Lopburi Province is in Central Thailand.
Lopburi town (ลพบุรี) is the provincial capital of Lopburi Province.
National Treasures of King Narai’s Palace and Phra Kan Shrine, Famous Prang Sam Yot, City of Din So Phong Marl, Well-known Pa Sak Jolasid Dam and Golden Land of King Narai the Great.
Lop Buri has been a town of cultural diversity and continuity for more than 3,000 years since the pre-historic period. It is a place where a lot of historical evidence has been discovered. During the Dvaravati period (the 6th – 11th century), Lop Buri had been under the control of the Mons and Khmers until the 14th century when the Thai possessed more power in this land. During the reign of King U Thong, the first king of Ayutthaya, Lop Buri was the Mueang Luk Luang – the prince’s town. King U Thong appointed Phra Ramesuan, his eldest son to rule Lop Buri in 1350. When King U Thong passed away in 1369, the prince had to give the throne to his uncle who ascended to the throne with the royal name of “Phra Borom Rachathirat I”. The prince still governed Lop Buri afterwards. In 1388, Phra Borom Rachathirat I passed away and Phra Ramesuan went to the throne in Ayutthaya for the second time.
Later, the significance of Lop Buri decreased until the reign of King Narai the Great (1656 - 1688). During that period, Lop Buri was greatly restored due to the invasion of the Dutch who traded with the Thais. King Narai realised that Ayutthaya was not quite safe from the blockade and fire of the enemies in wartime. Therefore, the king had Lop Buri re-constructed as the second capital city due to its strategic suitability. To do as such, King Narai the Great received assistance from French and Italian architects. The palace and the battle fortresses were strongly built as a barrier line. The king also mostly resided in Lop Buri and allowed the diplomatic corps and foreigners to pay courtesy calls in this town on several occasions.
After the reign of King Narai the Great, the importance of the city reduced. Somdet Phra Phet Racha moved all the official authorities back to Ayutthaya. During the later reigns, kings did not reside in this town again. During the reign of King Rama IV of the Rattanakosin period in 1863, the king had Lop Buri renovated by fixing the walls, fortresses and the broken palace gates, as well as, the Phiman Mongkut Throne Hall constructed within the palace and granted its name as “Phra Narai Ratchaniwet”. Therefore, Lop Buri became a significant city once again.
After the change of government, Lop Buri was restored once more under the government of Field Marshall Plaek Pibulsongkram. The new Lop Buri was constructed as a military city on the east side of the railway covering a wide territory, while the old one was on the west side. Lop Buri has, therefore, become a strategic centre at present. It is 153 kilometres from Bangkok with a total area of 6,586.67 square kilometres.
The province comprises 11 amphoe:- Ban Mi; Chai Badan; Khok Charoen; Khok Samrong; Lam Sonthi; Mueang Lop Buri; Nong Muang; Phatthana Nikhom; Sa Bot; Tha Luang; Tha Wung.
Distances from Amphoe Mueang Lop Buri to Nearby Districts.
- Amphoe Tha Wung 10 kilometres
- Amphoe Ban Mi 32 kilometres
- Amphoe Khok Samrong 35 kilometres
- Amphoe Phatthana Nikhom 51 kilometres
- Amphoe Nong Muang 54 kilometres
- Amphoe Sa Bot 65 kilometres
- Amphoe Khok Charoen 77 kilometres
- Amphoe Tha Luang 83 kilometres
- Amphoe Chai Badan 97 kilometres
- Amphoe Lam Sonthi 120 kilometres
- Lopburi town - the provincial capital
- North Phetchabun and Nakhon Sawan
- South Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya and Saraburi
- East Nakhon Ratchasima and Chaiyaphum
- West Sing Buri, Ang Thong and Nakhon Sawan
1. From Bangkok, take Highway No. 1 (Phahonyothin Road) passing Phra Phutthabat District, Saraburi, onto Lop Buri. The total distance is 153 kilometres.
2. From Bangkok, take Highway No. 32 which separates from Highway No. 1, passing Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. There are three routes as follows:
- Enter Bang Pahan District, passing Nakhon Luang District into Highway No. 3196. Then, pass Ban Phraek District onto Lop Buri.
- Enter at the Ang Thong Interchange to Tha Ruea District and turn left into Highway No. 3196, passing Ban Phraek District onto Lop Buri.
- Pass Ang Thong, Sing Buri, and take Highway No. 311 (Sing Buri – Lop Buri), passing Tha Wung District onto Lop Buri.
Take the air-conditioned bus from the Bangkok Bus Terminal (Mo Chit 2) which departs everyday from 5.00 a.m. – 8.30 p.m. every half an hour. It costs 80 baht a person. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 2936 2852-66 ext: 442, 331 or Lop Buri Sing Transport Co., Ltd. at Tel. 0 2936 3603 or www.transport.co.th
Take the Northern Line from Hua Lamphong Railway Station everyday, many rounds per day. For more information, please contact the Traveling Service, State Railway of Thailand at Tel. 1690, 0 2220 4334, 0 2220 4444 (Reservation by telephone 3 days in advance but not exceeding 60 days), or at www.railway.co.th.
Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat (วัดพระศรีรัตนมหาธาตุ) is located in front of Lop Buri Railway Station, constructed in a certain period with no precise evidence. Entering into the temple’s compound, visitors will firstly see the “Sala Plueang Khrueang”. The pavilion is a place for a king to get changed before attending the religious ceremony in the wihan or ubosot. At present, the only items left in the pavilion are reclining columns, while other parts are all ruined. Next to the pavilion is the “Wihan Luang”, constructed during the reign of King Narai the Great. It is a very grand wihan with a rectangular main entrance in a traditional Thai style, while its windows are French Gothic. Inside the wihan enshrines a Buddha image on a masonry base known as Chukkachi. On the south of the Wihan Luang is a small-sized ubosot in which all windows are in the French style. On the west side of the Wihan Luang is the Largest Phra Prang of Lop Buri, constructed of laterite and covered with cement decorated with stucco relief of Buddha images and life history of the Lord Buddha on the gable, reflecting the Mahayana Buddhist sect. The Gopura - arched gate - to the grand Prang is of the Lawo art, presenting very beautiful stucco relief. The Gopura is believed to have originally been constructed during the prosperous period of the Khmers but was later renovated during the reign of King Ramesuan, King Maha Chakraphat, and King Narai the Great. Therefore, the patterns are combined and represent many periods. This Prang originally contained various Buddha images. The famous ones are votive tablets of the Lop Buri period such as Phra Hu Yan and Phra Ruang which were discovered in large numbers.
Another item that should be mentioned is about one of the “Prang Rai” – satellite Prangs - on the northwestern side. At every corner of its star-fruit shape, there is a stucco relief of Thep Phanom – angel in adoration - turning their faces to every direction. The angels’ faces are oblong with connected eyebrows, presenting the U Thong art, while their headdress is in a triangle with a halo. It is considered as quite a strange beauty rarely seen in Thailand.
Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat is open from 7.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. except for Monday and Tuesday. The entrance fee is 30 baht for adults and free for children.
Office Building of the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) Central Region Office: Region 7 (อาคารสำนักงานการท่องเที่ยวแห่งประเทศไทย (ททท.) ภาคกลางเขต 7) is located near Wat Phra Si Rattana Mahathat. It is a hip-roof building, constructed in 1930 by Than Phrakhru Lop Buri Khanachan, the abbot of Wat Sao Thong Thong to be a school building, replacing the Khorosan one which was located within Wat Sao Thong Thong. This new school was called Phra Narai School which had been a provincial school for boys. Then, in 1938, the school moved to Phibun Witthayalai School until the present time. This two-storey wooden building is under the supervision of the Fine Arts Department and was registered as an ancient monument on 16 October, 1984. TAT requested for permission to use it as an office building from the Fine Arts Department in 1998.
Phra Narai Ratchaniwet (พระนารายณ์ราชนิเวศน์) King Narai the Great had this palace constructed in 1666 to be his royal residence in Lop Buri. It is divided into the outer, middle and inner parts of the royal palace. The wall of the palace was made of brick and cement with battlements along the ridge. There are overall 11 arched gates. The main entrance has a cruciform plan with a pointed arch at the doorway. The archway is decorated with a cement sculpture in the triangular Krachang pattern developed from the lotus shape. There are rows of around 2,000 small pointed arch holes similar to lotus shapes for placing lamps on the gates and walls of the middle and inner parts. Later, King Rama IV had the palace renovated in 1856 to be the inner part of the royal palace and granted its name as “Phra Narai Ratchaniwet”. The structures within the compound can be divided into 2 groups in accordance with the period of construction as follows:
Structures during the reign of King Narai the Great include:
- Dusit Sawan Thanya Maha Prasat Hall (พระที่นั่งดุสิตสวรรค์ธัญญมหาปราสาท) is a throne hall whose style of fine art is a mixture of Thai and French architecture. Originally, it was an audience hall with a pointed top in the Mondop shape. At its centre is situated the Sihabanchon - a windowed balcony - for the king to receive high-ranking visitors. The front door and windows of the hall are in a pointed arch, while the doors and windows of the mondop at the back are in a Thai style called Ruean Kaeo Than Sing – a niche with a lion base. Described in the French envoy’s chronicle, “The wall is decorated with mirrors from France. The ceiling was divided into a grid of 4 squares beautifully decorated with a golden flower pattern and crystal from China”. The outside wall of the lower part of the Mondop contains small pointed arch niches for placing lamps similar to those witnessed along the archway and walls of the palace. This was also the place where King Narai the Great received Chevalier de Chaumont and the French envoys in 1685.
