Kalasin Province is in Isaan.
Kalasin (กาฬสินธุ์) is the provincial capital of Kalasin Province.
Kalasin is one of the most fertile provinces in the northeastern region. According to archaeological evidence, it points that the area was once inhabited by the Lawa tribe, whose civilization dates back to about 1,600 years ago. The historical evidence points out that the city was first established during the Rattanakosin period in 1793. Thao Somphamit and his troops escaped from the left bank of the Mekong River and settled on the bank of the Pao River, which was called ‘Ban Kaeng Samrong.’ Then, he sent tribute to King Rama I the Great who later promoted Ban Kaeng Samrong as a city and renamed it ‘Kalasin’ or ‘Mueang Nam Dam’ (a black water town), which later became an important city. ‘Kala’ means ‘black’; ‘sin’ means ‘water’, so Kalasin means ‘black water.’ The king also appointed Thao Somphamit as ‘Phraya Chaisunthon’ who became the first ruler of Kalasin.
The province comprises 18 amphoe:- Don Chan; Huai Mek; Huai Phueng; Kamalasai; Kham Muang; Khao Wong; Khong Chai; Kuchinarai; Mueang Kalasin; Na Khu; Na Mon; Nong Kung Si; Rong Kham; Sahatsakhan; Sam Chai; Somdet; Tha Khantho; Yang Talat.
Distances from Amphoe Mueang to other Amphoes and King Amphoes
- Amphoe Kamalasai 12 kilometres
- Amphoe Yang Talat 16 kilometres
- Amphoe Khong Chai 26 kilometres
- Amphoe Don Chan 32 kilometres
- Amphoe Sahatsakhan 39 kilometres
- Amphoe Rong Kham 39 kilometres
- Amphoe Somdet 40 kilometres
- Amphoe Na Mon 42 kilometres
- Amphoe Huai Mek 48 kilometres
- Amphoe Huai Phueng 60 kilometres
- Amphoe Nong Kung Si 62 kilometres
- Amphoe Kuchinarai 79 kilometres
- Amphoe Kham Muang 81 kilometres
- Amphoe Sam Chai 85 kilometres
- Amphoe Na Khu 88 kilometres
- Amphoe Tha Khantho 99 kilometres
- Amphoe Khao Wong 103 kilometres
Visitors can get around Kalasin by rickshaws or skylabs (local 3-wheeled vehicle). There are also public bus services from Amphoe Mueang to other districts.
- Kalasin - the provincial capital
- North - borders Udon Thani and Sakon Nakhon
- South - borders Roi Et and Maha Sarakham
- East - borders Sakon Nakhon and Mukdahan
- West - borders Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen, Udon Thani
Kalasin is 519 kilometres from Bangkok. Take the route Bangkok – Saraburi – Nakhon Ratchasima (Highway No. 2) until you reach Amphoe Ban Phai of Khon Kaen province. Continue on Highway No. 23 and 213 and Highway No. 209 (Maha Sarakham - Kalasin).
The Transport Co., Ltd. provides air-conditioned and ordinary bus services daily from Bangkok to Kalasin. More details can be obtained at the Northeastern Bus Terminal (Mo Chit 2), Tel. 0 2936 2841-48, 0 2936 2852-66 or www.transport.co.th.
Take the train from Bangkok to Khon Kaen, then catch a bus from Khon Kaen to Kalasin, a distance of 75 kilometres. The State Railway of Thailand has rapid train, express train and air-conditioned sprinter train services. For more details, call SRT at Tel. 1690, or 0 2220 4334, 0 2220 4444, Khon Kaen Railway Station, Tel. 0 4322 1112, or browse www.railway.co.th.
Thai Airways International has no direct flight from Bangkok to Kalasin but you can get a flight from Bangkok to Khon Kaen and catch a bus to Kalasin. For details, call Tel. 1566 or 0 2280 0060, 0 2628 2000 and www.thaiairways.com.
PB Air also operates daily flights from Bangkok to Roi Et, except on Tuesdays and Sundays. Then, continue by bus to Kalasin. For details, call Tel. 0 2261 0221-5 and 0 4351 8572 www.pbair.com.
Amphoe Mueang Kalasin
Phraya Chaisunthon Monument (Chao Somphamit) (อนุสาวรีย์พระยาชัยสุนทร): It is located in front of the Kalasin Post Office. The life-sized monument is made from bronze in a standing position with the right hand holding a teapot, and left hand holding a magic sword. The people of Kalasin donated the money to build this monument so to express their gratitude to the founder of the city.
Wat Klang (วัดกลาง): It is located near Phraya Chaisunthon Monument. Wat Klang is a third-class royal temple. Within the temple’s compound, there is an Ubosot building, which was an extension from the old building. The Thai-style Ubosot is decorated with ‘Chofa’ (gable finial) and ‘Bai Raka’ (crockets). The wooden doors are carved telling the life of the Lord Buddha; while the windows tell the Jataka stories. There are stucco door guardians in the front and at the back. The Ubosot houses murals depicting the story of the Vessantara Jataka. Inside a pavilion or Sala near the Ubosot building is a black Buddha image, made from bronze with a lap of 20-inches wide. It is a beautiful Buddha image. The pedestal of the image bears an inscription in ancient Thai language stating that the image was built during the period of King Khu Na Kham. Phraya Chaisunthon took it to be the provincial image, which became highly revered by the local people. In any drought season, the local people would take the Buddha image in a procession to beg for rain.
Apart from the black Buddha image, Wat Klang also has a Buddha footprint, which is 20-inch wide and 80-inch long, made from laterite. It is believed to have been built during the Lawa period. Formerly, it was located on the bank of Lam Pao – the Pao River, near Kaeng Samrong. Later on, the bank of the river gradually collapsed, so the local people decided to relocate it to this temple.
Wat Si Bun Rueang (วัดศรีบุญเรือง) or Wat Nuea (วัดเหนือ) The ancient temple is situated in Mueang district. The temple stores a number of crafted boundary stones from Fa Daet Song Yang Ancient City. The stones are located around the Ubosot building. One of the most beautiful boundary stones, which are of the Dvaravati art, is the one that depicts flying angels over a Prasat or palace represented by double arches, with the king, queen and their sons at the bottom.
Kalasin Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์ของดีจังหวัดกาฬสินธุ์) Located at the former city hall of Kalasin, the museum was established by Mr. Chairat Mapraneet, Governor of Kalasin province, with an aim to show the collections of good things in Kalasin. The museum features a lecture room, governor’s room, religious room, room to honour H.M. the Queen, room showcasing ways of life of the Phu Thai people, Wichit Phrae Wa room, handicraft room, room for demonstration of Phrae Wa silk, and sales of souvenirs. The museum is open every Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Tel. 0 4381 1695.
Phutthasathan Phu Po (พุทธสถานภูปอ) It is located in the compound of Wat In Prathan Phon, Tambon Phu Po, approximately 28 kilometres from Kalasin province. Travel along Highway No. 213 and then at approximately Km. 59, turn left to Ban Chot – Ban Na Chan – Na Khok Khwai for 16 kilometres. The site is where two ancient reclining Buddha images of the Dvaravati period carved on the cliff can be seen. They are the sacred images highly revered by the people of Kalasin and nearby provinces. The first image is at the foothill and the second one is on Phu Po. Apart from storing sacred Buddha images, Phu Po also features beautiful nature perfect for rest and relaxation. There is an annual ceremony to celebrate the reclining Buddha images in April every year.
Ban Phokhru Plueang Chairatsami (บ้านพ่อครูเปลื้อง ฉายรัศมี) is located at 229/4, Kaset Sombun Road, Tambon Kalasin. Khru Plueang Chairatsami was declared a National Artist in 1986 in the field of folk music. He built a farmer’s hut to be used as a traditional music school. The hut also displays traditional musical instruments such as Phin (lute), Khaen (reed organ), So (bowed stringed instrument) and Pong Lang (northeastern style xylophone). It is also used as accommodation for students from other areas who come to study traditional music. Khru Plueang is considered the pride of the people of Kalasin and is the legend of Pong Lang of Kalasin, the northeastern-style music which has been continued by him for over two decades. He also created new styles of folk music such as Mak Kalong – a musical instrument made from a string of cow’s bells to make the musical sound.
Mueang Fa Daet Song Yang (เมืองฟ้าแดดสงยาง) is situated in Ban Sema, Tambon Nong Paeng. It is 19 kilometres from the city. Take Highway No. 214 (Kalasin – Roi Et) for 13 kilometres until reaching Kamalasai district, then turn right along Highway No. 2367 for 6 kilometres, turn right again for 400 metres to reach Fa Daet Song Yang. The town is sometimes called Fa Daet Sung Yang, or some people call it Mueang Sema due to its geographical look that resembles Sema - a boundary stone. It is an ancient town surrounded by earthen mounds with the length of about 5 kilometres. The moat sits in the middle of the two earthen mounds. From archaeological findings, it was found that the town had been inhabited since the pre-history period. During the 8th - 10th Century, or the Dvaravati period, the city became more developed. Evidence for its civilization are religious ruins in and around the city such as a large number of sandstone boundary markers with bas-reliefs depicting the Jataka stories and life of the Lord Buddha. Some of these have been kept at Wat Pho Chai Semaram in the city; and some of them remain in situ. Some of them are showcased at Khon Kaen National Museum. Aside from that, there are ancient ruins scattered in and around the city such as Phrathat Yakhu and groups of chedis at Non Wat Sung, Non Fa Yat and Non Fa Daet. On 27 September, 1936, the Fine Arts Department registered Fa Daet Song Yang as an ancient monument.
Phrathat Yakhu (พระธาตุยาคู) or Phrathat Yai (พระธาตุใหญ่) is the largest chedi in Fa Daet Song Yang. It is an octagonal-shaped chedi, made of bricks. Evidence shows that it was constructed for three periods. The pedestal was in a redented square shape, with staircases at the four directions and decorated with stucco built during the Dvaravati period. The upper pedestal was in an octagonal shape, built on top of the original one and supporting an old chedi of the Ayutthaya period. The body and the top were created in the Rattanakosin period. Around the Phrathat, there are boundary stones with bas-reliefs depicting the life of the Lord Buddha. For this Phrathat, local people believe that it stores the bones of a respected senior monk. It can be noticed that when Mueang Chiang Som won the battle, they destroyed everything in Fa Daet Song Yang, except for Phrathat Yakhu. For this reason, the remains of the Phrathat are still in perfect condition. In the month of May every year, there will be the annual Rocket Festival, which is the ceremony to ask for rain to make the village live in peace.
Wat Pho Chai Semaram (วัดโพธิ์ชัยเสมาราม) or Wat Ban Kom (วัดบ้านก้อม) is situated at Ban Sema, opposite the entrance to Fa Daet Song Yang. It is an old temple with a huge collection of old boundary stones of gigantic sizes, which are unique for the northeastern region. The boundary stones found in Fa Daet Song Yang are different from those discovered in other regions, as they were usually carved telling Jataka stories and the life of the Lord Buddha. There is one most beautiful boundary stone depicting the story when the Lord Buddha came back to Kapilavasdu. The boundary stone depicts King Suddhodhana (his father), Rahula (his son) and Yashodhara Pimpa (his wife) paying the greatest respect to the Lord Buddha, with Yashodhara Pimpa using her hair to clean the Buddha’s feet. As such, this boundary stone is called ‘Pimpa Philap’ (crying Pimpa). The original of this beautiful boundary marker is now located at the Khon Kaen National Museum.
Amphoe Yang Talat
Lam Pao Dam (เขื่อนลำปาว) The dam was built to block Lam Pao - the Pao River - and Huai Yang – Yang Creek. It borders Tambon Lam Pao, Amphoe Mueang; Tambon Nong Bua, Amphoe Nong Kung Si; and Tambon Woe, Amphoe Yang Talat. The earthen dam is 33 metres high. The crest of the dam is 7.8 metres long, and 8 metres wide. The construction was commenced in 1963 and was completed in 1968, so to block water from Lam Pao and Huai Yang at Ban Nong Song Hong, Tambon Lam Pao, Amphoe Mueang. This resulted in twin reservoirs above the dam. A channel was dug to link both reservoirs, which can hold 1,430 million cubic metres. The dam was constructed particularly for relieving flood problems and for agriculture. Aside from that, it also serves as a breeding area for fish and relaxing spot for the public such as Dok Ket Beach.
To get there: Take Highway No. 213 (Kalasin – Maha Sarakham) until Km. 33-34, then turn right to Lam Pao Dam along the paved road for 26 kilometres.
Lam Pao Wildlife Conservation Development and Promotion Station (สถานีพัฒนาและส่งเสริมการอนุรักษ์สัตว์ป่าลำปาว) or Suan Sa-on (สวนสะออน) is located near Lam Pao Dam with a total area of 1,420 rai. It is quite an abundant deciduous dipterocarp forest. Inside is an open zoo in which there are indigenous wild animals including 130 bantengs, which are rare, and also other fauna like gibbons, monkeys, various kinds of domestic and migratory birds, along with nature trails. Suan Sa-on is open every day from 7:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m., free of charge. Visitors who want to stay or do camping at the station have to ask for permission in advance by sending a letter to the Lam Pao Wildlife Conservation Development and Promotion Station at P.O. Box 120, Amphoe Mueang, Kalasin 46000; or Director of the Wildlife Conservation Office, National Park, Wildlife and Plant Conservation Department. Tel. 0 2562 0760.
To get there: There are two routes to get there. Take the same route as going to Lam Pao Dam. From the dam, continue further along the crest for approximately 4 kilometres, or take the Kalasin – Sahatsakhan route (Highway No. 227) for 19 kilometres, then turn left and drive for 5 kilometres until reaching Suan Sa-on.
Amphoe Tha Khantho
Phu Phra Forest Park (วนอุทยานภูพระ) Situated in Tambon Na Tan, Phu Phra Forest Park was formerly a part of the Dong Mun National Forest Reserve. It features an outstanding mountain located near the villages. The Phu Phra Forest is quite a thick forest, with wild animals and a beautiful stream and view. The plain on the backside of the mountain houses an ancient stone Buddha image. Some of the interesting tourist attractions in the forest park include:
- Pha Sawoei (ผาเสวย) It is an expansive stone cliff, about 150-200 metres wide. It is a breathtaking sightseeing spot.
- Tham Siam Sap (ถ้ำเสียมสับ) It is a cliff cave that looks like somebody had dug the cave with a spade or ‘Siam’.
- Tham Phra Rot (ถ้ำพระรอด) It is a cave that occurred due to the separation of a stone cliff. Inside the cave, there is a walkway of about 2 metres wide and 30 metres long. In the past, there were monks staying and practicing dharma inside the cave.
- Pha Hin Yaek (ผาหินแยก) It is a separating cliff of 20 metres long and 6 metres deep. The leaning cliff is also a good sightseeing spot.
- Tham Phra (ถ้ำพระ) It is a cave 30 metres in depth. The entrance is about 15 metres wide. There is a Buddha image that is highly revered by locals. Every year during the Songkran Festival, people would ascend to the cave to pour lustral water on the Buddha image to pay respect.
To get there: From Tha Khantho, take Highway No. 2299 to Km. 16, or take an Udon Thani – Kalasin bus and get off at Wat Sawang Tham Koeng in front of the forest park.
Sirindhorn Museum and Phu Kum Khao Dinosaur Excavation Site (พิพิธภัณฑ์สิรินธร และแหล่งขุดค้นไดโนเสาร์ภูกุ้มข้าว) Situated near the foothill of Phu Kum Khao in Wat Sakkawan. It is accessible by taking the Kalasin – Sahatsakhan route (Highway No. 227) for 25 kilometres, the museum is 2 kilometres before reaching Sahatsakhan. In 1970, Phrakhru Wichit Sahatsakhun, Abbot of Wat Sakkawan, discovered large-sized bones in the temple’s compound. At that time, he did not know that they were dinosaur’s fossils, so he kept them at the temple. Then, in 1978, a group of geologists from the Mineral Resources Department surveyed the area and declared that they were dinosaur’s fossils. In 1980, a Thai-French Geological Survey Group took 3 bones for further study, and found out that they were the fossils of a Sauropod. Then, in 1994, through systematic excavation and preservation, numerous dinosaur fossils were found in the rock of the Sao Khrua formation, assumed to date back to the early Cretaceous Period, or around 130 million years ago. More than 700 fossilized bones were found in this excavation site and they were assumed to belong to seven dinosaurs. The museum also keeps the new-found species of ancient fish which is still in perfect condition. The plain-water fish which is known as ‘Lepidotes’ and is around 30-60 centimetres long is assumed to have lived in the Mesozoic Period, or around 65 million years ago. It is assumed that the area was once a huge swamp that suddenly became dry, causing the death of the fish and they were covered with mud to become fossils that we see today. As such, Phu Kum Khao is considered to be the largest and most perfect concentration of dinosaur fossils in Thailand. The museum is open every day from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. For more information, contact the Phu Kum Khao Dinosaur Research Centre, Mineral Resources Department, in Sahatsakhan district. Tel. 0 4387 1014, 0 4387 1394.
Meanwhile, Wat Sakkawan also houses a sacred Buddha image known as Luangpho Bandan Ritthiphon (Luangpho Ban Dan), which is a subduing Mara Buddha image of the Dvaravati period, highly revered by local people.
Phutthasathan Phu Sing (พุทธสถานภูสิงห์) is located on top of Phu Sing, about 34 kilometres from Mueang district, on Highway No. 227. There are two ways to reach Phutthasathan Phu Sing: either by driving along a paved and curved road in the west, or ascending more than 400 steps in the east to reach the top. The hill is where Phra Phrom Phumi Palo is located. It is a large image in the subduing Mara posture that is 10.5 metres wide and is clearly visible from below. The surrounding area is shady and offers a lovely panoramic view.
Wat Phutthanimit (วัดพุทธนิมิต) (Phu Khao – ภูค่าว)) is located at Ban Na Si Nuan, about 7 kilometres from Sahatsakhan and 4 kilometres from Phu Sing. It houses a rock relief of an ancient reclining Buddha image leaning on his left side, which is about 2 metres long and 25 centimetres wide. The Buddha image is highly revered by the local people. According to legend, Moggallana, a chief disciple of the Lord Buddha created this image over 2,000 years ago. Every year in April, there will be a bathing ceremony to celebrate the Buddha image. Also, the temple has an open wooden Ubosot, of which the windows, doors and ceilings are beautifully carved in 3 dimensions depicting the life of the Lord Buddha and Jataka stories. There is also Wihan Sangkhanimit which houses rare Buddha images and amulets. The temple is open for interested visitors every day.
Laem Non Wiset (แหลมโนนวิเศษ) It is the land that stretches into Lam Pao Dam’s reservoir. It is located at Tambon Non Buri, about 6 kilometres from town and about 300 metres from Wat Sakkawan. Laem Non Wiset is a good sunset watching spot. There is also a ferry service to travel between Sahatsakhan and Nong Kung Si districts. The ferry can accommodate 4 – 10 six-wheel and four-wheel vehicles, each trip taking 15-20 minutes at the following service charges:
- Motorcycle 40 baht
- 4-wheel car 60 baht
- 6-wheel car 90 baht
- van 70 baht
Amphoe Kham Muang
Ban Phon Phrae Wa Silk Weaving Group (กลุ่มทอผ้าไหมแพรวาบ้านโพน) is about 70 kilometres from Kalasin, on Highway No. 227. Phrae Wa silk is a unique style of the Phu Thai ethnic group of Ban Phon. It is divided into two patterns: Lai Lak (principal pattern) and Lai Thaep (stripe pattern). The colour of Phrae Wa silk is not only in red as it used to be, but there are many more colours that fit the market needs such as beige, pink, purple, blue and green. It can be considered that Phrae Wa silk is a rare handcrafted textile product in Thailand. H.M. Queen Sirikit has been supporting and promoting silk until it has become known locally and internationally.
Pha Sawoei (ผาเสวย) is located on the Phu Phan mountain range in Ban Kaeng Ka-am, Tambon Pha Sawoei. It is 17 kilometres from Somdet district, and about 58 kilometres from Kalasin along the Somdet – Sakon Nakhon route on Highway No. 213, at Km. 101 – 102. Pha Sawoei was formerly called ‘Pha Rang Raeng’. In 1954, Their Majesties the King and the Queen visited the cliff and had lunch here, so the place’s name was changed to ‘Pha Sawoei’ (Sawoei is a royal term for eating). As it is located in the deep valley with a high cliff, the locals also called it ‘Heo Ham Hot’. It is a good sightseeing and relaxing spot for visitors.
Amphoe Khao Wong
Namtok Pha Nang Khoi (น้ำตกผานางคอย) is located in Tambon Bo Kaeo. It is a huge waterfall, beautifully cascading down from the Phu Phan mountain range. It is surrounded with abundant thick forest. There is water all year round, even in the dry season.
To get there: Take Highway No. 2291 from Khao Wong Intersection, then go onto Ro Pho Cho Road where there is a signboard showing the way to Pha Nang Khoi for 13 kilometres. (Some parts are unpaved road).
Namtok Tat Thong (น้ำตกตาดทอง) is located on the Khao Wong - Dong Luang – Mukdahan Road. It is a huge and beautiful waterfall with complex stone cliffs. It is most beautiful in the rainy season and is easily accessible by car.
To get there: Take Highway No. 2291 until you reach Kut Pla Khao, and then turn left into Highway 2287. The waterfall is at Km. 76 on the right.
Phu Thai Nong Hang Handicraft Centre (ศูนย์หัตถกรรมผู้ไทยหนองห้าง) is located in Ban Nong Hang, Tambon Nong Hang, approximately 10 kilometres from Kuchinarai district. Take Highway No. 2042 for about 2 kilometres, then turn left into the paved road and drive for another 6 kilometres. Local villagers of Nong Hang form a network to weave cotton, silk as well as bamboo woven in the textile’s ‘Khit’ pattern. Some of the beautiful basketry products include ‘Krato’ – a vegetable container, ‘Kratip’ – a sticky rice container, handbags and other containers.
Phu Thai Khok Kong Cultural Village (หมู่บ้านวัฒนธรรมผู้ไทยโคกโก่ง) located in Tambon Kut Wa, is a small village situated at the hillside and inhabited by a large number of Phu Thai ethnic group. It was selected to be a pioneering village for cultural tourism. Visitors can experience homestay and cultural activities such as ‘Baisi Su Khwan’ – a spirit warming ceremony - or ‘Yao’ – a healing ceremony for patients, as well as ‘Pha Laeng’ – a local style dinner, cultural performances and trekking to learn of local plants and herbs. One can also take a trip to Namtok Tat Sung – Tat Yao along the nature trails in Phu Pha Wua Forest Park, Phu Si Than Wildlife Sanctuary. Interested person can get more details at Tel. 0 4385 1225.
To get there: From Kuchinarai, take Highway No. 2042 for 12 kilometres until you reach Ban Na Khrai, then turn left and drive further for 3 kilometres.
Amphoe Na Khu
Phu Faek Forest Park (วนอุทยานภูแฝก) (Dinosaur Footprints – แหล่งรอยเท้าไดโนเสาร์) is located at Mu 6, Ban Nam Kham, Tambon Phu Laen Chang, with alternate mountainous and hilly topography covered with a deciduous dipterocarp forest featuring various kinds of flora such as Makha Mong (Afzelia xylocarpa), Teng (Shorea optusa), Rang (Shorea siamensis) and rosewood; and it is easy to spot some wild animals such as squirrels, tree shrews, civets and hares.
In November 1996, two girls were having lunch there with their parents and they noticed strange footprints in the middle of a rock terrace of Huai Ngao Du, at Phu Faek foothill, Phu Phan mountain range. They later informed geologists who came to survey the site. There, they discovered seven footprints of meat-eating dinosaurs, assumed to live there around 140 million years ago. At present, there are only 4 footprints that can be seen clearly.
To get there: From Mueang district, take Highway No. 213 to Somdet district. Upon reaching Somdet district, turn right into Highway 2042 leading to Kuchinarai for 20 kilometres until you reach Huai Phueng. Turn left toward Na Khu along Highway No. 2101 for 10 kilometres, then turn left into Phu Faek Forest Park for 4.7 kilometres.
Kalasin Pong Lang, Phrae Wa and Red Cross Fair (งานมหกรรมโปงลาง แพรวา และกาชาด จังหวัดกาฬสินธุ์) is held annually in February in front of the city hall. The festival features a colourful parade of each district decorated with a gigantic-sized Pong Lang – folk vertical xylophone, people dressed in traditional clothes, cultural competition, beauty pageant and local products sales.
Wichit Phrae Wa Silk Festival (งานมหกรรมวิจิตรแพรวาราชินีแห่งไหม) is held annually on August 12, at Rim Pao Hotel to honour H.M. Queen Sirikit who has kindly supported the Phrae Wa silk under her royal patronage and promoted it to wider public awareness. The Queen’s support also helps to create employment for local Phu Thai people. The event features a Phrae Wa silk contest, fashion show of Phrae Wa silk dresses, cultural parade, demonstration of silk weaving, and sales of Phrae Wa silk.
Local Products and Souvenirs
- Kalasin has various kinds of local products such as Phrae Wa silk, Mudmee silk, Khit textile, basketry products, pounded pork and beef.
- Ban Phon Phrae Wa Silk Weaving Group (กลุ่มสตรีทอผ้าไหมแพรวาบ้านโพน) Tambon Phon, Amphoe Kham Muang. Tel. 0 4385 6081.
- New Friend (ร้านนิวเฟรน) 291 Thetsaban 23 Road (next to Bank of Ayudhya), Amphoe Mueang. Tel. 0 4381 1849, 08 1872 5062.
- Phrae Wa Kalasin (ร้านแพรวากาฬสินธุ์) (Mae Nueang – แม่เนื่อง) 192/1 Phirom Road, Amphoe Mueang (next to the Government Savings Bank at the Fountain Circle). Tel. 0 4381 1717.
- Phu Thai Nong Hang Handicraft Centre (ศูนย์หัตถกรรมผู้ไทยหนองห้าง) 223 M. 1 Ban Nong Hang, Tambon Nong Hang, Amphoe Kuchinarai. Tel. 0 4385 1090.
Amphoe Mueang Kalasin
- Sai Thong Hotel (โรงแรมไทรทอง) 125 Somphamit Road, Tel. 0 4381 3348. 16 rooms, 200-320 baht.
- Sabai Sabai Bungalow (บังกะโล สบาย สบาย) 118 Kalasin - Sahatsakhan Road, Tel. 0 4387 3232. 15 rooms, 100-250 baht.
- Ban Phak Ruean Phae (บ้านพักเรือนแพ) 89 Mu 7 Tambon Phu Din, Tel. 08 9274 2850, 08 1974 5492. 14 rooms, 500 baht.
- Phaibun (ไพบูลย์) 125/5-6 Somphamit Road, Tel. 0 4381 1661. 48 rooms, 200-360 baht.
- Rim Pao (ริมปาว) 71/2 Kut Yang Samakkhi Road, Tel. 0 4381 3631-9. 140 rooms, 660-3,745 baht.
- Suphak (สุภัค) 81/7 Saneha Road, Tel. 0 4381 1051. 52 rooms, 220-550 baht.
- Saeng Thong (แสงทอง) 100-102 Phirom Road, Tel. 0 4381 1555. 28 rooms, 150-350 baht.
- Somdet Hotel (สมเด็จโฮเต็ล) 158/2 Tambon Somdet, Tel. 0 4386 1150. 32 rooms, 220- 350 baht.
- P.P. Bungalow (พีพี บังกะโล) 103 Mu 10 Tambon Bua Khao, Tel. 0 4383 2443. 20 rooms, 150 – 350 baht.
- Saeng Chai (แสงชัย) 121 Bua Khao Road, Tel. 0 4385 1222. 8 rooms, 100-300 baht.
- Ban Khiang Pao (บ้านเคียงปาว) 35 Mu 9, Tambon Non Buri. 2 houses, 250 baht.
Amphoe Mueang Kalasin
- Phong Phan Porridge (ข้าวต้มผ่องพันธ์) 89/6-7 Kalasin Road, Tel. 0 4381 1940.
- Natcha Suki (ณัชชาสุกี้) 250 Phirom Road, Tel. 0 4381 2320, 08 3345 1890.
- Suan Ahan Lilawadi (สวนอาหารลีลาวดี) 269/14-16 Thanaphon Road, Tel. 0 4381 6699
- B.M. (บี เอ็ม) Thinanon Road, Tel. 0 4382 1403.
- Ban Phak Ruean Phae (บ้านพักเรือนแพ) 5 Mu 7, Kalasin – Sahatsakhan Road, Tambon Phu Din, Tel. 08 9274 2850, 08 1974 5492.
- Suki House (สุกี้เฮ้าส์) 332/8-9 Thinanon Road, Tel. 0 4381 2804.
- Kuchinarai Restaurant (ห้องอาหารกุฉินารายณ์) In Rim Pao Hotel, Kut Yang Samakkhi Road, Tel. 0 4381 3631.
- Suphak Restaurant (ห้องอาหารสุภัค) In Suphak Hotel, Saneha Road, Tel. 0 4381 1031.
- Udom Photchana (อุดมโภชนา) 39/3 Pradit Road, Tel. 0 4381 1912.
Amphoe Yang Talat
- Shell Photchana (เชลล์โภชนา) Yang Talat Intersection.
- Phloi Thale (พลอยทะเล) 346/5 Mu 4, Yang Talat Intersection, Thinanon Road, Tel. 0 4389 1138, 0 4389 1484.
- Khak E-lee (คักอีหลี) 85 Mu 2, Thinanon Road, Tel. 0 4386 1311.
- Dear (เดียร์) near Bua Khao Pond, Tel. 0 4385 1391.
- Kalasin Job-training for the Blind Centre (ศูนย์สาธิตอาชีพคนตาบอดจังหวัดกาฬสินธุ์) 89/1 Pradit Road, Amphoe Mueang, Tel. 0 4382 0359. Rate per course is 120 baht. The centre is open from 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
- Traditional Massage for Health (ร้านนวดแผนโบราณนวดเพื่อสุขภาพ) 79 Soi Kham Phon Phatthana, Thanaphon Road, Amphoe Mueang (behind Shinawatra Hospital), Tel. 0 4382 0832. Rate per course is 120 baht. Open from 6:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
- Tour to Paradise Thailand Part., Ltd. (ห้างหุ้นส่วนจำกัด ทัวร์ ทู พาราไดซ์ ไทยแลนด์) 245/6 Thanaphon Road, Amphoe Mueang, Tel. 0 4381 3102, Fax. 0 4381 2833.
- Pitinan Travel Part., Ltd. (ห้างหุ้นส่วนจำกัด ปิตินันท์ ทราเวล) 101-103 Phirom Road, Tambon Kalasin, Amphoe Mueang, Tel. 0 4382 2167, 0 4381 1035, 0 4381 1649.
This page was last edited at 07:22, on 8 February 2008 by bornDistinction. Based on work by Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel.