Chachoengsao Province is in Eastern Thailand.
Chachoengsao town (ฉะเชิงเทรา) is the provincial capital of Chachoengsao Province.
Chachoengsao or Paet Rio is a province in the Central region. It has an old history back to the reign of King Borommatrailokkanat in the Ayutthaya period. Most of the people have settled by the Bang Pakong River and along canals. “Luangpho Phuttha Sothon” is a centre of faith of the people of Paet Rio. In the past, Chachoengsao was a fourth class city under the Ministry of Defence. During the reign of King Rama I, it was attached to the Ministry of Interior. Until the reign of King Rama V who changed the administration system, Chachoengsao became a city in the Prachin Buri Circle. In 1916, its status was changed from a city to a province. “Chacheongsao” is a Khmer word which means a deep canal. The name “Paet Rio” comes from the story that the city once teemed with giant snake-head fish; up to 8 cuts were required on the sides in making sun-dried fish.
- Chachoengsao town - the provincial capital
Chacheongsao is 82 km from Bangkok, covering an area of 5,351 sq km. The province is divided into 10 districts and one minor district; namely, Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao, Amphoe Bang Khla, Amphoe Bang Nam Priao, Amphoe Bang Pakong, Amphoe Ban Pho, Amphoe Phanom Sarakham, Amphoe Sanam Chai Khet, Amphoe Plaeng Yao, Amphoe Ratchasan, Amphoe Tha Takiap, and King Amphoe Khlong Khuean.
Distances from Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao to Other Districts
- Amphoe Ban Pho 14 km
- King Amphoe Khlong Khuean 18 km
- Amphoe Bang Nam Priao 19 km
- Amphoe Bang Pakong 24 km
- Amphoe Bang Khla 25 km
- Amphoe Phanom Sarakham 32 km
- Amphoe Plaeng Yao 35 km
- Amphoe Sanam Chai Khet 50 km
- Amphoe Ratchasan 53 km
- Amphoe Tha Takiap 85 km
- North - Borders Prachin Buri and Nakhon Nayok.
- South - Borders Chon Buri, Chanthaburi, and the Gulf of Thailand.
- East - Borders Sa Kaeo.
- West - Borders Samut Prakan, Pathum Thani, and Bangkok.
From Bangkok, there are three routes:-
- Take Highway 304 (Bangkok – Min Buri – Chachoengsao), a total distance of 75 km.
- Take Highway 34 (Bang Na – Trat Road) and change to Highway 314 (Bang Pakong – Chachoengsao), a total distance of 90 km.
- Take Highway 3 (past Samut Prakan and Bang Pakong) and change to Highway 314, a total distance of 100 km.
There is an air-conditioned bus service from the Northern Bus Terminal on Kamphaeng Phet II Road during 5.20 a.m. – 6.00 p.m. The bus leaves every 30 minutes. The travel takes about one hour and 20 minutes, using the Motorway. For more information, contact the Chachoengsao Transport Company Limited (Kamphaeng Phet II Road) at Tel. 0 2936 4041, 08 9748 1349, or the Northern Bus Terminal (Kamphaeng Phet II Road) at Tel. 0 2936 2852 – 66 ext. 311, 442.
Additionally, visitors can travel from the Eastern Bus Terminal (Ekkamai). There is a bus service during 5.00 a.m. – 9.30 p.m. For further details, contact the Chachoengsao Transport Company Limited (Ekkamai) at Tel. 0 2712 1018, 08 9749 1336, the Eastern Bus Terminal (Ekkamai) at Tel. 0 2391 2504, the Chachoengsao Transport Company Limited (Chachoengsao) at Tel. 08 9752 9200, or the Chachoengsao Bus Terminal at Tel. 0 3851 4482.
A train service is available from the Hua Lamphong Railway Station to Chachoengsao. There are 11 trains a day. The first train departs at 5.55 a.m. and the last train leaves at 6.25 p.m. For more information, call Tel. 1690, 0 2220 4334, or contact the Chachoengsao Railway Station at Tel. 0 3851 1007, or visit the website: www.railway.co.th.
Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao
Wat Sothonwararam Worawihan is located in the Municipality of Mueang Chachoengsao by the Bang Pakong River. Initially, it was named ‘Wat Hong,’ which was built in the late Ayutthaya period. The temple enshrines ‘Luangpho Phuttha Sothon,’ the Buddha image of Chachoengsao province which is revered by the people of Chachoengsao. This sacred Buddha image is believed to bring in an abundance of fruit and food, as well as expel illness. Built by a Lan Chang craftsman, the 1.48 metre-high stucco image of Buddha is in the posture of meditation, with a lap width of 1.65 m. According to history, the Buddha image magically floated up the river and was invited to be enshrined in this temple around 1770 in the early Thon Buri period. Initially, it was a bronze image in the posture of meditation, with a lap width of more than one Sok (Thai measurement equivalent to 50 cm). It had a very beautiful shape. The monks were afraid that the image might be stolen, they, therefore, decided to cover the image with mortar. The covered image is the present appearance visitors can see. Nowadays, many people from all walks of life come to pay homage to and cover the image with gold leaf.
Phra Ubosot The ceremony to lay the foundation stone and mark the beginning of the construction of a new Ubosot (ordination hall) was performed in 1987. The Provincial Public Works Office was in charge of the construction. The new Ubosot is in an applied Rattanakosin style of art. The original image of Luangpho Sothon is enshrined in the ordination hall which is open daily from 8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m.
Wihan Chamlong The imitation image of Luangpho Sothon is enshrined in the Wihan Chamlong (imitation image hall). Since the old Ubosot was dilapidated and narrow, it was demolished and replaced by a new one. The imitation image of Luangpho Sothon was moved from the old ordination hall to the Wihan Chamlong for the general public to pay homage as usual. The image hall is open from 7.00 a.m. – 4.30 p.m. on weekdays, and from 7.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. at weekends.
In the area opposite the temple, there are shops of food products and souvenirs of Chachoengsao province. For more information about the temple, call Tel. 0 3851 1048, 0 3851 1666. At the temple’s pier, there is a boat service. Visitors can cruise along the Bang Pakong River to Talat Ban Mai (Ban Mai Market).
Phraya Sisunthonwohan (Noi Acharayangkun) Monument is located on Si Sothon Tat Mai Road, opposite the Sammanakhan Bang Pakong Park (Rajabhat Rajanagarindra University). The statue which was cast from metal is 2.65 m high. The opening ceremony was performed on 8 June 1999. Phraya Sisunthonwohan (Noi Acharayangkun) was a native of Paet Rio. He was a scholar of Thai language who served the royal court closely throughout his whole life from the reign of King Rama III to King Rama V. He composed poems, proverbs, and royal ceremonial announcements. Also, he was the author of many textbooks on Thai language for teaching purposes, such as Munlabot Banphakit, Wahanit Nikon, Akson Prayok, Sangyok Phithan, Waiphot Phichan, Phisan Karan, etc.; these can be considered the most complete textbooks for Thai youth at that time.
Chachoengsao City Fortress (ป้อมเมืองฉะเชิงเทรา) is located on Maruphong Road. Built in 1794, during the reign of King Rama III, under the supervision of Krommaluang Ronnaret, the fortress was made to protect an enemy invasion. In the reign of King Rama V, it was a stronghold for an army to suppress the Ang Yi rebellion of illegal Chinese opium traders who instigated chaos and robbed the people. In front of the fortress, a public park has been established. Visitors can relax in the park and see the view of the Bang Pakong River. Inactive cannons can be seen on the city wall.
City Pillar Shrine (ศาลหลักเมือง) is a rebuilt shrine on Maruphong Road, Tambon Na Mueang. The building of Thai architecture has a four-porched roof with a Prang finial. Inside, two city pillars are housed. The old one was built in 1834 during the reign of King Rama III. The other belongs to the present day; it was constructed in 1895 during the reign of King Rama V. The shrine of the guarding god of the city pillar is located in the same area. The City Pillar Shrine is open during 7.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. Suan Somdet Phra Srinagarindra Park Chachoengsao (สวนสมเด็จพระศรีนครินทร์ฉะเชิงเทรา) is located on the 90-rai piece of land in front of the City Hall. The public park has a large lagoon at its heart surrounded by a walking path and shady trees. It is suitable for recreation.
Wat Mueang or Wat Pitulathirat Rangsarit (วัดเมืองหรือวัดปิตุลาธิราชรังสฤษฎิ์) is located in Tambon Na Mueang. The temple was built in 1834 during the reign of King Rama III, together with the city fortress and city walls by craftsmen from the capital. The architectural style is similar to Phra Prang of Wat Phra Si Rattanasatsadaram in Bangkok; there is difference in some details. Initially, the temple was called ‘Wat Mueang.’ In 1908, King Rama V on his royal visit to Chachoengsao renamed the temple ‘Wat Pitulathirat Rangsarit,’ which means the temple built by the king’s uncle.
Kuan Im Loi Nam is housed at the Chachoengsao Assistance for Charity Association (Chachoengsao Relief Unit) on Supphakit Road, Tambon Na Mueang. The Seneca ceramic tile statue in the round of Kuan Im or Kuan Yin (Goddess of Mercy) is around 119 cm high and weighs 40 kg. This yellowish solid figure holds a scripture. Therefore, this is considered Kuan Yin in the posture of holding a scripture to preach humanity of all classes and castes. The statue was washed away from another location and was found ashore near a bridge over the Bang Pakong River on 21 November 1997. The people of Paet Rio invited the statue to be here. Faithful people always come to worship the statue. For more information, call Tel. 08 5013 0946.
Wat Uphai Phatikaram or Wat Sam Po Kong (วัดอุภัยภาติการามหรือวัดซำปอกง) is located on Supphakit Road near Talat Ban Mai or Ban Mai Market. Initially, it was a Chinese temple. At present, it has been transformed into a Vietnamese temple of Mahayana (the Great Vehicle) Buddhism. On the temple grounds, a Chinese style pavilion houses Luangpho To (Phra Trairattana Nayok) or called by the Chinese people as ‘Chaopho Sam Po Kong.’ Only three Buddha images in this form are found in Thailand. The two other images are housed at Wat Kanlayanamit (Thon Buri), Bangkok, and Wat Phananchoeng, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. At weekends, visitors come from Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan, to pay homage to the image.
Talat Ban Mai or Talat Rim Nam Roi Pi (ตลาดบ้านใหม่หรือตลาดริมน้ำร้อยปี) is located on Supphakit Road (the way to Amphoe Bang Nam Priao). It is a traditional market by the Bang Pakong River aged more than 100 years. This riverside community has reflected the villagers’ way of life since before the reign of King Rama V. To preserve the ancient way of life here, as well as create careers for members of the community, the ‘Talat Ban Mai Conservation Club’ has been established. Goods on sale in the market are food, rice and curry, duck noodle soup, traditional coffee and beverage, Thai and Chinese styled sweets, traditional toys, gifts and souvenirs, etc. The market is open on Saturdays and Sundays during 9.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. For more information, contact the Talat Ban Mai Conversation Club at Tel. 0 3881 7336, 08 6148 4513, 08 9881 7161, 08 9666 4266.
Wat Chin Pracha Samoson (Wat Leng Hok Yi) is located on Supphakit Road, Tambon Ban Mai, 1 km from the City Hall. It is a Chinese temple in Mahayana Buddhism, which extends from Wat Leng Noei Yi in Bangkok. It was built in 1906 during the reign of King Rama V. During the royal visit to the ‘Prachin Buri Circle’ to open the Bangkok – Chachoengsao railway, King Rama V named the temple ‘Wat Chin Pracha Samoson.’ In the temple’s Chinese name, ‘Hok’ means fortune, luck and wealth; and ‘Leng’ refers to a dragon. Therefore, it is sometimes mentioned as the temple of the fortune dragon or the dragon of luck. According to the feng shui system, this temple is at the position of the dragon’s stomach, the dragon’s head is at Wat Leng Noei Yi in Bangkok, and the dragon’s tail is at Wat Leng Hua Yi in Chanthaburi. The dragon’s three locations lay on the lands of abundance and wealth - -Yaowarat the trading district, Paet Rio the abundant source of plants and food, and Chanthaburi the city of gems. There are many interesting items in Wat Chin Pracha Samoson. Four giant paper figures of Thao Chatu Lokkaban (Four guardian gods of the four directions) guard the entrance door. There are three principal Buddha images and eighteen of the Perfected One, which were made from paper and brought in from China. The cast figure of the God of Luck (Chai Seng Ia) is on the right of the principal Buddha images, accompanied by other gods in the Chinese belief. A giant bell weighs over one ton. It is one of the three bells in the world with letters from the Maha Prajna Paramita Sutra scripture around their bodies. It is believed that to ring the bell is like praying, which gives merit to the ringer. In addition, there are other sacred shrines, such as Wihan Buraphachan (ancestors), Wihan Chaomae Kuan Im (Kuan Yin the Goddess of Mercy), Wihan Ti Chang Uang, Sa Nathi Sawan (pond of the Heaven’s water), etc.
Wat Phayakkha Intharam or Wat Chedi (วัดพยัคฆอินทารามหรือวัดเจดีย์) is located in Tambon Ban Mai. A silver inscription found in the crack at the neck of the bell body of the giant pagoda on the temple ground made it known that the temple had been built during the reign of King Rama V, by Nai Suea or Phra Kriangkraikrabuanyut, who was chief of the city of Chachoengsao, and his wife named In. Construction of the pagoda began in 1873 and the work was completed in 1875. The temple was later finished in around 1881. It is considered as an ancient temple. The Fine Arts Department registered the temple as an ancient monument on 23 September 1982. Interesting items of the temple are a giant pagoda, two small pagodas, Wihan (pavilion) of the Lord Buddha’s footprint, Ubosot (ordination hall), and a belfry.
Wat Sampathuan Nok (เขื่อนทดน้ำบางปะกง) is located on Supphakit Road. Initially, the temple was named Wat Suan Phrik (Nok). It was built by In, a Buddhist monk, and the villagers in the late Thon Buri period. The name ‘Sampathuan’ was gradually changed from the wording ‘Sam Phra Thuan’ (three Buddha images floating upstream against the current), which is related to the legend of Luangpho Phuttha Sothon. The most interesting item is the Ubosot (ordination hall) with the stucco design on the eaves of its balcony, which was built when Phra Phutthirangsimuniwong (Ho Phromchoto) was the abbot. The design depicts the story in the Vessantara Jataka (the tenth incarnation of the Lord Buddha) and the way of life in the past of the people of Paet Rio. At the temple’s front, there is a beautiful Buddha image’s tower. The Bang Pakong Dam can be seen in the distance from the temple’s pier.
Bang Pakong Dam (เขื่อนทดน้ำบางปะกง) is located in Ban Phai Sawek, Tambon Bang Kaeo, about 6 km from town on the Chachoengsao – Bang Khla route. It is under the Bang Pakong River Development Project. The dam serves as a wall to protect the area from saline water, and a source of water for consumption, and allocation to support an expansion of the industrial sector in the East.
Amphoe Ban Pho
Talat Khlong Suan Roi Pi (100-year-old Garden-Canal Market) is located in Tambon Theppharat, Amphoe Ban Pho, Chachoengsao, and the Municipality of Tambon Khlong Suan, Amphoe Bang Bo, Samut Prakan. In the past, Khlong Suan was a waterway to Bangkok, starting from the Tha Thua sluice gate (Chachoengsao), past the Garden-Canal Market, toward Pratu Nam (Wang Sa Pathum) in Bangkok. From the past to the present, the people here, a combination of Thai Chinese, Buddhist, and Muslim people, live their happy life harmoniously. This can be seen by the different buildings, such as a Chinese vegetarian hall, Thai temple, Muslim mosque, etc., standing together in proximity. The market is also a rendezvous for people to talk to each other and exchange views, such as a coffee house. For those who are interested in the old ways of life of more than 100 years ago, the market is the ideal place. Visitors will sample delectable food of unique recipes, desserts, traditional coffee, and admire artefacts and valuable works of architecture. There are more vendors at weekends than during weekdays. For more information, contact the Municipality of Tambon Khlong Suan at Tel. 0 2739 3329, 0 2739 3253. A boat service to cruise the canal is available at the market, taking around an hour with a fare of 50 Baht.
To get there: From Bangkok, take the Bang Na – Trat Road and at Km 35, turn left to the road heading for the Thai Country Club for around 15 km. Turn left to Route Chocho 3001 for around 2 km. The entrance to the market is between Km 9-10 or Km 10-11.
From Rom Klao junction take Route Chocho 3001 for around 27 km. The entrance to the market is between Km 9-10 or Km 10-11. The trip takes around 30 minutes.
From Chachoengsao take Highway 314 (Chachoengsao – Bang Pakong). Turn right between Km 14-15 to Route Chocho 3001. The entrance to the market is between Km 9-10 or Km 10-11.
bus Take the Chachoengsao – Lat Krabang bus and get off at the entrance to the market. Walk for around 200 m.
Amphoe Bang Khla
The Shrine and Monument of King Taksin the Great (ศาลและอนุสาวรีย์สมเด็จพระเจ้าตากสินมหาราช) were built as a memorial to the king who won a victory in a fight with the Burmese troops at the mouth of the Cholo River. His troops marched through Chachoengsao to fight for independence. It was long told that once there had been a pagoda in memorial of his victory over the Burmese troops in this area until 1941 when it fell down for an unknown reason. The shrine and monument of King Taksin the Great were therefore constructed in 1988.
Wat Pho Bang Khla is 23 km from the town of Chachoengsao. The temple has an area of around 31 rai. It was formerly called “Wat Pho” and assumed to have been built during 1767-1782 in the reign of King Taksin the Great, with the art styles of the Ayutthaya and Rattanakosin periods. The Wihan (hall) with four porches was made of brick covered with plaster. Its gable-shaped roof is covered with ‘Klet Tao’ terracotta tiles. The reclining Buddha image is enshrined in the hall. Within the temple compound, many Khangkhao Mae Kai (flying foxes) are seen on trees. This is the world’s largest species of bats. It has a wolf-like face, with large eyes, a small nose and ears, reddish brown fur, sharp claws that can grip the branches of trees, and black wings. The bat can fly as fast and far as a bird. The wing spread is around 3 ft. The female bat can have only one offspring at a time. During the day, herds of bats hang their heads down to sleep on trees. At dusk, they go out to feed. They eat fruit and young leaves such as those of Bodhi, mango, and tamarind trees. From an observation, the bats here fly to feed along the Thai border or on the Cambodian side. A cruise along the Bang Pakong River passes by this temple. Visitors can disembark at the temple’s pier.
To get there: Take Highway 304 (Chachoengsao – Kabin Buri) for around 17 km. Turn left to Highway 3121. Drive through the town of Bang Khla for around 6 km, past the shrine and the monument of King Taksin the Great, and turn left for around 500 m.
Wat Chaeng (วัดแจ้ง) is located near Talat Bang Khla or Bang Khla Market. The beautiful Ubosot (ordination hall) is a combination of Sino – Thai arts, with sculptures of an ogre on its sides. It is unknown when it was built. It was long told that on the way to beat the Khmer, King Rama I led his troops to arrive at this place at dawn, so a temple was built and named ‘Wat Chaeng,’ literally meaning ‘temple of dawn.’
King Taksin the Great Stupa Memorial (อนุสรณ์สถานพระสถูปเจดีย์สมเด็จพระเจ้าตากสินมหาราช) is located near the mouth of the Cholo River (Khlong Tha Lat), in Tambon Pak Nam. The king broke through the Burmese army surrounding Ayutthaya the capital, and moved his troops past Nakhon Nayok and Prachin Buri. After that, he clashed with the Burmese near the mouth of the Cholo River. With his intelligence, the king defeated the Burmese who outnumbered his troops, and then took a rest here. A pagoda was constructed by the king to commemorate his victory. Later, the area was eroded by currents before the pagoda collapsed around 1948. Then, the stupa memorial was built on the same area. Visitors can visit and pay homage to the memorial, or admire a riverside view; Ko Lat on the opposite side can be seen.
Muban Namtan Sot (หมู่บ้านน้ำตาลสด) is located in Ban Pak Nam, Mu 11, Wanaphuti Road, Tambon Pak Nam. This palm sap village is the sole production source of ready-to-drink palm sap in the East. See the procedures of making palm sap from a palm tree. Witness the lifestyle of farmers who make palm sap. The process of making palm sap begins with the climbing on a high palm tree to get palm sap in the morning and evening time. The collected palm sap will be boiled and bottled before sending for sale across the country. Also, see how to make sugar from the palm sap, and sample fragrant sweet palm sap. Before taking the trip back, visitors can enjoy buying the village’s OTOP products as souvenirs, such as ready-to-drink palm sap, palm sap sugar, Kui Loei pointed-tip hat, stalk of the palm’s staminate flower which is believed by the villagers to treat diabetes, etc. For more information, contact the Chachoengsao Agricultural Office at Tel. 0 3851 1635, or the Visitor Service Centre of the palm sap village in Tambon Pak Nam, Amphoe Bang Khla, on the Bang Khla – Khlong Khuean Road.
Mango Orchards (สวนมะม่วง) Chachoengsao is the province with the most number of mango trees in Thailand. The total area used for growing the fruit is about 86,000 rai. The mango trees are mostly found in Amphoe Bang Khla and Amphoe Plaeng Yao. Popular varieties being grown by mango orchardists are Raet, Khiao Sawoei, Nam Dok Mai, Chaokhun Thip, Thong Dam, etc. The mango season begins in March. The province holds the Paet Rio Mango and Products Fair every year. For those who are interested in a visit to a mango orchard, please contact the Agricultural Office of Amphoe Bang Khla, at Tel. 0 3854 1003, or Khun Manop Kaeowongnukun, Chairman of the Chachoengsao Mango Orchard Club, at Tel. 0 3858 3734, 08 9938 9097.
Amphoe Panom Sarakham
Khao Hin Son Royal Development Study Centre is located in Tambon Khao Hin Son on Highway 304, between Km 51-52, and 17 km from the town of Phanom Sarakham. The centre has a vast area of around 1,895 rai. It was established by H.M. the King on 8 August 1979. In the past, the area was degraded with infertile and sandy soil. Soil erosion was highly found. H.M. the King has developed the land, environment and eco-system in the area. There were the development of water sources, the improvement of forest conditions, development of land, and planning of planting and animal husbandry. As a result, the area has been totally changed. By the introduction of a new agricultural theory on a sufficiency economy, the people have been given an opportunity to live a self-reliant life. The area can be considered a living natural museum and a comprehensive development centre. It can also serve as a model and set an example of development for other areas, with cooperation from government agencies and the private sector. Within the centre, the area is divided for demonstrative and experimental works, such as land development, livestock, aquatic animal culture, arts and craft, an herbal forest plantation project, etc. There are experimental fields of various plants, such as rattan species found in Thailand, avocado, and mango of Thai and foreign species. The Botanical Garden of the East has been established here to supervise research on benefits from herbal plants. Inside the building, there are an exhibition and a demonstration on how to produce herbs. An herbal steaming room is open on Saturday and Sunday from 8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. (The fee is 30 Baht per person). The centre won the 2002 Tourism Award for Outstanding Performance in the category of Tourist Attractions and the 2004 Tourism Award for Excellence in the category of Agro-tourism Sites.
A two-hour guided tour for a group of visitors is available. Advance contact should be made to the Director of the Khao Hin Son Royal Development and Study Centre. Accommodation is also provided by the centre. A fan room is 100 Baht per person. An air-conditioned room is 600 Baht per night (3 persons). For more information, contact the Khao Hin Son Development Study Centre at Tel. 0 3859 9105-6 during office hours from 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m.
Khao Hin Son (เขาหินซ้อน) is located on Highway 304 (Chachoengsao – Kabin Buri) at Km 53, 53 km from the city of Chachoengsao. Khao Hin Son is a fairly high mountain consisting of small and large rocks in different shapes scattered by nature. Around Khao Hin Son is ‘Saun Rukkhachat Somdet Phra Pinklao,’ or the arboretum where the shrine of Somdet Phra Pinklao is located. The shrine is in honour and commemoration of the great deeds of Somdet Phra Pinklao, the younger brother of King Rama IV. His Majesty the King presided over the opening ceremony of the shrine in 1979. Behind the shrine is the location of Wat Khao Hin Son.
Amphoe Sanam Chai Khet
Wanakaset or Village Society Development Study Centre or Ban Santitham (วนเกษตรหรือศูนย์ศึกษาพัฒนาการสังคมหมู่บ้านหรือบ้านศานติธรรม) is located in Tambon Lat Krathing on an area of almost 10 rai. More than 700 - 800 species of plants are grown as herbs for medical treatment. Inside, there is a wooden Thai–styled house on stilts with rhombus-shaped roof tiles. The ground floor is used for a meeting or lecture. Folk utensils, ancient objects, and items of the old days have been kept and displayed on the upper floor. At the back, there is an imitation of a rice barn, accompanied with equipment for threshing and hulling paddy. Some part of the house is set aside for youth camping, comprising a recreational ground and an activity area. This is an ideal place for those who are interested in a natural self-reliant way of life. For more information, contact Mr. Wibun Khemchaloem at Tel. 0 3859 7441, 0 3859 7715. To get there: Take Highway 3245 (Phanom Sarakham – Sanam Chai Khet) and turn right to Highway 3259 (Sanam Chai Khet – Tha Takiap) for around 3 km.
Wat Phrathat Wayo (Wat Huai Nam Sap) is located at Mu 2, Tambon Lat Krathing. Take Highway 3259 (Sanam Chai Khet – Tha Takiap), about 9 km from the town of Phanom Sarakham. The temple has many interesting points. Luangpho Yai is a large Buddha image in the posture of giving blessing with the lap width of 17 m, the height of 19 m, and the base height of 5 m. Phra Mahathat Chedi is a bell-shaped pagoda decorated with yellow, dark blue and white glass. It is 50 m in height and has a base of 45 m in circumference. The Lord Buddha’s relics are enshrined here. Inside, there are many Buddha images and oil paintings depicting the Lord Buddha’s life. There is a staircase to the upper floors. On the top floor, a panoramic view and the Lat Krathing small-scale reservoir can be seen. In addition, in the temple compound lays the monument of Than Pho Khun, monument of Somdet Pho Saen Kham Fa, and Wihan (hall) of the reclining Buddha image. The temple has natural ambience suitable for recreation. It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m.
Amphoe Tha Takiap
Krabok Khu Wildlife Breeding Station (สถานีเพาะเลี้ยงสัตว์ป่ากระบกคู่) is located on Highway 3259 (Phanom Sarakham – Tha Takiap) at Km 29 – 30, around 3 km before Amphoe Tha Takiap. The station conducts research, breeding, and propagating of rare and endangered species. It serves as a research and study centre for students and those who are interested. Inside, there is monkey, gibbon, langur, bear, peacock, white-winged wood duck, etc. For a group tour, contact should be made in advance to the Chief of the Krabok Khu Wildlife Breeding Station at Tel. 08 9589 9167.
Khlong Siyat Reservoir (อ่างเก็บน้ำคลองสียัด) is located at Mu 2, Tambon Tha Takiap, around 90 km to the southeast of the city of Chachoengsao. Follow Highway 3259 to Km 36 (around 4 km beyond Amphoe Tha Takiap). The reservoir’s entrance is opposite the Khlong Takrao Sub-district Administration Organisation. It is an earthy reservoir that keeps water for agricultural purposes. The surrounding landscape is beautiful. Food shops are available by the reservoir. It is a suitable place for visitors to enjoy themselves, have food, and admire nature. Located in the nearby area is the Chaopho Khao Ka Spirit Shrine which is worshipped by the villagers. For more information, contact the Irrigation Office 9 at Tel. 0 3850 8242.
Khao Ang Rue Nai Wildlife Sanctuary is a conservation zone covering an area of 643,750 rai in the heart of a vast forest land linking five provinces: Chachoengsao, Chon Buri, Rayong, Chanthaburi, and Sa Kaeo. It is a low-lying evergreen forest which is the nearest to Bangkok. Most of the forest here is a dry evergreen forest. Other types of forest which are slightly found include a moist evergreen forest, mixed deciduous forest, deciduous dipterocarp forest, and grasslands. This is the last abundant piece of forest land of the East, and there is plenty of biodiversity. Also, it is the source of the Bang Pakong River in Chachoengsao, the Tanot Canal in Chanthaburi, and the Prasae River in Rayong. Geographically, the area is not very steep; it is about 30-802 m above sea level. Khao Sip Ha Chan, the mountain top southeast of the wildlife sanctuary is 802 m above sea level.
In the large forest-covered area, there are wild animals, such as elephant, gaur, deer, barking deer, banteng, pileated gibbon, porcupine, etc., and birds, such as Siamese fire back, great pied hornbill, blue-winged pitta, spotted dove, black-shouldered kite, etc. Also located in the area of the wildlife sanctuary office is the Wildlife Research Centre, the first of its kind in the East, and the second one of Thailand after the Nang Ram Wildlife Research Centre at Huai Kha Khaeng in Uthai Thani. In the valley’s area, it is shady and cool. From June to July, butterflies, such as Common Bluebottle, Common Peacock, Jungleking, etc., can be seen.
In addition, there is Namtok Ang Rue Nai or Namtok Bo Thong. Located in the area of the Namtok Bo Thong Ranger Station, the waterfall originates from Khlong Mak (Mak Canal) on Khao Ang Rue Nai or the Ang Rue Nai Mountain, and has flowing water all year round. It is about 40 km from the Khao Ang Rue Nai Wildlife Sanctuary Office. There is an entrance from Ban Nong Khok. A four-wheel drive car is needed. The waterfall is around 2 km from the Namtok Bo Thong Ranger Station. The nature trail here is suitable for nature lovers. Furthermore, there is another waterfall called Namtok Khao Takrup, which is under the care of the Khao Takrup Ranger Station, about 30 km from the Khao Ang Rue Nai Wildlife Sanctuary Office.
Admission fees are 200 Baht for adults and 100 Baht for children. Accommodation and a camping site are available. Visitors are required to bring their own tents. Regulations of the wildlife sanctuary must be strictly followed. To visit the wildlife sanctuary, a written request for permission must be made at least 15 days in advance to the Director of the Wildlife Conservation Office, Department of National Park, Wildlife and Flora. For more information, call Tel. 0 2561 4292 ext. 658, 659, or contact the Khao Ang Rue Nai Wildlife Sanctuary at Tel. 0 3850 2001.
To get there From Bangkok, it takes about 3 hours.
By car From the town of Chachoengsao, take the Chachoengsao – Phanom Sarakham route. From Amphoe Phanom Sarakham, follow Highway 3245 (Phanom Sarakham – Sanam Chai Khet). Change to Highway 3259, past Amphoe Tha Takiap to Ban Nong Khok, for around 50 km. Take the Ban Nong Khok – Sa Kaeo’s King Amphoe Khlong Hat route for around 20 km to reach the Khao Ang Rue Nai Wildlife Sanctuary Office and the Chachoengsao Wildlife Research Station.
By bus Take the Bangkok – Phanom Sarakham bus to connect to the Chachoengsao – Khlong Hat bus and get off in front of the Khao Ang Rue Nai Wildlife Sanctuary Office.
Luangpho Sothon Worship Fair is held three times a year in the lunar calendar:-
- Chinese New Year Festival is held by the Chinese Association together with merchants, civil servants, and the people of Chachoengsao, from the first day to the fifth day of the waxing moon in the Chinese first lunar month, totalling five days and nights.
- Mid-Fifth Month Festival starts from the full moon day to the second day of the waning moon, totalling three days and nights. It is held to mark the movement of Luangpho Sothon from the river to be enshrined at the temple.
- Mid-Twelfth Month Festival starts from the twelfth day of the waxing moon to the first day of the waning moon. Back in 1890, there was an outbreak of smallpox. The villagers at the time asked for recovery from illness with Luangpho Sothon, and held a ceremony to celebrate the Buddha image. The celebration has become a tradition. Presently, Chachoengsao Province and Wat Sothon jointly hold the Luangpho Sothon Worship Fair and the Chachoengsao Red Cross Fair every year. The celebrations and the procession of the replica of Luangpho Sothon by land and by river are the great annual event of the province.
Paet Rio Mango and Products Fair is held around March to April of every year at Phutthasothon School in Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao, when mango trees bear fruit. There are booths of mango and agricultural produce on sale, agricultural produce contests, and agricultural exhibitions.
Chachoengsao Red Cross Fair coincides with the Luangpho Sothon Worship Fair in November of every year at the Suan Somdet Phra Srinagarindra Park Chachoengsao.
Local Products and Souvenirs
Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao
- Agricultural Product including mango of different varieties, jasmine rice, eggs, fresh shrimp, and aromatic coconut, are available for sale in general in Chachoengsao.
- Desserts are Krayasat (sticky and sweet rice), Khanom Pia (Chinese pastry), and Khanom Chak (cononut meat, flour, and sugar mixed and grilled).
- Tong Chai 45 Wat Phanitaram Road. (Thai sweets, Khanom Mokaeng (grilled custard).
Tang Seng Chua (opposite the Chachoengsao Railway Station) 275/1 Maha Chakkraphat Road, Tambon Na Mueang. Tel. 0 3851 1139, 0 3851 1547, 0 3851 5395.
- Rin 15/2 Bang Pakong – Chachoengsao Road, Tambon Sothon. Tel. 0 3851 2534, 0 3851 3777, Fax: 0 3851 8755, www.rin.co.th. (Desserts, Thai sweets, rice cracker with shrimp topping, Krayasat). It is open from 7.00 a.m. – 7.00 p.m.
Woraphon 5 Suwinthawong Road, Tambon Na Mueang. Tel. 0 3881 3444. (Pickled fruits and mango, mango conserve, flavoured mango, fried durian chip). It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m.
- Ueng Mui Seng (opposite the Chachoengsao Railway Station) 275/2 Maha Chakkraphat Road, Tambon Na Mueang. Tel. 0 3851 5748. (Chinese pastry). It is open from 7.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.
Woven Brass Products 56 Mu 13, Ban Khlong Khut Mai, Tambon Tha Khai. Tel. 0 3851 3857, 08 1939 9942. (Products of brass strips woven into forms, such as vase, basket, tissue box, champagne bottle container, candleholder, souvenirs, etc.). It is open from 7.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m.
- Products of Animal Bone, Horn, and Wood are made by the villages of the animal bone, horn, and wood product group, Mu 3, Suwinthawong Road, Tambon Khlong Nakhon Nueang Khet (around 1.5 km beyond Wat Udom Mongkhon). Ornaments and utensils are invented from unused materials consisting of bone, horn, and wood, such as hairgrip, hairpin, comb, necklace, bracelet, earrings, etc. For further details, call Tel. 0 3859 2678.
Amphoe Ban Pho
- Khanom Ban Bunmi 58/4 Mu 3, Tambon Ban Krut Tel. 0 3859 5662 (Chinese pastry, Thong Muan Nam Samun Phrai (crispy herbal sweet roll), wooden products, wickerwork). It is open from 7.00 a.m. – 7.00 p.m.
Amphoe Bang Khla
- Tang Seng Chua (Factory Bang Khla Branch) 40 Bang Khla – Plaeng Yao Road, Tambon Bang Khla. Tel. 0 3854 1034, 0 3854 1134 (Chinese pastry). It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 6.30 p.m.
- Tang Seng Chua (New Branch) 23 Highway 304 (Chachoengsao – Kabin Buri), Tambon Samet Nuea, 3 km before the Bang Khla Junction. Tel. 0 3858 4419 – 20 It is open from 7.00 a.m. – 7.00 p.m.
- Mi Bakery 39/4 Mu 1, Pak Nam – Hua Sai Road, Tambon Pak Nam. Tel. 0 3854 1115, 08 1928 8216. (Bread and Chinese pastry). It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m.
- Ueng Mui Seng (Factory) 59 Rabiap Kit Anuson Road, Tambon Bang Khla. Tel. 0 3854 1165, 0 3854 1282. (Chinese pastry and bun). It is open from 6.00 a.m. – 8.00 p.m.
- Kui Loei Hat The Kui Loei Hat Weaving Group is located in Soi Sukhaphiban 1, Mu 8, Tambon Pak Nam. The Kui Loei hat is a round-shaped one with a pointed tip. King Taksin the Great wore this hat when his army stayed at the mouth of the Cholo River in Amphoe Bang Khla before marching further to Chanthaburi. For more information, contact Kamnan Bunkhum Noppha, Subdistrict Headman, at Tel. 0 3882 5113.
- Processed Banana by the Women’s Group of Processing Banana into Food. The group is located at 36 Mu 4, Tambon Bang Kha. Banana is processed into various forms of food, such as crispy buttered baked banana, baked banana chip, crispy banana in paprika or barbecue flavour, banana cracker, spicy banana dip, etc.
Amphoe Phanom Sarakham
- Coconut Shell Handicrafts by the Coconut Shell Handicrafts Group. The group is located at 80 Mu 5, Tambon Nong Yao. Tel. 0 3855 1870. (Kitchen utensils, home decorative items, ornaments, necklace, earrings, key chain, etc.).
Amphoe Tha Takiap
- Local Hand-woven Cloth by the Ban Ang Toei Cloth Weaving Group. The group is located at Mu 9, Tambon Tha Takiap. (Artificial silk and loincloth in beautiful colours are available at reasonable prices.)
One-day Tour Programme
- Morning Session: Visit Wat Sothon Wararam Worawihan. Pay homage to Luangpho Sothon and admire the beautiful interior of the new Ubosot (ordination hall). At the pier at the back of the temple, take a boat ride along the Bang Pakong River to see views, witness the riverine lifestyle, and pass along historical sites and temples. The return boat trip takes about 2 hrs. The boat arrives at Talat Ban Mai or Ban Mai Market. A guide will take visitors to Wat Chin Pracha Samoson (Leng Hok Yi), or visitors can choose to take a lunch break. There, a variety of food, noodles, and souvenir desserts are available. The boat returns to the temple’s pier.
- Afternoon Session: Pay homage to Sam Po Kong at Wat Uphai Phatikaram and Kuan Im Loi Nam at the Chachoengsao Assistance for Charity Association. Proceed to Amphoe Bang Khla. Sample fresh coconut palm sap at Muban Namtan Sot (village of fresh coconut palm sap) on Wanaphuti Road. At some houses, visitors may see the villagers weaving Kui Loei pointed-tip hats. The hat was worn by King Taksin the Great when he rested his army at the mouth of the Cholo River in Amphoe Bang Khla before moving to Chanthaburi. Pay homage to the stupa of King Taksin the Great before entering the town of Bang Khla. See Khangkhao Mae Kai or flying foxes at Wat Pho Bang Khla. On the way back, buy Khanom Pia or Chinese pastry as a souvenir from Bang Khla.
Programme II (During November – January)
- Morning Session: Take a boat ride to see dolphins in Amphoe Bang Pakong for around 2 hrs.
- Lunch Have lunch at Talat Khlong Suan Roi Pi or 100-year-old Canal-Garden Market. A great array of food is available from duck noodle soup, traditional coffee, to desserts and souvenirs.
- Afternoon Session: Head for the town of Chachoengsao. Pay homage to Luangpho Sothon and admire the beautiful interior of the new Ubosot (ordination hall) at Wat Sothon Wararam Worawihan. Pay homage to Buddha images and deities at Wat Chin Pracha Samoson (Leng Hok Yi). Visit Talat Ban Mai or Ban Mai Market for buying sweets and souvenirs, or pay homage to Sam Po Kong at Wat Uphai Phatikaram and worship Kuan Im Loi Nam at the Chachoengsao Assistance for Charity Association, before resuming the trip back.
Have Fun: One Day Tour
Bangkok – Chachoengsao Route
Drop by to pay homage to Luangpho Sothon, the sacred Buddha image of Paet Rio. See the large ordination hall which is a very beautiful Thai-styled building. At the pier, there is a long-tailed boat service to visit the market in town, and a boat service to cruise along the Bang Pakong River. On the temple ground, numerous shops offer souvenir sweets of Paet Rio and dried seafood. Visit Wat Uphai Phatikaram, the Vietnamese temple of Mahayana (the Great Vehicle) Buddhism to pay homage to Phra Phuttha Trairattana Nayok and see figures of Chinese deities. Drive on to Wat Leng Hok Yi or Wat Chin Pracha Samoson. Pay homage to three paper principal Buddha images from China. For good luck, try slightly rubbing the money bag of the God of Luck on the right of the principal Buddha images. Proceed to Talat Ban Mai or Ban Mai Market and have lunch at Talat Kao by the Bang Pakong River. Sample the dishes by three aunties who are famous cooks at the food shop in the middle of the market, or choose to enjoy the riverside atmosphere with a cup of traditional coffee. There are more shops at weekends than weekdays. Enjoy the view of the Bang Pakong River flowing around Ko Lat where the King Taksin the Great Stupa Memorial was established to commemorate his victory over the Burmese at the mouth of the Cholo River. Pay homage to the King Taksin the Great Shrine in front of the giant stupa by the river. In the afternoon, visit Wat Pho Bang Khla to see flying foxes. In the evening, witness a dark sky occupied by thousands of bats flying to feed. Before taking a trip back to Bangkok, sip traditional Chinese tea or drink modern-styled fresh coffee with traditional Chinese pastry having gourd, bean, and green tea fillings, a famous dessert souvenir of Chachoengsao.
Bangkok – Chachoengsao – Prachin Buri Route
Visit the land of history, study the nature through traditional Thai medicine.
Start from the town of Paet Rio. Pay homage to Luangpho Sothon, the revered Buddha image of the town, at Wat Sothon Wararam Worawihan, attach gold leaf to the Buddha image, and admire the new Ubosot (ordination hall) by the Bang Pakong River. At the temple’s pier, a long-tailed boat service is available to the market in town, and a tour boat for cruising along the Bang Pakong River. Ask for luck and auspiciousness at Wat Chin Pracha Samoson, the Chinese temple of Mahayana Buddhism, slightly rub the money bag of the God of Luck, and pay homage to the three paper Buddha images from China. Pay tribute to the Lord Buddha’s footprints at the Boran Sathan Mueang Si Mahosot or Mueang Si Mahosot City Ancient Monument in Prachin Buri, tour the site with a young guide who tells the history of the ancient places very well, especially about the pair of the footprints or Phra Phutthabat Yukhon believed to be the oldest ones. The most frequently asked question is for what purpose the hole in the middle of the footprints is used. Worship the footprints properly by not throwing coins into the footprints, and wash your face with water from the holy well, as a gesture to bring in refreshment and auspiciousness. The ancient monument is open daily; a young guide service without charge is available at weekends only. Travel past the township of Prachin Buri and visit the Ban Dong Bang Herbal Community (Tel. 08 9269 2643, 08 7087 5039), the group of farmers who grow quality herbs as products for the Chaophraya Abhaibhubejhr Hospital. Follow the herbal route into the Chaophraya Abhaibhubejhr Hospital, visit the Museum of Traditional Thai Medicine inside the Chaophraya Abhaibhubejhr Building, sip complementary herbal tea available on a daily basis, and go shopping for herbal products. The museum is open daily, from 8.30 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. The herbal product centre closes at 8.30 p.m.
Bangkok – Chachoengsao – Prachin Buri – Nakhon Nayok Route
This route goes to 4 provinces, starting from Talat Khlong Suan Roi Pi, the small old market by Khlong Suan or the garden canal in the linking area between the two provinces: Samut Prakan and Chachoengsao. Drop by at the coffee shop of a good-humoured Chinese owner to have a morning light meal of deep-fried dough sticks and hot soy bean milk, or enjoy a heavy meal and sample Hoi Cho (fried crab cake with minced pork) and Yam Thua Phu (spicy salad of winged beans and shrimps). Pay homage to Luangpho Sothon, the revered Buddha image of the Thai people, in the town of Paet Rio, and admire the new Ubosot (ordination hall) which is beautiful and unique in the Thai architectural style of art. View the riverine atmosphere of the Bang Pakong River. A long-tailed boat service is available to the market in town, and a tour boat for cruising along the Bang Pakong River. Proceed to Wat Chin Pracha Samoson to see Chinese arts featuring Thao Chatu Lokkaban (four guardian gods of the four directions) and deities according to Chinese beliefs, pay homage to the paper Buddha images from Shanghai, China, slightly rub the money bag of the God of Luck, and talk about the Lord Buddha’s teachings with Chinese monks at the temple. Visit Wat Kaeo Phichit on the bank of the Prachin Buri River, see the Ubosot beautifully decorated with international art and two European-styled buildings, and take a rest at the riverside pavilion of which the gable and eaves boards are adorned with fine wooden fretwork, built in 1932. Visit the Mayong Chit (sweet and slightly sour Marian plum) Orchard; see the bright yellow fruits on the trees in contrast with their dark green leaves. Every fruit is guaranteed for its sweetness. Saplings are available for sale with advice on planting techniques. Maprang Wan or Mayong Chit gives fruit at the end of February to April. For further details, contact the Bunsom Kan Kaset Orchard at Tel. 0 3738 2501, 08 1377 7945. Lastly, visit the Centre of Decorative and Flowering Plants Khlong 15, buy plants, persuade children to buy plants of their own and instil a sense of responsibility in them, and ask for advice on planting from the vendors. During the month of March to April of every year, the contests of decorative and flowering plants will be held, and visitors are welcomed.
Dolphin Boat Tour in Tambon Tha Kham, Amphoe Bang Pakong. Dolphins come from the Gulf of Thailand to a source of food here. During November to January, there are plenty of striped sea catfish which are the favourite food for dolphins. Dolphins usually live in a school of around 60 - 80. Another purpose of arriving is to breed. Three to four dolphins can be seen jumping over the sea to take a breath. The mostly found species are Irrawaddy dolphin and Indo-Pacific hump-backed dolphin, which are beautiful.
The boat goes along a mangrove forest that is the habitat of animals and birds, such as cormorant, barn owl, egret, gull, kingfisher, flying fox, crab-eating macaque, etc., and passes Ko Tha Kham, the island on around 125 rai of land, near the Mu 1 area, where dolphins swim to feed. There are two embarking points: the Mu 1 Pier at the Chaomae Thapthim Shrine, Tel. 0 3857 3434 (a two-hour boat ride costs 100 Baht a person, and around 1,000 Baht is charged for a charter boat), and the Mu 8 Pier at Ban Khlong Tamru; contact the Municipality of Tambon Tha Kham at Tel. 0 3857 3411-2 and 0 3882 8408-9 (a two-hour boat ride costs 100 Baht a person, and around 500-2,000 Baht is charged for a charter boat). The Loma Resort also offers a boat service; call Tel. 0 3857 4318, 08 1313 3870, 08 1762 9611 (a ride on the boat of 20-80 seats costs 150 Baht a person.). It is recommended that a boat tour should be taken in the morning or evening session.
To get there: Get off the Bang Na – Trat Expressway and cross the bridge over the Bang Pakong River. Make a U-turn after driving past the Bang Pakong Power Plant (between Km 50-53), see direction signs along the route, and please check the information with the pier you have contacted before travelling.
Cruise along the Bang Pakong River Admire the nature and learn about the history of the Bang Pakong River. The river has its origin in the San Kamphaeng mountain range on the Korat plateau. It flows along Prachin Buri (called as Prachin Buri River), Amphoe Bang Nam Priao (called as the Paet Rio River), Amphoe Bang Khla, and Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao, before flowing into Ao Thai (Gulf of Thailand) in Amphoe Bang Pakong, a total distance of 230 km. A boat tour on the Bang Pakong River departs from the pier of Wat Sothon Wararam Worawihan and passes along the town of Chachoengsao while visitors can admire the nature and views on the river banks, as well as houses in the Thai lifestyle. Interesting and important places that visitors can see along the boat trip are the largest teak building in Chachoengsao, palace of Krommakhun Maruphong Siriphat, traces of ancient walls, old city hall, old raft houses, historic temples such as Wat Mueang, Wat Laem Tai, Saint Paul’s Church, etc. The boat will arrive at Talat Ban Mai (Ban Mai Market) which is over 100 years old. Pay homage to the god of luck at Wat Chin Pracha Samoson. For more information, contact the Bangpakong Charter Company Limited at Tel. 08 5255 6609, 0 3851 4333, 08 9668 1726, 08 9666 4266, or visit the website: www.bpkcruise.com. Service fees are 100 Baht for adults and 60 Baht for children. The return boat trip takes around two hours. The two times for the boat service are Monday to Friday: 12.00 a.m. and 2.00 p.m. At weekends, the boat leaves every hour from 9.00 a.m. – 3.00 p.m. Alternatively, contact the pier in front of the market in town for a boat rental. Long-tail boats can take 8-10 passengers. A cruise boat has a capacity of 40 passengers. Rental fees are subject to the number of passengers and travelling distance, which are to be mutually agreed. Cruising around Ko Lat at Amphoe Bang Khla. A boat service is available for cruising around Ko Lat, an island on more than 2,800 rai of land. See ways of life by the river, beautiful houses on the island, the stupa of King Taksin the Great, and Wat Pho Bang Khla where there are a lot of flying foxes perching on trees within the temple. The boat tour takes about one hour. Visitors can disembark to visit the temple. Food can be ordered in advance to be served on the boat during the trip. A charter boat costs from 900-1,200 Baht (for 10-40 persons). For further details, contact the Maenam Food Garden (opposite the Bang Khla Police Station) at Tel. 0 3854 1909.
Health Tourism Rainbow Arokaya (beyond Wat Pak Nam) 168 Mu 1, Tambon Hua Sai. Tel. 0 3856 8291-2, Fax: 0 3856 8292, www.rainbowarokaya.com, Bangkok Offcie Tel. 0 2318 7008-9 (the Holistic Health Clinic applies alternative medicine).
Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao
- Grand Royal Plaza (แกรนด์ รอยัลพลาซ่า) 67/13 Sukprayun Road, Tambon Bang Tin Pet (Tel. 0 3882 3701 Fax: 0 3882 3701), 124 rooms: 555-1,200 baht
- Chai Inn (ใจอินทร์) 71/23 Bang Pakong Road, Tambon Sothon (Tel: 0 3851 2236, 0 3851 4810), 33 rooms: 250-450 baht
- Chachoengsao(ฉะเชิงเทรา) 72-82 Chumphon Road, Tambon Na Mueang (Tel. 0 3851 1202), 20 rooms: 200-300 baht
- Mit Samphan (มิตรสัมพันธ์) 76-92 Rim Khlong Tha Khai Road, Tambon Na Mueang (Tel. 0 3851 1079), 30 rooms: 150-350 baht
- River Inn (ริเวอร์อินน์) 122/1 Maruphong Road, Tambon Na Mueang (Tel. 0 3851 4530-1, 0 3851 1609, 0 3851 1921), 30 rooms: 290-590 baht
- Wangtara Resort (วังธารา รีสอร์ท) 5/2 Tambon Khlong Na (Tel. 0 3882 2239-40, 0 3851 2565-9), 168 rooms: 1,000-3,500 baht
- Sammanakhan Bang Pakong Park (สัมมนาคารบางปะกงปาร์ค) Ratchanakharin Rajabhat Institute, 422 Maruphong, Tambon Na Mueang (Tel. 0 3881 0541, 0 3851 2501), 38 rooms: 500 baht
Amphoe Bang Khla
- Bang Khla Resort 118 Mu 1, Bang Khla-Plaeng Yao Road Tambon Tha Thonglang (Tel. 0 3854 2138-9), 28 rooms: 500 baht
- Bangpakong Riverside Hotel 61/6 Mu 13 Bang Na-Trat Road Tambon Bangpakong Tel. 0 3853 1512 20 rooms: 200-300 baht
Amphoe Phanom Sarakham
- Phanom (พนม) 1269 Phanom Sarakham Road, Tambon Phanom (Tel. 0 3855 1145), 62 rooms: 150-230 baht
- Phanom Garden (พนมการ์เด้น) 333 Mu 4 Phanom Sarakham Road, Tambon Tha Than (Tel. 0 3855 1817, 0 3855 1515, 0 3855 2775, 0 3883 6686), 44 rooms: 500 baht
- Rung Rueang Bungalow (บังกะโลรุ่งเรือง) 999 Mu 1 Tambon Phanom (Tel. 0 3855 1200), 14 rooms: 150-250 baht
- Khao Hin Son Development Study Centre (ศูนย์ศึกษาการพัฒนาเขาหินซ้อน) 7 Mu 2, Km.51–52, Chachoengsao-Kabin Buri Road, Tambon Khoa Hin Son (Tel. 0 3859 9105–6), 10 rooms: 600 baht
Amphoe Mueang Chachoengsao=
- Kao Barikan (เก๊าบริการ) 191/14-15 Maha Chakkraphat Road, Tel. 0 3851 1777, 0 3851 2010 (Chinese food)
- Kuea Kun Phochana (เกื้อกูลโภชนา) 51/16 Kuea Kun Road. Tambon Na Mueang, Tel. 0 3851 1425 (Chinese food)
- Kung Nang (กุ้งนาง) By the Bang Pakong River
- Kai Yang Nong Pu (ไก่ย่างน้องปู) Si Sothon Tat Mat Road, Tambon Na Mueang
- Nguan Phochana (ง้วนโภชนา) Maha Chakkraphat Road, Tambon Na Mueang
- Noi Kai Yang (น้อยไก่ย่าง) Si Sothon Road, Tambon Sothon (Isan food)
- Nai Kuak (นายก๊วก) 49 Mu 12 Bang Na-Trat Road Bang Pakong, Tel. 0 3853 2292 (Thai food)
- Neao (เนี้ยว) 83/5 Maha Chakkraphat Road
- Nice Bakery (ไนซ์เบเกอรี่) 31 Prempracha Road
- Pradit Phochana (ประดิษฐ์โภชนา) 133 Maruphong Road, Tambon Na Mueang, Tel. 0 3851 1246 (Thai and Chinese food, seafood)
- Mathurot Ruen Thai (มธุรสเรือนไทย) Chachoengsao-Bang Pakong Road
- Mathurot (มธุรสเรือนแพ) Beside Bang Pakong River, in front of Chachoengsao Hospital, Maruphong Road (Thai food and seafood)
- Ban Noi Kai Yang (สวนอาหารบ้านน้อยไก่ย่าง) 7 Mu 5 Tambon Bang Phra Amphoe Mueang (Isan food)
- Sun Mu Deng(สุนหมูเด้ง) Maha Chakkraphat Road, Amphoe Mueang
- Ruai Ruen Phae (รวยเรือนแพ) Maruphong Road, Tambon Na Mueang
Amphoe Bang Khla
- Krua Bang Khla (ครัวบางคล้า) 78 Bang Khla-Plaeng Yao Road, Tambon Tha Thonglang, Tel. 0 3854 1580, 0 3882 7320 (Thai food)
- Thao Kae Sue or Sim Huat Heng (เถ้าแก่ซื้อ หรือ ซิ้มฮวดเฮง) 55/1-3 Near Ayudhya Bank, Bang Khla- Plaeng Yao Road, Tel. 0 3854 1020 (Chinese food)
- Maenam (แม่น้ำ) Thetsaban Phatthana 1 Road, Tambon Bang Khla, Tel. 0 3854 1909 (Thai food)
- Chachoengsao Municipal office Tel. 0 3855 1029
- Bus Terminal Tel. 0 3851 1029, 0 3851 1185
- Railway Station Tel. 0 3851 4482
- Provincial office Tel. 0 3851 2520
- Police Station Tel. 0 3851 1111, 03851 4752
- Chachoengsao Hospital Tel. 0 3851 1033
- Christian Hospital, Bang Khla Tel. 0 3854 1830
- Phanom Sarakham Hospital Tel. 0 3855 1444
- Provincial Public Relation Office Tel. 0 3851 4794
Neighbouring provinces (clockwise, from Gulf of Thailand coastline) are:
- Samut Prakan - to the west
- Bangkok - to the west
- Pathum Thani - to the west
- Nakhon Nayok - to the north
- Prachinburi - to the north
- Sa Kaew - to the east
- Chanthaburi - to the east
- Chonburi - to the south
This page was last edited at 08:26, on 21 October 2008 by Wikitravel user Texugo. Based on work by bornDistinction and Tom Holland and Anonymous user(s) of Wikitravel.