- Chanthara Phisan Hall (พระที่นั่งจันทรพิศาล) was constructed in 1665 as a residence of King Narai the Great on the original foundation of the one constructed by Phra Ramesuan, the first son of King U Thong when he governed Lop Buri. This hall was built in the traditional Thai architecture with the Muk Det - a walled portico - on its front. Later, when the Sutha Sawan Hall was constructed and King Narai the Great moved to stay at the new royal residence, the Chanthara Phisan was used as an audience hall, similar to what was stated in the record by the French. In the reign of King Rama IV, the king commanded the renovation of this hall similar to the original one. At present, the hall is an exhibition venue, presenting the biography of King Narai the Great and the fine arts of Ayutthaya and Rattanakosin.
- Suttha Sawan Hall (พระที่นั่งสุทธาสวรรค์) was a private residence of King Narai the Great, located at the inner section of the royal palace. According to the French chronicle, “this hall was situated in a shady park where various kinds of plants were grown by the king himself. The roof of the hall was layered with yellow glazed tiles. At its four corners were large four pools where the king bathed.” King Narai the Great passed away at this hall on 11 July, 1688.
- Phrachao Hao Building (ตึกพระเจ้าเหา) is located on the south of the outer section of the royal palace. This building clearly presents the architectural characteristics of King Narai the Great’s period. It is a rectangular shape building with a width of 10 metres, length of 20 metres, and height of 1 metre from the ground. It is a Thai-style brick building with a laterite base. However, at present, all that remains are only the walls, windows and doors of the Ruean Kaeo arch with the Simha or lion base whose patterns can still be seen. Due to the fact that there was a Chukkachi base inside the building and the French chronicle stated that it was a temple, it can be assumed to have been the Buddha image hall of the palace. Toward the end of King Narai the Great’s reign, Phra Phet Racha and Khun Luang Sorasak utilized this Phrachao Hao Building (Hao in ancient Thai language means sky) as a meeting place among aristocrats and militants to depose King Narai the Great while he was seriously sick.
- Reception Hall for Foreign Visitors (ตึกรับรองแขกเมือง) is located within the compound of the outer section of the royal court, near the Twelve Royal Storage Buildings. It reflects the French architectural style. In accordance with the French chronicle, this building was at the centre of the park, which was divided into a grid, while around the building was a moat. There were also 20 springs lining up inside the moat. From the remaining structure, it must have been very beautiful in the past. At its front stands a brick base of what is believed to have been a small entertainment theatre where performances were presented to the city’s honourable guests after the reception. Moreover, King Narai the Great had banquets arranged for the French envoys at this venue in 1685 and 1687.
- Phra Khlang Supharat (The Twelve Royal Storage Buildings) (พระคลังศุภรัตน์ (หมู่ตึกสิบสองท้องพระคลัง)) is situated between the water tank and the Reception Hall for Foreign Visitors. It was orderly constructed of brick into 2 rows of buildings connecting to each other. The buildings are quite solid and dim with a road cutting through the middle. It is believed to have been a place to store royal goods and treasures for official use.
- Water Tank (อ่างเก็บน้ำหรือถังเก็บน้ำประปา) was constructed of brick with a specially-thick wall at its edge. Underground lies a baked-clay pipe to distribute water from Thale Chup Son and Sap Lek Reservoir to the buildings and halls. In accordance with the chronicle, the water distribution system was the work of the French and Italians.
- Elephant Stables (โรงช้างหลวง) are lined up along the wall separating the outer and the middle sections of the palace. Most of them have already been ruined with only 10 bases remaining. Elephants living in these stables were the royal or important ones ridden by King Narai the Great, royal family members, or high-ranking aristocrats.
Structures built during the reign of King Rama IV include:
- A group of structures in the Phiman Mongkut Pavilion complex and other buildings which are currently in the Somdet Phra Narai National Museum.
- Phiman Mongkut Pavilion (หมู่พระที่นั่งพิมานมงกุฎ) was constructed after the royal command of King Rama IV in 1862 as his private residence when he came to renovate Lop Buri. Connected to the Phiman Mongkut Pavilion, which was a royal residence are three other buildings; namely, Wisutthi Winitchai Pavilion, a throne hall, Chai Sattrakon Pavilion, an armoury, and Akson Sattrakhom, which was granted permission to be used as a city hall by King Rama V. Later, the city hall was moved to a new location. Therefore, this group of pavilions was combined with the Chanthara Phisan Hall and became the Somdet Phra Narai National Museum.
- Phra Prathiap Buildings (หมู่ตึกพระประเทียบ) are located behind the Phiman Mongkut Pavilion in the inner section of the royal palace. They comprise 2 single storey buildings and a group of 8 two-storey brick buildings, constructed for being residential quarters for inner court officials who followed King Rama V when the latter visited Lop Buri.
- Thim Dap or Royal Guards Residence (ทิมดาบ หรือที่พักของทหารรักษาการณ์) Passing through the entrance to the middle court, the buildings on both sides of the lawn were the residences of the royal guards of the palace.
- Somdet Phra Narai National Museum (พิพิธภัณฑสถานแห่งชาติสมเด็จพระนารายณ์) was established in 1923 and was divided into 4 buildings for antique displays as follows:
- 1. Phiman Mongkut Pavilion (พระที่นั่งพิมานมงกุฎ) displays pre-historic artefacts discovered in archaeological sites along the Chao Phraya River, in the central part of Thailand and in Lop Buri. Objects in the exhibition include human skeletons, pottery, terra cotta stoves, metal tools, bronze containers, stone and shell ornaments, etc. The pavilion is divided into various rooms as follows:
- - Thailand’s Central Region 257-957 A.D. Room (ห้องภาคกลางประเทศไทย พ.ศ. 800 - 1500) exhibits the Indian influenced culture called Dvaravati period, displaying political matters, settlement, technology and lifestyle, alphabets, languages, religious sites, religion and beliefs. The evidence on display include Buddha images, baked clay votive tablets and seals, inscriptions in Pali and Sanskrit languages, as well as, various respected images.
- - Khmer Influenced and Lop Buri Arts Room (ห้องอิทธิพลศิลปะเขมร-ลพบุรี) displays historical proof, dated around the 10th – 13th century. It presents the archaeology during the period when the Khmer expanded their influence and governed Lop Buri, as well as, the central part of Thailand. Objects on exhibit include lintels, Buddha images canopied by a seven-headed Naga and in the forgiving posture, etc.
- - Thailand’s Art History Room (ห้องประวัติศาสตร์ศิลปะในประเทศไทย) exhibits fine arts discovered in various regions of Thailand during the 7th – 13th century such as the Hariphunchai, Lanna and Lop Buri arts through the Bodhisattva images, votive tablets and bronze Buddha images of different periods.
- - Ayutthaya – Rattanakosin Fine Arts History Room (ห้องประวัติศาสตร์ศิลปกรรมสมัยอยุธยา – รัตนโกสินทร์) displays the antiques of the 13th – 19th Buddhist century such as Buddha images, crockery, monetary, weapons, silverwares, golden ware, and parts of architectural sculptures and engraved wooden work.
- - Contemporary Arts Room (ห้องศิลปะร่วมสมัย) exhibits paintings and printed work in a contemporary style created by Thai artists.
- - The Room Presenting the History, Politics, Society, Culture and Biography of King Rama IV. (ห้องประวัติศาสตร์ การเมือง สังคม วัฒนธรรม และพระราชประวัติของสมัยพระบาทสมเด็จพระจอมเกล้าเจ้าอยู่หัว(รัชกาลที่ 4)) The king commanded the construction of the palace in Lop Buri in 1856. Exhibited objects include paintings of the king, his royal costumes, accessories, bed, gold coins and crockery with his royal emblem of the crown, etc.
- 2 Chanthara Phisan Hall (พระที่นั่งจันทรพิศาล) is a form of architecture in a traditional Thai style displaying the history, politics, society, culture, and biography of King Narai the Great. Moreover, its back room exhibits the fine arts of the Ayutthaya and Rattanakosin periods.
- 3 Phra Prathiap Buildings or the Central Thai Lifestyle Buildings (หมู่ตึกพระประเทียบ (อาคารชีวิตไทยภาคกลาง)) presents a combination of Western architecture. There are exhibitions on the Central Thai lifestyle, ways of life, houses, tools, fishing and farming utensils, and local handicrafts of the central Thai people, especially in Lop Buri from the past to the present time.
- 4. Nang Yai Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์หนังใหญ่) presents the performances of shadow play on the Ramakian story of Nang Yai from Wat Takhian, Thai Talat Sub-district, Mueang Lop Buri District.
Somdet Phra Narai National Museum received the 2002 Thailand Tourism Award of Outstanding Performance in the category of Arts and Cultural Tourist Attractions. It is open daily except Monday and Tuesday, from 8.30 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. Entrance fee is 30 baht. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 3641 1458.
Wat Sao Thong Thong (วัดเสาธงทอง) is located on Rue de France which connects Phra Narai Ratchaniwet and Ban Wichayen. It is an ancient temple, originally divided into Wat Ruak and Wat Sao Thong Thong. Phraya Boran Ratchathanin ( Phon Techakhup ), Ayutthaya’s Governor, reported his opinion to Somdet Phra Maha Samanachao Kromphraya Wachirayan Warorot when the latter came to inspect the monks in Ayutthaya that Wat Ruak possessed an ubosot, while Wat Sao Thong had a wihan. Therefore, both of them should be combined and called Wat Sao Thong Thong.
The ancient remain that should be visited is Phra Wihan, believed to have originally been constructed as a religious site of another religion because in accordance with the map written by a French craftsman, the area was a residence of the Persians. This wihan might be an Islamic ceremonial venue of the Persians. Besides, there are Pichu and Khotchasan or Khorasan buildings, assumed to have been the residences of the city’s honourable guests and Persian envoys.
Wichayen House (บ้านหลวงรับราชทูต หรือ บ้านหลวงวิชาเยนทร์) is located on Wichayen Road, 300 metres from Prang Khaek to the north of Phra Narai Ratchaniwet. It served as the residence for the envoys paying a courtesy call on King Narai the Great in Lop Buri. The first group of French ambassadors who arrived in 1685 stayed at this place. Then, a Greek man, called Constantine Phaulkon who came and served as a government official, did many good meritorious deeds and was granted the position of royal minister “Chaophraya Wichayen”. He was also granted a house on the west side of this residence.
The compound within Ban Wichayen comprises 3 sections: a grand two-storey building made of bricks and a narrow and long one-storey building with the arched entrance in the west.
At the centre are situated significant buildings, such as bases of constructions assumed to have been a bell tower and a Christian church at the back with a gable entrance.
In the east lies a group of large two-storey buildings with a staircase in an arch shape at its front. The entrance is similar to that on the west side.
The architectural characteristics inside some residences in the compound are in the authentic European style, especially the large two-storey ones on the east, which were made of bricks and covered with cement. Their windows and archways reflect the Renaissance style of art, which was popular during that period. The important thing is the Christian church, whose plan and design is in a European style but with the entrance and window facades in the Ruean Kaeo style. The top of each column is an elongated lotus petal shape, presenting traditional Thai art. It is considered as the first Christian church, decorated in the Buddhist temple style.
It is open from 7.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m. except Monday and Tuesday. Admission fee is 30 baht.
The City Pillar Shrine or Lukson Shrine (ศาลหลักเมือง หรือ ศาลลูกศร) is located along the road behind Wat Puen Yai, near the Wichayen House. The shrine is a small building, covering an area of approximately 12 square metres. There is a 1-metre stone pillar rising through the ground. It is an ancient city pillar shrine, called Lukson Shrine. Prince Damrong Rajanupab wrote about this shrine in the legend of Lop Buri that “the Lop Buri City Pillar was near the market in the north of the palace, called Son Phra Ram (Rama’s arrow). It was uncertain whether it was constructed prior to or during the Khmer period. It was called Son Phra Ram due to the Ramakian or Ramayana Story as the city’s legend. After Phra Ram returned from the battle with Thotsakan (Ravana) and governed Ayothaya City, he would like to establish a city on that spot. The arrow of Phra Ram dropped on a mountain and made it become a plain. Hanuman followed the arrow to the spot and used the soil to build the city wall. Then, Vishnukarma – god of crafting - came and created a city. Then, Phra Ram granted the city’s name as “Lop Buri”. As such, it has been assumed that the city pillar was the arrow of Phra Ram that has become stone, while the soil mound that formed the city wall was the work of Hanuman – Rama’s monkey warrior”.
Prang Khaek (เทวสถานปรางค์แขก) is situated near the Phra Narai Ratchaniwet. It is the oldest monument of Lop Buri. It comprises 3 prangs, made of bricks with no adjoining corridors as Prang Sam Yot. Archaeologists estimate that it is dated around the 10th century because of its similarity to the Khmer prang in the Preah Ko style of art (882-993). It is an ancient style of prang with the pointed arch entrance. During the reign of King Narai the Great, a wihan was constructed at the front and so was a water tank in the south of the site.
Phra Prang Sam Yot (พระปรางค์สามยอด) is located on a mound on the west side of the railway near San Phra Kan. The compound comprises 3 prangs linked to one another by a corridor. It reflects the Bayon style of Khmer art during the 12th -13th century. It was made of laterite and decorated with beautiful stucco reliefs. The colonettes were engraved into a hermit, sitting with raised knees under the Ruean Kaeo shelter, which was typical of the Bayon style in the Khmer art. Moreover, there is a base inside the central prang. It was originally the location where a Buddha image was enshrined. The wooden ceiling was adorned with the painting of red asterisks.
At the front on the east side, a wihan constructed during the reign of King Narai the Great where a stone Buddha image in meditation posture in perfect condition is enshrined is situated. It is the early Ayutthaya style of art, dated around the 14th century.
Phra Prang Sam Yot might have originally been a Khmer sanctuary in the Mahayana Buddhism. Then, it was adjusted into a Hindu shrine with a linga base (Yoni) appearing within the three prangs. In the reign of King Narai the Great, Phra Prang Sam Yot was renovated as a Buddhist temple. A brick wihan was constructed. The door and windows are the combination of the styles of Ayutthayan and European architecture. Inside is enshrined a sandstone Buddha image in the subduing Mara posture, presenting the early Ayutthaya style of art. At present, the image is located outdoors.
Phra Phrang Sam Yot is open from 7.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. except on Monday and Tuesday. Admission fee is 30 baht.
San Phra Kan (ศาลพระกาฬ) is situated along the railway on the east side of Phra Prang Sam Yot, Tha Hin Sub-district. It is an ancient Khmer sanctuary, constructed of laterite with a high base. Therefore, it was also called “San Sung” (a high shrine). Its lintel made of sandstone was engraved into the picture of Reclining Vishnu, dated around the 11th century. The lintel is placed against the wall of the small wihan. Here, an octagonal stone inscription in ancient Mon language was also discovered.
At its front is a shrine constructed in 1951 on the original foundation from the reign of King Narai the Great. Inside the wihan are enshrined 2 standing images of the God Vishnu made of stone. The smaller one is a conventional ancient god statue in Thailand, while the bigger one presents the Lop Buri sculptural style. However, the original head of the latter statue had disappeared and was later replaced by a sandstone Buddha’s head of the Ayutthaya period. It has been widely respected by the public.
The compound of San Phra Kan is shady because of big trees where a large group of more than 300 monkeys are living. It has become one of Lop Buri’s symbols. It has been told that at this same location in former times, there were many gigantic fig or Krang trees, where monkeys had lived. Later, people brought food and fruits to make a votive offering to the shrine. The monkeys came to eat the food and became more tame and familiar with the people.
Wat Nakhon Kosa (วัดนครโกษา) is situated to the north of the Lop Buri Railway Station near the Phra Kan Shrine. Within the compound of the temple are ancient remains of a grand chedi of the Dvaravati period with a prang of the Lop Buri period around the 12th century at the front. However, the stucco Buddha image in the U Thong style of art within the prang was sculpted later. Moreover, two large images of god adjusted into Buddha images were discovered and are now kept in the Somdet Phra Narai National Museum. This religious site was later constructed as a Buddhist temple during the Ayutthaya period. The remaining objects of the wihan are only walls, columns at the front and a brick chedi at the back. The word “Wat Nakhon Kosa” is assumed to be derived from the name of the renovation person, Chaophraya Kosathipbodi during the reign of King Narai the Great. Therefore, the temple was called “Wat Nakhon Kosa Pan” after his title conferred by the king. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3641 2510, 0 3641 3779.
Wat San Paulo (วัดสันเปาโล) is located on Ruam Mit Road, at the entrance to the Lop Buri College of Dramatic Arts. It was a Jesuit church, constructed in the reign of King Narai the Great. At present, the remains are only a side of the wall and an observatory. There are big shady trees around the area. The word “San Paulo” might be eroded from the word “Saint Paul or Saint Paulo”. The locals usually call it the “San Pao Lo Building”.
Wat Mani Chonlakhan (วัดมณีชลขัณฑ์) was built during the reign of King Rama IV of the Rattanakosin period. It is on the west side of Tha Pho market. The temple is divided into 2 parts due to a cut through road. An interesting ancient remain is the strange-looking square and tall shape of the chedi, similar to those of the Chiang Saen (Lanna) style. However, it possesses 3-layers of 12-recessed corners with a pointed arch at each of the 4 sides of the entrance. Besides, within the compound of the temple stands a Bodhi tree, planted by King Rama V. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3641 1583.
Wat Tong Pu (วัดตองปุ) is behind Phibun Witthayalai School, Thale Chup Son Sub-district. It is an important ancient temple. In the past, it was a gathering place of the Thai army. Within Wat Tong Pu are various ancient remains and objects such as the traditional Thai style ubosot with a delicate and curving base, a wihan presenting the architectural styles during the reign of King Narai the Great, with pointed arch windows and door openings. Besides, the chedi at this temple is similar to the one of Luangpho Saeng at Wat Mani Chonlakhan, but smaller in size. There is also another ancient object which is the only one remaining in Thailand which is a traditional shower or bathing device for monks and Buddha images, called the bathing fountain. Moreover, there is a scripture hall, treasury and a bell tower that should be visited. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 3641 3198.
Wat Kawitsararam Ratchaworawihan (วัดกวิศรารามราชวรวิหาร) is a class 3 royal temple located on Phet Racha Road, Tha Hin Sub-district, next to Phra Narai Ratchaniwet in the south. According to legend, it was originally called Wat Khwit. In an announcement on the Phra Narai Ratchaniwet, it was stated that during the reign of King Rama IV, the king granted its name as Wat Krawitsararam. Then, it was further renovated during the reign of King Rama V and in 1938, Phra Kittiyanmuni, the abbot during that time requested to rename it as Wat Kawitsararam, meaning the temple of the king. It has been told that this temple was the venue of the ceremony to drink an oath of allegiance. Its ubosot has only one entrance, the slit windows are of the Ayutthaya style of art, a projecting portico was extended, and the temple ground was enlarged after the command of King Rama IV. The principal Buddha image is in the posture of subduing Mara in the U Thong style of art, while the mural paintings are in a floral design. Besides, there is a large round chedi on a square base behind the ubosot and monk cells, built in the reign of King Rama IV, as well as, a beautiful scripture hall. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3661 8593.
Wat Choeng Tha (วัดเชิงท่า) is located on the east side of the Lop Buri River. Its front connects to the “Phra Narai Ratchaniwet”, while its west side faces the Lop Buri River. It was originally called Wat Tha Kwian because it was a terminal for product-transport carts – Kwian - to the pier in front of the temple. Inside the compound of the temple lie significant buildings which had been constructed from the end of the Ayutthaya until Rattanakosin periods. Objects which were registered as important national ancient remains are the ubosot, the main chedi, the 2-storey monk cells in a Chinese style, 3-face pavilion, the Wothan Thamma Sapha building, the bell tower and preaching hall. It is considered as a place reflecting valuable and beautiful fine arts of Lop Buri. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3661 8388.
Sophon Sin Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์หอโสภณศิลป์) displays the background of the Buddhist monks, the Dhamma and the Buddha, as well as, the background of the temple itself in an exhibition on the knowledge of Buddhism. It presents the topic of the Three Gems: the Buddha, Dhamma, and monks. Moreover, there are monk’s eight requisites and items for monastic use, reflecting the faith of the Buddhist people towards the monks such as robes, alms-bowls, ecclesiastical fans, porcelain, preaching pulpits, the Tipitaka and scripture cabinets, cloth paintings of the tenth incarnation of the Buddha and Maitreya Bodhisattva, the future Lord Buddha. The museum is open daily during official hours without any admission fee. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3661 8388.
Lop Buri Zoo (สวนสัตว์ลพบุรี) is situated behind the “Army Theatre”, 1 kilometre in the east from the Sa Kaeo roundabout. The zoo was constructed in 1940 during the government of Prime Minister Field Marshal Plaek Pibulsongkram. The prime minister at that time aimed to develop Lop Buri to become a major city by building many things including this zoo. However, after his period of government, the zoo was abandoned.
Later, in 1977, the Special Warfare Unit, who took charge of the place, cooperated with other authorities such as various clubs, traders and the public to renovate the zoo to be a place for relaxation and source of knowledge on animals and plants. It is considered as a moderately perfect zoo, providing services for the locals. It is open daily from 8.00 a.m. – 5.30 p.m. Admission fee is 10 baht for an adult, 5 baht for a child, and 10 baht for a car. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3641 3551.
Sa Kaeo (สระแก้ว) is located at the centre of the Si Suriyothai or Sa Kaeo roundabout, Narai Maharat Road, Mueang Lop Buri District. At the middle of the pond stands a structure similar to a gigantic candle on a large footed tray where symbols of each ministry were decorated around its edge. There are bridges connecting to 4 directions. At the foot of each bridge lie 2 sculptures of crouching lions.
Wat Chi Pa Sitaram (วัดชีป่าสิตาราม) is located by Narai Maharat Road, Thale Chup Son Sub-district. Its construction period is unknown. Within the compound of the temple is situated a chedi in a bell shape representing the Ayutthaya art. There is also an herbal steam treatment and a traditional Thai massage by the Herbal Club. It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3661 2911.
Kraison Siharat Hall (พระที่นั่งไกรสรสีหราช) is commonly known as Phra Thinang Yen or Thale Chup Son Hall, 4 kilometres from the centre of town.
This hall is another residence of King Narai the Great. The hall is located on an island surrounded by Thale Chup Son, which was once a large reservoir surrounded with a dam made of stone and cement. King Narai the Great commanded its construction for relaxation. According to the French chronicle, when King Narai the Great hunted elephants in the east mountain, he would return and stay at this hall. The period of its construction was unknown. However, he also welcomed his honourable guests from France at this hall. Therefore, it must have been constructed prior to 1685.
It is a one-storey hall made of bricks and cement with a cruciform plan. There was a projecting windowed portico. The windows and doors are accented in the Ruean Kaeo style, a famous one during the reign of King Narai the Great. However, the only remain is the wall.
Within the compound, there is a group of small brick buildings with pointed arched doors and windows. It is assumed to have been the residences of the guards. A mounting platform for getting on horses or elephants is situated in the front and at the back of the hall.
Phra Thinang Yen is important in terms of astronomy because King Narai the Great utilised this place for an observation of the lunar eclipse on 11 December, 1685, and witnessed the solar eclipse on 30 April, 1688, with the Jesuit priests and the first group of envoys representing King Louise XIV of France. The reason of the hall’s usage to observe the lunar eclipse as stated in the French chronicle was because it was a suitable place where a panorama of the sky could be seen. Moreover, there was enough space for the installment of equipment. There is a painting of the lunar eclipse observation drawn by a Frenchman. In the painting, King Narai the Great wore a high-pinnacled hat, and witnessed the eclipse through a telescope placed on a tripod from the window of Phra Thinang Yen. On the balcony on one side of the window were crouching aristocrats, while on the other side sat astronomers, inspecting the phenomenon through telescopes. It can be said that modern astronomy happened for the first time in Thailand here at Phra Thinang Yen in Lop Buri.
Thale Chup Son in the past was a low-lying wetland area. King Narai the Great commanded the construction of a large embankment to direct the stream from Thale Chup Son passing through the baked-clay pipe to Lop Buri. At present, a mound still appears. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3641 3779, 0 3641 2510.
Statue of King Narai the Great (พระบรมราชานุสาวรีย์สมเด็จพระนารายณ์มหาราช) is located in the middle of Thepsatri Roundabout, near Lop Buri city hall at the beginning of Narai Maharat Road before entering into the centre of town. The Statue of King Narai the Great is in a standing posture, turning his face to the east. His right hand holds a sword, while his left foot steps forward a little. King Rama IX presided over the opening ceremony on 16 February, 1966. There is an inscription at its base that states “King Narai the Great was one of the great kings. He was born in Ayutthaya in 1632 and died in Lop Buri in 1688. He possessed a great divine power.”
King Narai the Great was the last king in the Prasat Thong Dynasty. During his reign, Thai literature and arts were prosperous to their highest. Relations with international countries were widely strengthened. Similarly, Thailand’s honour was greatly expanded. In realizing His Majesty’s kindness, Thai people together constructed and erected this statue on 16 February, 1966.
Wat Yang Na Rangsi and Lop Buri Boat Museum (วัดยาง ณ รังสี และพิพิธภัณฑ์เรือพื้นบ้าน) is situated at Mu 2, Talung Sub-district, on the west side of the Lop Buri River. Originally, it was called Wat Phaya Yang because within the compound of the temple stands a very large Yang tree among a Yang thicket. The temple was formerly called Wat Yang Si Suthammaram and was changed into Wat Yang Na Rangsi until the present time.
Lop Buri Boat Museum is at the temple sermon hall, constructed in 1927 on the bank of the Lop Buri River. The hall was granted the award for Best Architectural Preservation in 1993. It reflects the rural Thai temple hall’s architectural style in central Thailand. The constructor duplicated the hall’s style from the picture on the back of a 1-baht bank note, printed during the reign of King Rama VIII, which is rarely seen at present. The renovation was completed in 1988 while the project of the Lop Buri Local Boat Museum was created. It can be considered as the first local boat museum of Thailand.
To get there: Take the Lop Buri – Bang Pahan Road (the road along Klong Chonlaprathan) to Km. 9. The temple is on the right. There are Lop Buri – Ban Phraek buses, leaving from Lop Buri Bus Terminal from 5.30 a.m. – 5.30 p.m.
Siri Chanthara Nimit Worawihan (Wat Khao Phra Ngam) (วัดสิริจันทรนิมิตวรวิหาร (วัดเขาพระงาม)) is located in the north of Lop Buri City Hall along Phahonyothin Road for 12 kilometres. It is in the Khao Phra Ngam Sub-district. Wat Khao Phra Ngam, constructed during an unknown period, was formerly abandoned. In 1912, Phra Ubali Khunupamachan (Chan Sirichantho), an abbot of Wat Borom Niwat in Bangkok and another monk conducted an ascetic practice to this temple. They realised that it had nice geography and thus constructed a Buddha image on this mountain. The image was 11-wa (22 metres) wide at its lap and 18-wa (36 metres) high from its lap to the top of the head. The image’s hair curls were made of garlic earthen jars. After the construction was completed, it was named Phra Phuttha Naruemit Matthayom Phutthakan. After its renovation in 1926, it was renamed Phra Phuttha Patiphak Matthayom Phutthakan until the present time. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3648 6201.
To get there: Take Highway No. 1 (Lop Buri – Khok Samrong) for approximately 12 kilometres from the Lop Buri City Hall. When getting closer to the temple, a white Buddha image will be clearly seen at the foot of the mountain. Lop Buri – Khao Phra Ngam – Aviation Centre buses pass in front of the temple from 6.00 a.m. – 8.30 p.m. The departure spot is at Wat Phrommat.
Wat Tha Khae Scripture Hall (หอไตรวัดท่าแค) is within the compound of Wat Tha Khae. It is the Dharma Scripture hall of the “Lao Lom” community. Normally, a scripture hall is constructed on high columns in a pond. However, the one at this temple is a wooden house with a cruciform plan located on high columns. Its roof is covered with rhombic cement tiles and there is a tower in the middle, a duplicated Prasat style of roof. The roof structure and arches at the balcony were decorated with delicately and lightly engraved wood in a Western style. Folding doors separating the rooms were also made of wood featuring auspicious Chinese symbols engravings. Some parts of the wall were decorated with translucent coloured glass. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3642 7094.
To get there: Take the road along Khlong Chonlaprathan or Irrigation Canal (Saphan 6 – Ban Mi District) until the Tha Khae Railway Station. Turn right and cross the bridge for approximately 1 kilometre. Wat Tha Khae is on the left. Besides, there is the Lop Buri – Wat Tha Khae Bus Line provided from 6.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m.
Ang Sap Lek (อ่างซับเหล็ก) is within Nikhom Sang Ton Eng Sub-district, 16 kilometres from the Lop Buri City Hall in the east.
Ang Sap Lek is a natural ancient reservoir. King Narai the Great commanded French and Italian engineers to construct a pipeline directing the water from the reservoir to the royal palace.
Ang Sap Lek covers an area of approximately 1,760 rai. In 1954, Field Marshall Plaek Pibulsongkram was the Prime Minister. He commanded the construction of a soil dam to reserve the water for agricultural purposes. Then, in 1977, Lop Buri improved the Ang Sap Lek to be a natural tourist attraction by building roads around the reservoir, planting trees, as well as, erecting a summer relaxation pavilion.
Amphoe Tha Wung
Wat Lai (วัดไลย์) is located by the Bang Kham River in Khao Samo Khon Sub-district. Prince Damrong Rajanupab once visited this temple and mentioned in his own literary composition entitled “Travel along the Railway” that “Wat Lai is by the Bang Kham River, on the west side of Samo Khon Mountain. It is an ancient temple constructed in a similar period as the Kingdom of Ayutthaya’s establishment. It was renovated during the reign of King Borommakot. There are beautiful remaining ancient stucco relief on the Jakata stories and the Buddha’s life. Maitreya Bodhisattva’s image is another object that has been highly respected by the people from the past. During the reign of King Rama V, there was a fire at the Maitreya Bodhisattva’s wihan. The king brought the image to be renovated in Bangkok and later returned it to its original place. During the local festival, the image is taken in a procession continuously every year.” Nowadays, the temple built a new wihan for the Maitreya Bodhisattva image. It is a very graceful Mondop with a cruciform plan. Besides, there are other interesting objects such as an old wihan with slit windows, which is the architecture reflecting the early Ayutthaya style. Inside is enshrined a grand Buddha image in the subduing Mara posture, with black lacquer and covered in gold leaf. The image is under the Ruean Kaeo shelter similar to Phra Phuttha Chinnarat in Phitsanulok. At the front and the back of the wihan is the stucco work, presenting the Jataka stories and the Buddha’s life. It is considered as a significant gigantic wall sculpture of the country. Besides, there is an ubosot, a wihan in a mondop shape with a prang on the top near the old wihan, and a temple museum exhibiting various antiques such as Buddha images, symbols, porcelains, tools in ancient times, and other items. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3648 9105.
To get there: Take Highway No. 311 (Lop Buri – Sing Buri) and turn left into Highway No. 3028 at the traffic light intersection (Km. 18) for 6 kilometres. There are many lines of public buses provided; namely, Lop Buri – Tha Khlong, Khok Samrong – Ban Mi, and Sing Buri – Ban Mi Lines.
Khao Samo Khon (เขาสมอคอน) is located in Khao Samo Khon Sub-district along Lop Buri – Sing Buri Road. At Km. 18, turn right for 12 kilometres. It is a mountain range which has been important historically. There are many interesting ancient legends about Khao Samo Khon. The alphabetical geography dictionary of the Royal Institute stated that “Khao Samo Khon was the residence of Sukkathanta Ruesi, the hermit teacher of King Ramkhamhaeng the Great and Phraya Ngam Mueang, the king of Phayao city. Both were believed to have been from the Nong Sae Dynasty of Yonok Chiang Saen. When both of them were young, they came to study arts and sciences at this place. During that time, the king of Lop Buri was from the similar dynasty as well….”
There are overall 4 important temples on this mountain range as follows: Wat Bandai Sam Saen, whose ancient remains are a wihan in front of the cave and an old ubosot in the Ayutthaya style of art; Wat Tham Tako Phutthasopha, where there is an ubosot, constructed in 1914 with mural paintings in the Burmese style and a chedi in a junk shape; Wat Tham Chang Phueak , at whose mountain foot lies a soil dike and an old reservoir, estimated to have been constructed in the 13th century, the similar period as the reservoir and the soil dike in Thale Chup Son Sub-district, and Wat Khao Samo Khon, where there is a bell-shape chedi with 12-recessed corners, supported by a blooming lotus, and a small cave called Tham Phra Non, where inside is enshrined a reclining Buddha image and visited by King Rama V in 1905. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3652 1159.
To get there: Take Highway No. 311 (Lop Buri – Sing Buri) to Km. 18 and turn right into Highway No. 3028. From the traffic intersection, proceed for 12 kilometres. There are many lines of buses passing by the entrance into Khao Samo Khon near Tha Khlong Market; namely, Lop Buri – Tha Khlong, Khok Samrong – Ban Mi, and Sing Buri – Ban Mi Lines. Then, visitors can take a minibus or a motorcycle for rent from the entrance.
Amphoe Ban Mi
Amphoe Ban Mi (อำเภอบ้านหมี่) is famous for Mudmi silk. Most of the locals are Thai Phuan who migrated from Lao PDR. 130 years ago. They named their new settlement as “Ban Mi” after their former Laotian village.
Wat Thammikaram or Wat Khangkhao (วัดธรรมิการาม หรือ วัดค้างคาว) is located on the west side of the Bang Kham River, Bang Kham Sub-district. The reason why it is called Wat Khangkhao is because there were a lot of bats – Khangkhao - in the past. However, there are no bats anymore, and the temple was renamed as “Wat Thammikaram”. This temple is an ancient one by a canal among shady trees. The admirable things of this temple are mural paintings at the 4 sides of the ubosot, depicting the life of the Buddha. The paintings present a slight combination of the Western style of arts such as the shading method on trees, and other facets. They are paintings beautifully created by local craftsmen in the reign of King Rama IV. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3648 9593.
To get there: Take Highway No. 311 (Lop Buri – Sing Buri) and turn right into Highway No. 3028 at Km. 18 (the similar way to the entrance of Wat Lai).
Wat Thong Khung (วัดท้องคุ้ง) is situated in Ban Phueng Sub-district. Interesting objects are the ubosot on a junk, floating in the Bang Kham River. Besides, there is a funeral hall called Sala Thammasangwet, applied into the shape of a public bus. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3664 4139.
To get there: Take the similar route as Wat Thammikaram. Wat Thong Khung is 2 kilometres away. There is a Lop Buri - Ban Mi Line of public buses, which pass the front of the temple.
Wat Thong Khung Tha Lao (วัดท้องคุ้งท่าเลา) is located on Bang Nga - Ban Mi Road, Ban Phueng Sub-district. An interesting aspect of this place is the entrance of the temple in the shape of Hanuman with its mouth wide open, decorated with glass in distinctive colours. It was an initiative of the abbot who applied the legend of Lop Buri from the Ramakian story in its construction. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3664 4270.
To get there: Take the similar route as Wat Thong Khung. It is 3.5 kilometres away. There is the Lop Buri – Ban Mi bus passing in front of the temple.
Wat Nong Tao (Wat Phanit Thammikaram) (วัดหนองเต่า หรือ วัดพาณิชธรรมมิการาม) is situated at Nong Tao Sub-district. The interesting point is the ubosot on the back of a turtle – Tao - considered as the symbol of the sub-district. King Rama IX came to install the Chofa – gable finial - on 11 March, 1974.
To get there: It is 11 kilometres from Ban Mi and is on the road along Khlong Chonlaprathan.
Wat Khao Wongkot (วัดเขาวงกต) is surrounded by mountains on three sides, covering an area of 30 rai. On its west is situated a large reclining Buddha image and a hall housing the remains of Luangpho Charoen Ditsawanno, a previous abbot who passed away in 1963. However, his corpse has not yet decayed. At its front is located a chedi constructed on a junk – Samphao, being a memorial of Luangpho Phao who built this temple.
The interesting point of this place is the bat cave on the shoulder of the mountain above the ubosot. It is considered as the largest bat cave in Lop Buri. Inside live millions of bats. This cave generates income into the temple from bat’s droppings of more than ten thousand baht a year. Everyday from 6.30 p.m., bats will fly in a line from the cave to search for food, similar to a line of smoke. Their flight will continue until 10.00 p.m. They will return to the cave from approximately 3.00 a.m. until 6.00 a.m. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3662 8865.
To get there: Take Highway No. 311 (Lop Buri – Sing Buri), similar to Wat Thong Khung, 4 kilometres prior to Ban Mi District. There is the Lop Buri – Ban Mi buses. Get off at Ban Mi Bus Terminal and take a rental car from the Ban Mi Market to the temple.
Amphoe Khok Samrong
Khao Wong Phrachan (เขาวงพระจันทร์) is a location of Wat Khao Wong Phrachan at its foot. There is a stair of 3,790 steps leading to the summit. This summit is 650 metres above sea level. Measuring from the foot of the mountain to the summit along the stair, it is 1,680 metres long and takes 2 hours to get to the top. On both sides are dense with trees. Some are slopes, while others are steep. At the summit of Khao Wong Phrachan, visitors can see the panoramic scenery below.
During the 3rd month festival, a lot of people especially Chinese-Thai, both from nearby and far-away, will come to pay respect to the Buddha’s footprint and the Buddha image at the top of the mountain every year. The constructions and paying respect pattern are influenced by the Chinese or the Mahayana sect of Buddhism.
Khao Wong Phrachan is considered as the highest mountain of Lop Buri and is a place that has brought popularity to the province for a long time. In addition, this mountain is the source of the city legend on Thao Kok Khanak and Phrachao Kong Chin. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3665 0188.
To get there: Take a Lop Buri – Khok Samrong bus from the bus terminal, passing the front of the temple and take a rental car from the temple’s entrance for 5 kilometres.
Amphoe Phatthana Nikhom
The Sunflower Field (ทุ่งทานตะวัน) Lop Buri is a province where people grow sunflowers the most in Thailand, around 200,000 – 300,000 rai. The sunflowers are usually in full bloom during November – January. Sunflower is a plant which can grow in dryness well. Farmers usually grow it instead of corn. Sunflower seeds are very rich in nutrition and are usually extracted into oil for cooking or preserved as dried ones for snacks. Otherwise, they are mixed into cosmetic products and are used to raise bees as an additional job, as well. Therefore, the sunflower honey is another product of the province. Sunflower Fields: are scattered in Mueang District, Phatthana Nikhom District and Chai Badan District. Locations where many sunflowers are grown are Khao Chin Lae, near Wat Weruwan, and Khok Tum Sub-district, Mueang District.
To get there: From Lop Buri, take Phahonyothin Road (Lop Buri – Saraburi) until Km. 4, turn left along Highway No. 3017 (the route to Khok Tum Sub-district) for approximately 8 kilometres to the entrance of Wat Weruwan (located on the left). Go further for 2 kilometres to the sunflower field. As for public buses, there is the Lop Buri – Wang Muang bus passing Wat Weruwan. The bus leaves Lop Buri Bus Terminal from 6.00 a.m. – 5.30 p.m.
Besides, there are sunflower fields scattered along the route to Phatthana Nikhom District, around Chong Sarika Sub-district (the same entrance as Wat Mani Si Sophon) by Highway No. 21.
Note: Visitors should ask information on the sunflower field areas in advance at Tel. 0 3649 1133, 0 3649 1258.
Wat Phrom Rangsi (วัดพรหมรังษี) Depart from Lop Buri, the temple is located at Soi 12 on Highway No. 21, Di Lang Sub-district, right at the intersection, 9 kilometres from Phatthana Nikhom District.
The reason why this temple is called Wat Phrom Rangsi is because in the past, Somdet Phutthachan (To Phrom Rangsi) conducted an ascetic practice and stopped at this area. Then, people who had strong faith in Buddhism together constructed the temple and named it after the revered monk as a memorial.
This temple has an ubosot with four porches. The bell-shape chedi is similar to the Phra Borommathat – a chedi containing a Buddha’s relic - in Nakhon Si Thammarat. Other structures within the well-cared compound are also beautiful surrounded with abundant big and small trees. Passers-by usually visit this temple.
Pa Sak Jolasid Dam (เขื่อนป่าสักชลสิทธิ์) is located at Ban Kaeng Suea Ten, Nong Bua Sub-district. The dam’s name was granted by King Rama IX. It was constructed under the Pa Sak River Basin Development Project under His Majesty's Royal Initiative. It is the longest dam whose core is made of clay in Thailand, with the length of 4,860 metres and 36.50 metres high. The distinctive points of the dam are the sightseeing point on its ridge, Pa Sak River Basin Museum, presenting the knowledge of nature and culture. The official opening ceremony of the dam was on 25 November, 1999. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3649 4031- 4.
To get there: From Mueang Lop Buri, take the Lop Buri - Khok Tum – Phatthana Nikhom route (Highway No. 3017) for 48 kilometres. There is the Lop Buri – Wang Muang minibus, passing in front of Pa Sak Jolasid Dam. The bus leaves Lop Buri Bus Terminal from 6.00 a.m. – 5.30 p.m.
Additionally, during the end of the year, there is a special Bangkok - Pa Sak Jolasid round-trip train on Saturday-Sunday and public holidays. For more information, please contact the State Railway of Thailand at Tel. 0 2220 4334 and 1690. Tourists can take a touring train to the dam. For more information, please contact the Lop Buri Railway Station at Tel. 0 3641 1022.
Oasis Agro-Farm (โอเอซิสฟาร์ม) is located at 85/2 Mu 13, Chong Sarika Sub-district. It is a full-cycle ostrich farm within a safari-like grass field at the foot of a mountain. Enjoy the activities such as feeding the ostriches and taking a close picture with them in the middle of the sunflower blossom field (during November – February every year). Select the products from ostriches such as bags, belts, ostrich meat, etc. Admission is 10 baht, while a group requesting for a lecturer is 20 baht a person. Please contact in advance at Tel. 0 3645 1261, 0 1780 8928, 0 1994 1256.
To get there: From Lop Buri, take the Lop Buri – Khok Tum – Phatthana Nikhom route (Highway No. 3017) for 25 kilometres. At the intersection with the Caltex Gas Station, turn right for 2 kilometres. The farm is on the right.
Bee Farm (ศูนย์อนุรักษ์ผึ้ง) is located at 280, Soi 24, Sai Tri, Mu 9, Phatthana Nikhom Sub-district. It is a training and knowledge centre on bees in Thailand. Moreover, it is a place offering bee farming equipment, more than 40- products from bees such as natural honey from sunflowers, royal jelly, pollen, candles, etc.
Rian Thong Garden (สวนเหรียญทอง) is an agro-tourism farm, popular in the process of mango’s “entrust” grafting to multiply its productivity (20 mangoes a branch). Activities for tourists are learning the layering and grafting process, as well as, “entrust” grafting. Besides, there are agricultural produce and processed products by various housewife groups. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3649 1172.
To get there: From Mueang Lop Buri, take the Lop Buri – Khok Tum –Phatthana Nikhom route (Highway No. 3017), 3 kilometres prior to the Pa Sak Jolasid Dam. There is a Lop Buri – Wang Muang mini bus passing the entrance of Rian Thong Garden. Then, visitors have to walk further for 500 metres.
Ban Pong Manao Site Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์เปิดบ้านโป่งมะนาว) is situated at Mu 7, Huai Khun Ram, 26.5 kilometres from Pa Sak Jolasid Dam. It is a pre-historic archaeological site dated around 2,500 – 3,000 years or “the late Ban Chiang Period”. Thirteen ancient human skeletons were found within the same pit. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3645 1009.
To get there: From Mueang, Lop Buri, take the Lop Buri – Khok Tum – Phatthana Nikhom –Wang Muang District (Saraburi) route. Enter to the similar way as Namtok Suan Maduea. There is no bus service provided.
Amphoe Chai Badan
Namtok Wang Kan Lueang Arboretum (สวนรุกขชาติน้ำตกวังก้านเหลือง) is located at Mu 4, Tha Din Dam Sub-district. This waterfall is full of water throughout the year due to the fact that its origin is a large natural underground spring in the east, 1.5 kilometres from the waterfall. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3634 7105-6, 0 3634 7446.
To get there: From Mueang Lop Buri, take the Lop Buri – Khok Samrong route (Highway No. 1). Then, take the Khok Samrong – Chai Badan route (Highway No. 205) to the crossroads at Highway No. 21 and go further to Highway No. 2089 to Tha Luang District for 12 kilometres. Turn left for another 7 kilometres to the waterfall which is on the right side.
Khao Somphot Non-hunting Area (เขตห้ามล่าสัตว์ป่าเขาสมโภชน์) is partially located within the compound of Sap Takhian, Nong Yai To, Bua Chum and Na Som Sub-districts, covering an area of approximately 8,440 rai. It was announced as a non-hunting area on 29 November, 1995.
It is a high and steep limestone mountain range stretching along the southwestern direction, full of caves and cliffs. There are 2 plains in the valley and a plateau, with many spots of water seepage around the area, making it a significant watershed. Furthermore, within the compound of the non-hunting area, archaeological evidence was scattered and found, especially at Wat Tham Phrom Lok, where 3,000-year polished stone axes from the Neolithic period, bronze spears and potteries from the Iron Age, aged around 2,500 years, and an engraved wooden Buddha image of the late Ayutthaya or the early Rattanakosin period, dating around the 18th century were discovered.
The Khao Somphot Non-hunting Area consists of forest and wildlife in a perfect condition. There is a nature study route for learning about various kinds of plants, ecology, as well as, fossils aged around 280 million years, which is significant geological evidence that this mountain range was once a continental shelf and was underwater. Moreover, there are meditation venues at Wat Khao Somphot and Wat Tham Phrom Lok. Within the compound near Wat Tham Phrom Lok lies a terrace of natural rock outcrops.
Contact Address: Khao Somphot Non- hunting Area, P.O. Box 19, the Lam Narai Provincial Postal Office, Chai Badan District, Lop Buri, 15130, or the Lop Buri Office of the Natural Resources and Environment at Tel. 0 3642 2777, 0 3645 1725.
To get there: From Bangkok, take Highway No. 21 and turn right into Chai Badan District. Then, take Highway No. 205, from Chai Badan District to Lam Sonthi District for approximately 20 kilometres. At Wat Khao Tambon on the left, turn right along the route to Wat Phrom Lok. It takes 7 kilometres further to the Office of the Khao Somphot Non-hunting Area.
Wat Pa Si Mahapho Wipatsana (วัดป่าศรีมหาโพธิ์วิปัสสนา) is at 29/1 Mu 4, Si Mahapho Phatthana Thani Village, Bua Chum Sub-district. It is a meditation venue for Thais and foreigners. It is also a temple which cures ailments created by Luangpho Khong Chatamalo. For more information, please contact Khun Kanya at Tel. 08 9746 1117 or Khun Daeng (Thai Airways International) at Tel. 0 2511 0550, 0 2512 1859, 08 1564 1835.
Chai Narai Farm (ไร่ชัยนารายณ์) is located in Chai Narai Sub-district, on Highway No. 21 (Saraburi – Lom Sak). At Km. 64, enter the soi opposite the Nong Tao Community police booth, passing Wat Than Ratthakaram and turn left for approximately 3 kilometres. It is an ecotourism attraction, covering an area of 1,096 rai. Within the compound is a health park, an animal breeding farm such as horses, deer, ostriches, rabbits, fish, an annual plant farm, a herbal garden, a relaxation and entertainment park, comprising of shooting range, horse riding venue, mountain bike ground, food garden, and camping ground. For more information, please contact Tel. 08 1720 3606.
Amphoe Lam Sonthi
Prang Nang Phom Hom (ปรางค์นางผมหอม) is 2 kilometres from Nong Ri Market in Khok Khli village. It is a single brick prang with no cement covered, similar to Prang Khaek. At present, its top has already been broken. There is an entrance door framed with stone leading into the chamber inside. There are also large stones scattered around the stupa. Not very far from Prang Nang Phom Hom is the Khok Khli animal quarantine station. There is a mound with broken bricks, believed to be a wihan or chedi’s base. The locals call it as Khok Khli Noi, while the other larger one is called Khok Khli Yai. There are 2 rivers joining each other; namely, Lam Sonthi and Lam Phraya Klang. The place is assumed to have originally been an ancient town. From an archaeological excavation of this ancient remain in 1987, additional pieces of evidence found were sandstone fragments of the prang in the shape of a lady dressed up in the Bayon style of Khmer art. It is assumed that this prang is dated around the 10th – 11th century.
Sap Langka Wildlife Sanctuary (เขตรักษาพันธุ์สัตว์ป่าซับลังกา) is located at Ban Langka Chueam, Lam Sonthi and Kut Ta Phet Sub-districts, covering a total area of approximately 96,875 rai. It is a plain in the valley, obstructed by the Phang Hoei mountain range. On its west is Khao Ruak which is 140-846 metres above sea level. The significance of the area is that it is in perfect condition and is the source of the Lam Sonthi River, as well as, the source of food for wildlife. At present, there are still goat antelopes which are preserved animals living in this sanctuary area.
Nature Study Routes comprise of 2 routes. The first one is Huai Phrik – Namtok Pha Phueng – Tham Pha Phueng, with a round-trip distance of 3,200 metres. The entire trip takes approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes. The route is not too rough for new nature admirers. The route will pass Namtok Pha Phueng, a small but beautiful waterfall due to its surrounding of shady big trees of various kinds, appropriate for relaxation. If visitors admire the nature calmly, they would have a chance to see small animals such as turtles, and many kinds of birds. Then, proceed to Tham Pha Phueng before using their skill in climbing pointed rocks to admire the Chan Pha – Dracaena loureiri Gagnep - grove, an ancient plant with splendid shape. Moreover, during the end of the rainy season toward the beginning of winter, lady’s slipper, a category of orchid which has been hidden in the Chan Pha grove would be in full bloom during this period.
The starting point of this trekking route is at Huai Mae Phrik, located 9 kilometres from the headquarters. A car used should be in good condition and ready to wade through sticky laterite road. However, for those who do not have a car, and travel in a group, they may rent a local vehicle which indirectly helps generate income for the locals. Please contact in advance at Tel. 0 3645 1936.
The other route is from Huai Pradu by rafting capable to supporting approximately 35 people to the starting point. The overall distance of this nature study route is 1,500 metres. Along the path, visitors can witness Tham Samui Kui and Tham Phra Nok. It takes around 1 hour and 30 minutes for this route.
Necessary Things Suggested are shoes, which are fit and well-conceived in walking through the waterfall and on slippery rocks or climbing pointed rock cliffs, mosquito repellent lotion, and importantly, a conscience of a good nature-visitor.
To get there: To the headquarters of the Sanctuary Area, take Highway No. 205 from Chai Badan District to Lam Sonthi District for 31 kilometres. There will be a crossroads to Kut Ta Phet Sub-district for 37 kilometres. Please contact in advance for a visit to the Sap Langka Wildlife Sanctuary Area, Kut Ta Phet Sub-district, Lam Sonthi District, Lop Buri.
Tourist Attractions in the Military Area
Lop Buri is a strategically important city of the country from the past. Therefore, it has been chosen as the second stronghold of the country since the Ayutthaya period. The military development of Lop Buri has clearly appeared during Field Marshall Plaek Pibulsongkram’s government. During that period, the military business of Lop Buri became the second most important matter after Bangkok.
Tourist Attractions in the Artillery Centre (แหล่งท่องเที่ยวในพื้นที่ศูนย์การทหารปืนใหญ่), in Mueang District, are architecture created during the period of Field Marshall Plaek Pibulsongkram such as the Chato Building (Khao Nam Chon Command Headquarters), Pibulsongkram Building and Museum, Artillery Museum, the General Phraya Phahon Phonphayuhasena Museum, and the Botanical Garden.
Contact Address: The Operation and Intelligence Division, Artillery Centre at Tel. 0 3648 6433-4 ext: 39039.
Tourist Attraction in Military Circle 13 (แหล่งท่องเที่ยวในพื้นที่มณฑลทหารบกที่ 13), in Mueang District, is the18-hole Field Marshall Plaek Pibulsongkram Golf Course open for the public.
Contact Address: The Military Circle 13 at Tel. 0 3641 3133, 0 3642 2734-5 ext: 37393.
Tourist Attraction at the Ananda Mahidol Hospital (แหล่งท่องเที่ยวภายในโรงพยาบาลอานันทมหิดล), in Mueang District, is an exhibition hall displaying the biography of King Rama VIII at the Operation Building of the Ananda Mahidol Hospital. There are photos of the opening ceremony of the hospital on 6 January, 1938.
Contact Address: The Ananda Mahidol Hospital.
Tourist activities within various departments of the military area
Tourism Activities in the Area of the Special Warfare Command (กิจกรรมการท่องเที่ยวในพื้นที่หน่วยบัญชาการสงครามพิเศษ) (Mueang District) are a demonstration of how to survive in the forest, a 34-foot tower jump, parachute from a balloon, shooting, cliff climbing, military jungle tour and the Special Force Museum, displaying photos, equipment, background, evolution and pictures of various activities of the Special Force from the start until the present time.
Contact Address: Lop Buri Military Tourism Promotion Office at Tel. 0 3641 2192.
Tourism Activities within the Military Camp A03 (กิจกรรมการท่องเที่ยวในพื้นที่ทหารค่าย A03) in Mueang District, at the entrance of the Sap Lek Reservoir, Khok Tum Sub-district. It is a complex activity centre, testing the spirit and military way of living such as jumping from the 34-foot tower, artificial cliff climbing, shooting, rope bridge climbing and canoeing.
Contact Address: The Civil Affairs Division, the Special Warfare Command, Somdet Phra Naresuan Camp at Tel. 0 3641 2192 (Official Hours) or 08 1947 2800 (Unofficial Hours).
Events and Festivals
King Narai the Great’s Reign Fair (งานแผ่นดินสมเด็จพระนารายณ์มหาราช) is organised in February every year to commemorate the good deeds of King Narai the Great to Lop Buri and the nation. Lop Buri was the second city during that period where the king preferred to stay for nearly throughout the year with an exception for the rainy season when he stayed in Ayutthaya.
There are various activities in the fair such as light and sound presentation, a demonstration of Thai lifestyle, Wang Narai Night, Thai games by Thai kids (Chuk, Klae, Ko, Pia), local entertainment, and booths offering local products.
Lop Buri Monkey Banquet (งานเลี้ยงโต๊ะจีนลิง) is organised on Sunday during the last week of November at San Phra Kan and Phra Prang Sam Yot where a large number of monkeys stay. Tourists who come to pay respect to Chaopho Phra Kan usually bring food and fruit for the monkeys, making them more tame and familiar with people. In this event, there are various activities such as party offering food in especially beautiful decoration for monkeys and local performances, etc.
Lop Buri Sunflower Blooming Festival (งานทุ่งทานตะวันบานที่ลพบุรี) takes place around December of every year because it is the period when the sunflowers are in full bloom. At present, Lop Buri possesses hundred of thousands of rai of sunflowers. Before the harvest, the sunflowers will create a yellow field, being another splendid tourist attraction of Lop Buri. Interesting activities in the fair include floral decorated float processions, sales of products from sunflowers, and many kinds of rally races.
Kam Fa Tradition (ประเพณีกำฟ้า) is a local merit making tradition of the Thai Phuan people, taken place in many villages in Mueang District, and Ban Mi District. It is organised to request for a blessing from gods who protect the sky so that it will rain during the rainy season. The 2nd day of the waxing moon in the 3rd lunar month is considered the eve and the next day is the Kam Fa Day. In the morning, people will give alms with Khao Lam - glutinous rice cooked in coconut milk in bamboo, and Khao Chi - roasted glutinous rice, while in the afternoon, there will be local games such as Mon Son Pha, Chuang Chai, Ma Bia, and Ma Kan Han.
Sai Krachat Tradition (ประเพณีใส่กระจาด) or called Suea Krachat tradition or “Soe Krachat” in Phuan language is a tradition of the Thai Phuan people that has been conducted in Ban Mi District. It takes place during the sermon on the Great Birth story. It is mostly organised during the End of Buddhist Lent (the 11th month) in the waning moon period. One day prior to the Sai Krachat Day, people will wrap Khao Tom – seasoned sticky rice in banana leaf - and grind rice for the Khao Pun – rice noodle. The next day is the Sai Krachat Day when people will bring things such as bananas, sugar cane, oranges, candles and joss sticks or other items to put into the bamboo baskets at the houses of the people they know, while the hosts will bring the prepared food to welcome their guests. When the visitors would like to go home, the host will give Khao Tom Mat as a souvenir in return called “Khuen Krachat”. The next day will be the day of the Great Birth sermon. It is considered as a grand annual merit making event of the year.
Chak Phra Si An Tradition of Wat Lai or the Tradition of the Maitreya Bodhisattva Procession (ประเพณีชักพระศรีอาริย์ วัดไลย์ หรือประเพณีแห่พระศรีอาริย์) has been conducted for a long period of time on the 14th day of the waxing moon during the 6th lunar month every year. The temple will arrange the image of the Maitreya Bodhisattva to be enshrined on the Takhe – handcart - and let the people pull the image to the north. The starting point is Wat Lai to the end at Wat Thong Khung and back to Wat Lai. There are many people joining the procession. The procession will stop at some points for the faithful people to pour water onto and to pay respect to the image. There are also a dozen almshouses providing free food for the participants in the procession.
Local Handicrafts and Products
Din So Phong Village (หมู่บ้านดินสอพอง) Lop Buri is well-known for the production of the only best quality Din So Phong – marl - of Thailand. The source of production is at Hin Song Kon Village, Thale Chup Son Sub-district (by Khlong Chonlaprathan, around Saphan 6). It is the village where Din So Phong is produced in nearly every house. In that compound, there is white marl with a delicate and tight texture and thus, is not suitable for agriculture. However, due to local intellect, it has been used to produce Din So Phong which can be a raw material for many products such as talcum powder, cosmetics, toothpaste, furniture filler, etc.
- Thale Chup Son Professional Group, Mu 6, at Tel. 08 4104 1861.
- Khun Sompong, the Village Headman, Mu 1, at Tel. 08 9744 9294.
Khai Khem Din So Phong (Marl Salted Egg) (ไข่เค็มดินสอพอง) is a famous souvenir of Lop Buri. To produce this salted egg, a mixture of marl, water and salt is coated on an egg. The egg is preserved for a certain period of time. The egg is not too salty and can be cooked as Khai Wan - an egg poached in syrup, fried eggs, boiled eggs and other dishes. The most well-known dish cooked with this egg is stir fried salted egg with various spices, kaffir lime and string beans.
Production Places are as follows:
- Phan Po Cho Wo Housewives Club: The Psychological Operation Battalion of the Special Warfare Command, Narai Maharat Road, at Tel. 0 3642 1700-9.
- Worachai Factory: 131 Mu 8, Pa Tan Sub-district, Mueang District.
Metal Casting (Brass) (การหล่อโลหะ (ทองเหลือง)) is at Ban Tha Krayang Community. It is a gathering place of skilled brass founders whose occupation has been passed on for a long period of time. There are a cast of the brass Buddha images in various shapes and replicas of antiques. At present, there is a gathering as the Ban Tha Krayang Brass Founders Club. The centre of the production and selling is at 168, Mu 1, Thale Chup Son Sub-district, Tel. 0 3642 1469.
Khao Phra Ngam Diamond (เพชรเขาพระงาม) is the famous gemstone of Lop Buri. It is a kind of mineral called Hin Khiao Hanuman (quartz crystal). It is a kind of semi-precious stone with clear transparent crystals, while some are in various colours and have different patterns. It can be polished for jewellery, similarly to other gems but with more reasonable prices. Production Venue: Khao Phra Ngam Sub-district.
Khachonwit Mushroom Farm (ฟาร์มเห็ดขจรวิทย์) is the biggest mushroom growing promotion farm in Lop Buri, producing various kinds of nutritious mushrooms such as shiitake mushroom, termite mushroom, Sajor-caju mushroom, abalone mushroom, oyster mushroom, etc. Production and Distribution: 71/1 Mu 6, Nikhom Sang Ton Eng Sub-district (near Sap Lek Reservoir) at Tel. 0 3665 2442.
Amphoe Ban Mi
Mudmi Fabric Weaving Village (หมู่บ้านทอผ้ามัดหมี่) is a source of local tie-dyed fabric weaving in a unique design of the Thai Phuan people called Mudmi. At present, there has been a development of its patterns and colours to be more modern. It is considered as the weaving location of the best quality Mudmi fabric of the country. There are also groups of weaving villages in Ban Kluai, Ban Sai and Hin Pak Sub-districts.
Demonstration and Selling Centres are as follows:
- Pracha Suk San Arts and Crafts Centre is at 84, Mu 4, Ban Kluai Sub-district. Tel. 0 3647 1847.
- Ban Mi Weaving Group is at 80 Mu 1, Ban Kluai Sub-district (along Ban Mi – Khok Samrong Route for approximately 2 kilometres). Tel. 0 3647 1904.
Som Fak (ส้มฟัก) is a type of preserved food. It is a combination of fish, salt, ground cooked rice and pickled garlic, kneaded into one texture and left to slightly ferment in a similar way as Naem (fermented pork in banana leaf). The fish used should have delicate white flesh such as Pla Krai - spotted feather back, Pla Salat - grey feather back, Pla Yi Sok - Jullien’s golden-price carp. The fermentation period is 3 days. It is eaten as a kind of savoury. The production place is at Ban Mi District.
Pla Som (ปลาส้ม) is one of the famous kinds of preserved food made from Pla Tapian – barb - whose scales will be scraped off and its stomach cleaned. Then, salt is applied all over the fish, while cooked rice mixed with garlic is put into its stomach and left to ferment for quite some time. It will be fried before eating, creating a mouth-watering smell and a slightly sour taste.
Amphoe Tha Wung
Coconut Jelly (วุ้นน้ำมะพร้าว) is a well-known souvenir of Lop Buri, produced as a dessert to be eaten with ice. The jelly is produced by fermenting coconut juice with the acetic acid microbe similar to that used in the vinegar preserving process. In the fermentation process, white fungi will float on the surface and gradually assemble into a group of mushroom-like jelly, which will enlarge due to its fermentation period. This jelly is called “Coconut Juice Jelly Mushroom” or “Coconut Jelly”. Then, the jelly will be combined with various flavours of syrup and put into a bottle.
Production Sources are as follows:
- Namthip Coconut Jelly Factory (โรงงานน้ำทิพย์วุ้นมะพร้าว) is at 110 Mu 9, Bang Khan Mak Sub-district. Tel. 0 3642 0590.
- Natthida Farm (ณัฐธิดา ฟาร์ม) is at 82, Mu 6, Pho Talat Kaeo Sub-district, Tha Wung District. Tel. 0 3664 5150.
- Worachai Factory (โรงงานวรชัย) is at 131, Mu 8, Pa Tan Sub-district.
Amphoe Khok Samrong
Sandstone Engraving Village (หมู่บ้านแกะสลักหินทราย) is where products are produced in nearly every house at Nong Laeng Village, Phaniat Sub-district, by using sandstone from the foot of the mountain. Many shapes are engraved into replicas of antiques, garden decoration materials, Buddha images, stone boundary markers and consecration marking balls for temples, etc.
Amphoe Phatthana Nikhom
Products from Corn Husk (ผลิตภัณฑ์จากเปลือกข้าวโพด) are produced in Phatthana Nikhom District, where a large amount of corn is planted. After the harvest, the corn husk will be dried in the sun, dyed with many colours and created as handicrafts in various styles such as flowers, dolls, key chains, etc.
Groups are also formed to produce and sell their merchandise at Nam Khun Village (Soi 21), 33 Mu 7, Phatthana Nikhom Sub-district.
Moreover, there are other interesting products and seasonal fruits such as woven mats at Ban Tha Din Dam Sub-district, Chai Badan District, hyacinth woven products at Ban Boek Sub-district and Bang Li Sub-district, Tha Wung District, santols at Talung Sub-district, Mueang District, custard apples (Pui Fai variety) at Nam Chan Village, Mueang District, etc. Tel. 0 3663 9105
Examples of Tour Programmes
Programme 1 Lop Buri City Tour.
Morning Visit and pay respect to the Statue of King Narai the Great / San Phra Kan, as well as, witness the lifestyle of the monkeys in that area / Phra Prang Sam Yot / admire the Narai Ratchaniwet Palace, the second capital city during the reign of King Narai the Great (lunch).
Afternoon Experience the method of Din So Phong production at the Din So Phong Village, / visit Phra Thinang Yen, King Narai the Great’s solar and lunar eclipse inspection venue with the groups of diplomats and priests from France / visit Wat Khao Phra Ngam to pay respect to the large seated Buddha image whose hair curls were made of garlic jars at the foot of the hill / choose Khao Phra Ngam diamonds as souvenirs / purchase souvenirs at the Mudmi Centre and local products of Lop Buri / return to Lop Buri.
Programme 2 Lop Buri – Tha Wung District – Ban Mi District.
Morning Pay respect to the Maitreya Bodhisattva’s image and admire the stucco relief, important large wall sculptural arts of the country at the wihan in Wat Lai, / visit many temples on Samo Khon mountain range, the historical mountain of Lop Buri / see the floating ubosot on the junk and Sala Thammasangwet - a realisation of the transience of life – a funeral hall in the shape of a public bus at Wat Thong Khung (lunch).
Afternoon Witness the weaving process of Ban Mi and Pha Khao Ma – a loincloth - in the pattern of Sai Pla Lai of the Thai Phuan people at Ban Kluai, Ban Hin Pak, / purchase Pla Som Fak as a souvenir / visit Wat Khao Wongkot and witness millions of bats searching for food in the evening in a very impressive atmosphere / return to Lop Buri.
Programme 3 Lop Buri – Khok Samrong.
Morning Depart for Khao Wong Phra Chan, test our body strength by climbing up the steps to pay respect to the Buddha footprint at the summit of Khao Wong Phra Chan (lunch – lunch box).
Afternoon Visit Khao Phra Ngam and purchase Khao Phra Ngam diamond / return to Lop Buri.
Programme 4 Lop Buri – Chai Badan District – Phatthana Nikhom District.
Morning Study nature by trekking, see various kinds of birds and plants at the Khao Somphot Non-hunting Area, / have lunch at Namtok Wang Kan Lueang, / at leisure.
Afternoon Witness the Kok reed mat weaving process at Tha Din Dam Village / Pa Sak Jolasid Dam, / admire the sunset at Ang Sap Lek, / return to Lop Buri.
Programme 5 Lop Buri – Sap Langka Forest (2 Days 1 Night).
Day 1 Depart for Sap Langka Wildlife Sanctuary / briefing / choose the trekking route (stay overnight).
Day 2 Experience the morning atmosphere amidst the natural purity in Sap Langka Wildlife Sanctuary. Start the journey to experience the nature by taking the other route / return to Lop Buri.
Programme 6 Tourism Activities in the Military Areas.
Morning Depart for the Special Warfare Training Centre and witness the demonstration of how to survive in the forest / test your spirit by jumping from the 34-foot tower/ lunch.
Afternoon Test your accuracy skill by shooting at various distances / cliff climbing / see the development of the Special Warfare Command at the Special Force Museum (Pa Wai Camp).
This page was last edited at 05:05, on 7 August 2008 by bornDistinction. Based on work by Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel.