthermore, traces of around 3-4 Maenam Noi kilns can be seen. The temple was registered as an ancient monument on 8 March 1935.
Maenam Noi Kiln Site is located on the temple grounds of Wat Phra Prang (Channasut). It was the largest site for pottery production in the Ayutthaya period during 1371 to 1767. The kilns here were crossdraft kilns made of brick. With some part looking like a roofed boat (Ruea Prathun), it was also called as a âroofed boat kilnâ (Tao Prathun). The kiln was divided into three sections: a chimney, a pottery room, and a fuel room. The kiln, which was considered to be of a large scale, was 14 m long and 5.6 m wide, having a chimney of 2.15 m in diameter. Pottery products made at this site include jars, bowls, mortars, caskets, Chofa roof finials, floor tiles, etc. Examples of the products excavated at this site can be seen at the abbotâs residence. Apart from being a cultural heritage site, this archaeological site is also one of the study centres on ceramics in the world. To get there: Take the Sing Buri â Bang Rachan â Sankhaburi route or Highway 3251 for around 16 km. The site is around 1 km from the Channasut Market. Alternatively, take the Sing Buri â Sankhaburi bus No. 605.
Mae La Maha Rachanuson Park is located in Tambon Thap Ya. The park area lies in two districts: In Buri and Bang Rachan. From the town of Sing Buri, follow Highway 309 for around 9 km and turn left to Ban Choeng Klat for around 1.2 km. âMae Laâ is the name of a river in Sing Buri which flows through the areas in three districts: In Buri, Bang Rachan, and Mueang Sing Buri. This natural river is an abundant source of food for fish. Therefore, fish caught from the river is delicious, particularly Pla Chon Mae La or striped snake-head fish which is famous food and a souvenir from Sing Buri province. At present, it is getting more difficult to find such species of fish. Officials have attempted to conserve and help increase the fish by means of dredging the river course and building a park on the bank of the Mae La River. Around the park building, the area is provided as a recreational place for the general public. Furthermore, the park offers an accommodation service for visitors. Four rooms are available at 450 Baht each. For more information, call Tel. 0 3650 1416.
Amphoe In Buri
Wat Sutthawat or Wat Mai is located in Tambon Thap Ya on Highway 311 (Sing Buri â In Buri) between Km 11-12, around 5 km from Wat Kradangnga, or around 3.5 km from the In Buri District Office to the south. An old Wihan (image hall) here was built in the Ayutthaya period. Inside, there are mural paintings of master craftsmanship, depicting the life of the Lord Buddha and the Chulamani Chedi in heaven where His hair relic was enshrined. They portray the Lord Buddha when he was ordained, encountered Mara, had a meal given by Chuntha, fell ill, went to stay at the double Ingyin trees, and entered nirvana. The paintings also depict the cremation and distribution of his ashes and relics to kings and deities. On the gable, there was once a painting elaborating the Lord Buddhaâs ashes and relics being contained and floated on the water. Now, the painting has faded. This temple is considered an ancient place of beauty and value.
Wat Bot is located in Tambon In Buri on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. The temple is around 16 km from the town of Sing Buri, on Highway 311 (Sing Buri â In Buri, the old route) between Km 14-15. It is a royal temple. Initially, it was a deserted temple from the Ayutthaya period. The Ubosot (ordination hall) here is the only one which used train tracks as its core base. Interestingly, all doors and window panels of the ordination hall were skillfully carved by Chuen Hatthakoson, a native of Sing Buri. Inside the ordination hall, there is an ancient principal Buddha image which has very beautiful features. At present, the ordination hall has been renovated.
In Buri National Museum is located in the same area of Wat Bot by the Chao Phraya River. Initially, it belonged to Wat Bot. The museum was established by the past abbot of Wat Bot, Phra Thepsutthimoli the Ecclesiastical Provincial Governor of Sing Buri and Uthai Thani provinces, who has gathered and maintained ancient artefacts and artworks since 1940. The important artefacts which are a source of historical knowledge include those excavated from the Ban Khu Mueang ancient site and the Maenam Noi kiln site. There is an exhibition of decorations of Buddhist monksâ ecclesiastical titles, rank insignia fans, Buddha images of different periods, Thai and Chinese ceramics, and Thai musical instruments. On the ground floor, folk plays, fish traps, a weaving loom, and ancient lamps are on display. The museum is open on Wednesday to Sunday from 8.30 a.m â 4.00 p.m. Admission fee is 5 Baht per person. A guided tour is available for a group of visitors. Contact should be made around one week in advance. For more information, call Tel. 0 3658 1986.
To get there: By car: Take Highway 311 (Sing Buri â In Buri, the old route). The museum is located between Km 14-15. By bus: There are two routes. Route I, take the Sing Buri â Chai Nat bus (the old route) from the provincial bus terminal. Route II, take the Bangkok â Amphoe Wat Sing (Po 1 and Po 2) bus from the Bangkokâs Northern Bus Terminal or Mo Chit 2 Bus Terminal on Kamphaeng Phet Road.
Mueang Boran Ban Khu Mueang (Ban Khu Mueang Ancient City) is located in Ban Khu Mueang, Tambon Huai Chan, within the Khu Mueang Arboretum, around 23 km from the town of Sing Buri. Presumably, it was an ancient community in the Dvaravati period. The city plan is rectangular with curved corners, 650 m wide, 750 m long, and 1 m high from the ground. There is a large mound and surrounding moat with earth banks. Many pieces of pottery were excavated here, such as crockery, pot, jar, kettle, etc. Others also found include coloured beads, earthenware lamps, a greenish stone wheel of the law, earrings, and silver coins inscribed with the word âSri Dvaravati Svara Punya.â The discoveries indicate the fact that this community has continued from the Funan Age to the Rattanakosin Era. At present, discovered artefacts have been maintained at the In Buri National Museum. Inside the present area of Mueang Boran Ban Khu Mueang lies an arboretum which covers an area of around 500 rai and has a surrounding ancient moat. It is shady and beautiful with various species of plants. To get there: Take Highway 311 (Sing Buri â In Buri, the old route) to Km 17, or drive from the town of In Buri for around 7 km and turn left to take Highway 3285 (In Buri â Nong Sum).
Wat Muang is located in Tambon In Buri by the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Follow the Asian Highway and turn left after the In Buri Market for around 2.5 km. Presumably, it was built in the early Rattanakosin Era in around 1822. Originally, there were many mango (Mamuang) trees in the temple. Therefore, it is called âWat Muang.â Within the temple compound, there is an ancient Wihan (image hall). It is a rectangular lime building with a front portico. The gable is decorated with pieces of pottery. Inside, the principal Buddha image with beautiful features is enshrined. The Buddha image is in the posture of subduing Mara sitting on a lotus seat on the superimposed lion-footed pedestal. The ceiling is painted with star-shaped designs. There are tempera mural paintings by a local artisan, which was presumed to have been drawn in the reign of King Rama IV. The paintings depict the life of the Lord Buddha, as well as the lifestyles and culture in the ancient society at different levels.
- Khai Bang Rachan Sangsan Yaowachon House In the Khai Bang Rachan Park, Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan, Tel. 0 3653 5661-2, 08 9083 6528. Ten VIP houses: 1,000 Baht for two persons. Eleven youth houses: 150 Baht per person.
- Ban Tha Kham Homestay (by the Noi River) 10 Mu 5, Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan, Tel. 0 3653 5478. A package tour is 300 Baht per person (including morning alms offering). Activities include a trip to witness ancient things from the reign of King Rama V at Wat Tha Kham and a boat trip to Wat Phikun Thong, which costs 80 Baht per person, or 3,000 Baht for a group of 10 persons.
- Suan Chomphu Thong Sam Si (Thong Sam Si Rose Apple Orchard) is located at 10/1 Mu 5, Tambon Thon Samo, Amphoe Tha Chang. Fruit trees grown here are rose apple, lychee, and santol. It is open for the general public to visit and sample fresh fruits from the trees, or buy the fruits and their saplings back home. For more information, contact Khun Natthawut Chanphongkaeo at Tel. 0 3653 6161, Khun Wichian Phonthapthim at 182/1 Mu 4, Tambon Phikun Thong, at Tel. 08 7904 0989, or the Tha Chang District Agricultural Office at Tel. 0 3659 5119. To get there: Take Highway 3454 toward Wat Sema, and, at Km 25, turn right for around 800 m.
Events and Festivals
Bang Rachan Heroes Memorial Fair To be held during 4-6 February of every year at the Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Monument and Khai Bang Rachan Park in Tambon Bang Rachan, Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan. Activities at the fair include the ceremonies to pay homage to the image of Phra Achan Thammachot and to lay a wreath before the Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Monument, a light and sound presentation on the courageous acts of the heroes of Khai Bang Rachan, folk plays, entertainment, and exhibitions of numerous precious things of Sing Buri.
Kam Fa Tradition It is a merit-making fair of the people of Thai Phuan in Amphoe Phrom Buriâs Ban Bang Nam Chiao and Muban Phokhaphiwat. It is intended to worship and commemorate the deity who guards the sky and controls the rain to fall seasonally. On the second day of the waxing moon in the third lunar month, which is taken as a preparatory day, villagers will join and make Khao Pun (rice vermicelli), Khao Chi (grilled rice), and Khao Lam (sweet sticky rice) for alms offering in the next morning. An auspicious ritual performed by Buddhist monks will be held in the evening when villagers will bring sticky rice, eggs, and sugar to participate. At night, there is enjoyable entertainment. In the late night, the villagers will begin to steam sticky rice and make sweets. On the third day of the waxing moon in the third lunar month which is the Kam Fa Day, the villagers will bring the prepared offerings and food to make merit at the temple. Seven days after the Kam Fa, another half day of the Kam Fa ritual is extended, and after five more days, food will be offered to monks. After that, a piece of firewood will be brought to float in the river, as a ritual to get rid of drought. This is done lastly to complete the Kam Fa ceremony.
Ti Khao Bin Tradition It is an old tradition only observed in the village of Chakkrasi in Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri during the Songkran Festival between 13-15 April every year. The ceremony will be performed by villagers who will bring sticky rice or red sticky rice to be steamed and wrapped in banana-leaf cones. The cones of sticky rice will be put on footed trays and offered to Luangpho Phra Non Chakkrasi at Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi. After an appropriate period of time, there will be a ceremony to withdraw the rice. The villagers will go to get their trays and take some sticky rice from the cones into a small banana-leaf cup to be left before the reclining image of Buddha. The rest of the rice, which is considered the rice of Luangpho Phra Non Chakkrasi, will be shared and eaten at the temple by the villagers separating in groups of 6-7 people.
Kuan Khao Thip Tradition Khao Thip or Khao Mathupayat (rice sweet) is usually made in Muban Wat Kudi Thong, Ban Phokhaphiwat, and Wat Uttamaphichai in Amphoe Phrom Buri. The day is not exactly fixed, but it will happen during the time that young rice grows enough to give a milk-like juice. A ceremonial pavilion will be set up and encircled by a holy thread. Virgin girls will bring nine ingredients: bean, sesame, milk, butter, sugar, coconut, honey, sugarcane juice, and milk-like juice squeezed out of young rice, to mix in a giant wok. The ingredients will be heated by flame from the firewood of Javanese cassia and jujube trees, ignited by the sun. The stirring will be accompanied by Buddhist monksâ chant of victory, as well as sound of beating gongs and drums. The ritual still follows the traditional practice by having the appearance of a Brahman. The virgin girls who participate in the ritual must be the ones who do not yet start their first menstrual periods. They are required to wear white and practise the Buddhist eight precepts in order to purify their body and mind before the ceremony. The girls will help make Khao Thip, which takes around six hours to finish. The sweet will be put in a container as an offering to the monks in the next morning.
Traditional Long-tailed Boat Race To be held in September of every year on the Chao Phraya River at the embankment in front of the old City Hall. Many famous boats from other provinces join the race to win HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhornâs Cup. This is a challenging and exciting event for the beautifully decorated boats will show 2off at their best.
Fish Eating Festival and Sing Buri Red Cross Fair To be held in late December of every year. The Mae La River in Sing Buri is a natural source teeming with fish. Pla Chon Mae La or Mae La striped snake-head fish is very famous. It can be cooked into various delicious dishes of Sing Buri. Furthermore, Sing Buri is an origin of good cooks who possess recipes of well-known food and desserts.
Local Products and Souvenirs
- Khanom Pia (Chinese pastry) has been a famous souvenir of Sing Buri since 1936 for its delicious taste and freshness. The Chinese pastry is made in various flavours and fillings. It is available on sale at shops in general.
- Pla Chon Mae La Sing Buri is well-known for its source of tasty striped snake-head fish. It is commonly known that Sing Buriâs Mae La fish from the Mae La Ka Rong River is sold at the fresh Municipal Market of Sing Buri.
- Salapao Mae Saichai Salopao (Chinese bun) of the Guangzhou recipe is well-known for its soft texture and being kept for a long period. It is available at the Mae Saichai shop by the embankment on Wilai Chit Road.
- Kun Chiang and Mu Yong Chinese pork sausage and flossy pork are long famous as a souvenir for being crispy, less oily, and delicious. They are available in many brands at shops in general.
- Nuea Thup and Mu Thup Pound dried beef and pork are very popular. They can be kept for a long period and are available at shops in general.
Amphoe Phrom Buri
- Pearl-inlaid Products are made at Ban Paeng opposite Wat Chinda Mani. Pieces of skillful work of fine art range from small ones, such as Talum Muk (footed container with an inward curved mouth), jewellery casket, betel nut container, and bag, to large-scale furniture. All the products are made in an ancient style by Thai skilled craftsmen. For more information, call Tel. 08 9809 1151.
- Mattress Making is mostly found in Amphoe Phrom Buri. It is a quality mattress filled with new kapok, having fine sewing and a beautiful design.
Amphoe In Buri
- Basketry is mostly found at Mu 6, Ban Ranam, Tambon Chi Nam Rai by the Basketry Group of Ranam Housewives. Pieces of basketry are made in different forms, including souvenirs. Materials used are rattan, bamboo, and water hyacinth, which are woven into various figures, such as hen, shrimp, frog, basket, food cover, etc., with fine craft and beautiful designs. For more information, contact the Basketry Group of Ranam Housewives at Tel. 08 1991 5818. To get there: Follow the road parallel to the irrigation canal for around 6 km and turn left for around 200 m. Then, turn right for around 1 km. The Basketry Group of Ranam Housewives is diagonally opposite Wat Ranam. Furthermore, the Group of Suan Maprang Housewives at Mu 5, Ban Suan Maphrao, Tambon Chi Nam Rai, also produces different forms of basketry.
- Krayasat This kind of crispy rice sweet is mostly made in Tambon Ban Rai. It is sweet, crispy, and soft, and suitable for a snack. It is on sale at shops in general.
- Group of Ban Bang Man Females 76 Mu 6, Tambon Ton Pho, Tel. 0 3651 1076, 0 3653 9483 (herbal shampoo and conditioners).
- Ketsara Bakery Branch I 661/10-11 Nai Chan Nuat Khiao Road, opposite the Sing Buri Polytechnic College, Tel. 0 3651 2197 (fish cake, fish Chinese pastry, fried fish cake, fish ice-cream, grilled striped snake-head fish and pound dried fish). It is open daily from 7.00 a.m. â 8.00 p.m.
- Ketsara Bakery Branch II 333 Mu 1, Asian Highway, Km 133, opposite the Sing Buri Agricultural College, Tel. 0 3651 2877, 0 3651 8333 (fish cake, fish Chinese pastry, fried fish cake, fish ice-cream, grilled striped snake-head fish, and pound dried fish). It is open daily from 7.00 a.m. â 9.00 p.m.
- Khanom Pia Roti Nai Kimsia 643/27 Nai Thaen Road, Tambon Bang Phutsa, Tel. 0 3653 0135 (Chinese pastry with bean filling). It is open daily from 7.00 a.m. â 4.00 p.m.
- Salapao Mae Saichai 511 Wilai Chit Road, Tambon Bang Phutsa, Tel. 0 3651 1672 (Chinese bun, Chinese pastry with salty bean, black gram, pork or fish filling, fish cracker, and pound dried fish). It is open daily from 7.00 a.m. â 8.00 p.m.
- Namphrik Pathumthip 94/30 Tambon Muang Mu, Tel. 0 3651 2640, 08 1853 2129 (Namphrik (chili sauce) Narok, Namphrik Kung Siap, Namphrik Ta Daeng). It is open daily from 7.00 a.m. â 6.00 p.m.
- Mu Thup Watcharin 141/1 Thammachot Road, Tel. 0 3651 2644 (pound dried beef or pork, beef or pork with spices, Chinese sausage). It is open daily from 7.00 a.m. â 7.00 p.m.
Amphoe Phrom Buri
- Khanom Pia Mae Simueang 450 Mu 6, Tambon In Buri, Tel. 0 3658 1699 (Chinese pastry filled with egg and gourd, or with bean, egg, and gourd). It is open daily from 6.00 a.m. â 6.00 p.m.
Amphoe Tha Chang
- Khanom Tan Kathi Sot and Khanom Thuai Fu Namtan Sot (Thai sweets using fresh coconut milk and sugar) 312/2 Mu 7, Tambon Thon Samo (next to Wat Sema), Tel. 08 1853 1181, 08 1853 7158. The outlet in Amphoe Mueang Sing Buri is in front of the (old) Siam Commercial Bank on Phan Rueang Road, Tel. 0 3659 5308.
Amphoe Khai Bang Rachan
- Processed Fruit of the Group of Wat Pradap Housewives 21 Mu 16, Tambon Bang Rachan, Tel. 08 1570 8474 (pickled mango, banana conserve, tamarind dredged with plum powder, tomato and star fruit in syrup, and dried tomato and star fruit). The processed fruits are on sale at the provincial bus terminal, the Khai Bang Rachan Park, and the Mae La Maha Rachanuson Park.
One-day Trip Bangkok â Sing Buri
- Pay homage to the reclining Buddha image at Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi Worawihan. The Buddha image has long been with the people of Sing Buri. Initially, the temple was called âWat Phra Non.â However, it was presumed that there was another temple named Chakkrasi around 1,200 m to the south of Wat Phra Non. Therefore, the two temples are called Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi. The reclining image is 50 m long. Inside the Wihan (image hall), there are two Buddha images: Phra Kaeo and Phra Kan. It was said that the two images were given by King Rama V to accompany the reclining image.
- Proceed to Wat Phikun Thong to pay homage to Luangpho Phae, the former abbot and famous master monk who was revered by the people of Tha Chang district. Within the temple compound, Phra Phutthasuwanmongkhonmuni, Thailandâs largest Buddha image in the posture of giving a blessing, is enshrined. At weekends, the temple grounds are occupied by vendors of fresh fruits from orchards, traditional desserts made by local people, and various kinds of food.
- Follow the direction sign to the agro-tourism village in Tha Chang district. Drop by at the first house to sample Khanom Tan (sweet made from palm fruit) and Khanom Thuai Fu (sweet made with fresh palm sap and flour). The sweets are fresh home-made. Witness how to make the sweets step by step from flour mixing, putting the mixture in Talai small cups, to steaming them. Contact should be made in advance at Tel. 08 1853 1181, 08 1853 7158, or call the shop in Mueang district, in front of the (old) Siam Commercial Bank on Phan Rueang Road at Tel. 0 3659 5308.
- Visit Suan Chomphu Thong Sam Si. Walk around the rose apple orchard. Sample fresh rose apple fruit from the tree, or buy some as a souvenir. The saplings are available to be grown at home. In the nearby areas, there are orchards of santol and Mafai (Burmese grape). For more information, contact Khun Natthawut Chanphongkaeo at Tel. 0 3653 6161, Khun Wichian Phonthapthim at 182/1 Mu 4, Tambon Phikun Thong, at Tel. 08 7904 0989, or call the Tha Chang District Agricultural Office at Tel. 0 3659 5119.
- Finally, pay homage to the Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Monument to commemorate the heroic acts of the brave villagers who sacrificed themselves for the nation, and walk across the road to Wat Pho Kao Ton which is believed to have been the stronghold of the villagers of Bang Rachan to fight against the invaders. Here, an annual fair will be held to praise the heroes of Bang Rachan for their great deeds in the past.
One-day Tour Programmes
- Visit the old City Hall built in Ro So 129 (1910).
- Pay homage to the reclining Buddha image at Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi Worawihan.
- Visit the Bang Rachan Park, Wat Pho Kao Ton, and the Heroes of Khai Bang Rachan Monument.
- Pay homage to the Buddha image in the posture of giving a blessing at Wat Phikun Thong.
- Have lunch.
- Visit the Maenam Noi Kiln Site, a production site of pottery, at Wat Phra Prang.
- See a view of the Mae La Maha Rachanuson Park, an origin of âPla Mae Laâ (Mae La fish).
- Visit the In Buri National Museum and Wat Bot.
- Drop by to buy souvenirs on the way back home.
- Pay homage to the reclining Buddha image at Wat Phra Non Chakkrasi Worawihan.
- Pay homage to Luangpho Yen, the sacred stucco Buddha image from the Ayutthaya period, at Wat Phra Prang Muni.
- Visit the Bang Rachan Park.
- Visit the Maenam Noi Kiln Site, a production site of pottery from the Ayutthaya period, at Wat Phra Prang.
- Have lunch at the Channasut Market.
- Cruise the canal on the Wat Noi Nang Hong â Wat Phikun Thong route to admire nature and observe way of life by the canal banks.
- Drop by to buy souvenirs on the way back home.
- Study the information on travel and tourist attractions.
- Study the seasons of flowers, migratory birds, or appropriate travelling time.
- Help maintain tourism resources of both natural and cultural attractions.
- Do not act against the local way of life and traditions.
- Be careful and have regard for safety while travelling.
- Follow the authoritiesâ advice strictly.
This page was last edited at 15:24, on 26 December 2008 by Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel. Based on work by bornDistinction, Wikitravel user(s) Texugo and Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel.